Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Election update: DiMezza apparent winner; Obama re-elected

November 6, 2012
The Leader Herald

Here are some of the results of local interest in Tuesday's election:

Montgomery County voters approved a new charter, which will change the form of government in the county. The charter calls for a county legislature and an elected county executive.

U.S. Rep. Bill Owens' challenger, Matt Doheny, conceded the race around midnight. Owens, a Democrat, will represent the 21st District, which includes Fulton and Hamilton counties.

U.S. Rep. Paul Tonko, a Democrat, won the 20th District seat, defeating Bob Dieterich. The 20th District includes part of Montgomery County.

Angelo Santabarbara, a Democrat, defeated Thomas Quackenbush, a Republican, in the 111th New York State Assembly District race. Santabarbara received 25,018 votes, and Quackenbush received 16,335 votes. The 111th District includes Montgomery County.

State Sen. Hugh Farley, a Republican, won re-election, defeating Democrat Madelyn Thorne. Farley will represent the 49th District, which includes Fulton and Hamilton counties.

Republican state Assemblyman Marc Butler won re-election, defeating Joseph Chilelli, a Democrat. Butler will represent the 118th District, which includes Fulton and Hamilton counties.

U.S. Rep. Chris Gibson, a Republican, defeated challenger Julian Schreibman, a Democrat.

Peter Stone was elected Oppenheim town justice in a three-way race.

Dennis Horton was elected Broadalbin assessor.

In the race for Mohawk town justice, Curt Woodcock defeated Brett Collins.

Democratic U.S. Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand has retained her seat, defeating Republican contender Wendy Long.

The state Senate race between George Amedore, a Republican, and Cecilia Tkaczyk, a Democrat, was too close to call early this morning.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web