Students, educators honored at breakfast

All of the students and educators being honored at the Students & Educators Made of Something Stronger Breakfast are shown on Friday at the Winner’s Circle in Fonda. The school in which the students and educators were being honored include Amsterdam, Canajoharie, Fonda-Fultonville, Fort Plain and Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville. (The Leader-Herald/Briana O’Hara)

FONDA — Students and educators of Montgomery County were honored at the county’s second annual Students & Educators Made of Something Stronger Breakfast on Friday at the Winner’s Circle.

A teacher and students in the senior classes from Fonda-Fultonville, Amsterdam, Canajoharie, Fort Plain and Oppenhiem-Ephratah-St. Johnville were nominated to be represented as people who help make Montgomery County stronger.

Prior to the event, each of the school were asked to identify well-rounded students who are all successful in the classroom and are good representatives of their school district and make a difference in the community; and educators who go above and beyond for their students and their schools.

Guest speaker Montgomery County Emergency Management Director Jeff Smith first congratulated all the nominees being recognized at the event.

“As leaders in your schools, I ask that you share this message with your fellow students, staff and community members,” Smith said. “As emergency services director and working with emergency management field, we have four principles that apply to almost everything we do: preparedness, response, recover and mitigation. I encourage you moving forward to use these principles in your everyday lives.”

Nominees being honored at the Students & Educators Made of Something Stronger Breakfast include:

At Amsterdam student nominees are Maria Bottisti, Samantha Welsher, Prabha Singh, Nicolino Orengo and the nominated educator is Jessica Reed.

At Canajoharie student nominees include, Sydney Weingart, Louis Hand, AJ Sullivan, Jocelyn Hammons and the nominated educator is Tammy Jones.

For Fonda-Fultonville, students honored were Allison Codi, Adam DeSorbo, Nicholas Demitraszek, Kelsey Denton and Christopher Yarush. There were no educator nominees.

For Fort Plain, student nominees include Rhyonn Ford, Michael Hoffman, Charles Schermerhorn and Alyssa Nellis. The educators honored were Colleen Cushing and Denise Smith.

Those honored for Oppenhiem-Ephratah-St. Johnsville were Laura Littrell, Dakota Corapi, Madison Richardson and Jacob Battisti. The educator honored was Jackie Lape.

“I grew up knowing that the local schools is the backbone of the community and I think that this really shows that today,” said Montgomery County Executive Matt Ossenfort. “To all the students, I wish you all the best, you have a long road ahead of you.”

By Josh Bovee

Leave a Reply