Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Royal wraps up opening weekend

May 27, 2013
The Leader Herald

CAROGA LAKE - The Royal Mountain Ski Area wrapped up its two-day, season-opening Monster Motocross weekend Sunday with 117 riders taking the challenging track.

heavy rains during the week leading up to the Memorial Day Weekend event produced wet track conditions for the 93 riders at Saturday's event, prompting officials to cut the race card from two to a single moto for all classes.

Sunday, officials reconfigured the track allowing the riders to run a full two-moto event.

Article Photos

Gloversville’s Adam Handy leads Derek Bornt during a combined 122-250 Expert and Amateur moto at the season-opening Monster Motocross event Sunday at Royal Mountain Ski Area. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Amsterdam's Steven Cuomo, Fonda's Tyler Blowers, Johnstown's Adam Handy and Casey Battisti, Broadalbin's Andrew Hughes and Mayfield's B.J. Smith led the local riders with victories.

Cuomo won the 122-250 Novice division, while Smith won the Plus 25 Expert class.

Blowers topped the field in the Jr. Mini 9-to-11-year-old division, while Handy won the 65cc (10-11) and Battisti the 85cc (12-15) divisions.

Hughes topped the podium n the quad novice competition.

Monster Motorcross

Royal Mountain

May 26

Quad Novice: 1. Andrew Hughes (Broadalbin), 2. Joshua Flint (Potsdam), 3. Anthony Baretta (Dolgeville).

Quad Am: 1. Eric Junquera (Scotia), 2. Fred Hansen (Broadalbin), 3. Colby Watras (Broadalbin).

Mini Quad 50cc Prod: 1. Treston Lawyer (Schoharie), 2. Dawson Harriger (Locke).

Plus 25 Quad: 1. Ryan Bolton (Burlington Falts), 2. Jason Roggie (Croghan). 50cc Oil Injected: 1. Parker Crotte (Rotterdam Junction).

50cc Pee-Wee Jr. (4-6): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park).50cc Pee-Wee Sr. (7-8): 1. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 2. Jared Crandall (Schoharie), 3. Lucas Grenier (Esperance), 4. Bennett Melita (Johnstown).

Jr. Mini (9-11): 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Alexis Battista (Gansevoort), 3. Nicholas Niles (Gansevoort), 4. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 5. Dylan Kenyon (Ft. Edward).

122-250 Expert: 1. Mitch Dougherty (Whitesboro), 2. Joe Vitetta (East Berne), 3. Cole Fredericks (Little Falls), 4. Adam Handy (Gloversville).

122-250 Am: 1. Derek Bornt (Poestenkill), 2. Bobby Gage (Sloanesville), 3. Jacob Church (Greenville).

122-250 Beginner: 1. Ryan Northup (Little Falls), 2. Evan Motschmann (Berne), 3. Reid Persch (Gloversville).

122-250 Novice: 1. Steven Cuomo (Amsterdam), 2. Edward Ladd III (Hudson Falls), 3. Mike Phalen (Cassville), 4. Jason Linendoll (Hudson Falls), 5. Nathan Nickok (Delanson), 6. Bruce Mazzone (Otego), 7. Matt Mathewson (Bainbridge), 8. Brandon Lester (Groton), 9. Thomas Danaher (Wynantskill), 10. Charles Larson (Milford), 11. Austin Nickerson (Locke), 12. Justin Akin (Schaghticoke), 13. Troy Weakley (Cold Brook), 14. Jacob Danyew (Caroga Lake).

Plus 45 Am: 1. Rusty Braunsdorf (Hartford), 2. James Demko (Frankfort), 3. Floyd Billington (South Glens Falls), 4. Jeffery Briscoe (East Greenbush), 5. John Messina (Oneonta).

Schoolboy (12-16): 1. Bobby Gage (Sloansville), 2. Carter Gibbons (Scotia), 3. Jacob Sterritt (Hannacriox).

Collegeboy (14-24): 1. Raymond Gordon (Schaghticoke), 2. Zach Plantz (Altmar).

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Justin Akin (Schaghticoke), 2. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 3. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 4. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 5. Nicholas Debernardis (Frankfort), 6. Nicholas Niles (Gansevoort), 7. Alexis Battista (Gansevoort), 8. Max Carbone (New Hartford).

Plus 30 Novice: 1. Christ Johnson (Guilderland Center), 2. John Messina (Oneonta), 3. Alex Short (West Burlington), 4. Todd Kinne (Frankfort), 5. Ed Coffin (Cold Brook), 6. Albert Amacher Sr. (Coldbrook).

Plus 30 Am: 1. Chris Hobart (Troy), 2. Chris Hutchison (Johnstown), 3. John St. Gelais (Schaghticoke).

Plus 30 Expert: 1. Andrew Darrah (South Glens Falls).

65cc (7-9): 1. Austin Lefebvre (Stillwater).

65cc (10-11): 1. Brandon Handy (Johnstown).

85cc (12-15): 1. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 2. Kieran Doherty (Bath, Ont.), 3. Nicholas Debernardis (Frankfort),

122-Open Beginner: 1. Ryan Northup (Little Falls), 2. Albert Amacher (Coldbrook), 3. Evan Motschmann (Berne).

122-Open Novice: 1. Mike Croft (Hatrick), 2. Matt Mathewson (Bainbridge), 3. Steve Cuomo (Amsterdam), 4. Carter Gibbons (Scotia), 5. Jason Linendoll (Hudson Falls), 6. Perry Clark (Newport), 7. Jacob Danyew (Caroga Lake).

122-Open Expert: 1. Cole Fredericks (Little Falls), 2. Mitch Dougherty (Whiteboro), 3. Cody Locci (E. Berne), 4. Sam Schilde (Sharon Springs), 5. B.J. Smith (Mayfield), 6. Adam Handy (Gloversville).

122-Open Amateur: 1. Raymond Gordon (Schaghticoke), 2. Adryan Pelosi (Johnstown), 3. Derek Bornt (Poestenkill), 4. Zach Plantz (Altmar), 5. Jacob Church (Greenville).

Plus 40 Amateur: 1. Chris Hobart (Troy), 2. James Demko (Frankfort), 3. Rusty Braunsdorf (Hartford).125 2-Stroke: 1. Dominic J. Carnibucci (Averill Park), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Cole Hulbert (Medusa), 4. Zach VanAlphen (Hillside).

Plus 25 Amateur: 1. Aaron Benjamin (New Hartford), 2. John St. Gelais (Schaghticoke), 3. Joel Christian (Mt. Upton), 4. Perry Clark (Newport), 5. Adam Tilbe (Edmeston), 6. Shannon Swanteson (Richfield Springs).

Plus 25 Expert: 1. B.J. Smith (Mayfield).



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web