Supervisor releases member list

JOHNSTOWN — Only one of the Fulton County Board of Supervisors’ six major standing committees will see changes in chairmanship in 2017.

Johnstown 2nd Ward Supervisor Mike Kinowski, new board chairman, released his membership lists for 2017 county committees at the board’s organizational meeting Tuesday at the County Office Building.

The chairman of the Public Safety Committee will be Perth Supervisor Greg Fagan, who replaces Northampton Superintendent James Groff. The vice chairman of that committee will be Groff.

Other committees that will have the same chairmen for 2017 as 2016 are: Buildings and Grounds-Highway Committee — chairman, Ephratah Supervisor Todd Bradt, vice chairman, Broadalbin Supervisor Thomas Christopher; Economic Development and Environment Committee — chairman, Johnstown 4th Ward Supervisor William Waldron, vice chairman, Gloversville 6th Ward Supervisor Warren Greene; Finance Committee — chairman, Mayfield Supervisor Rick Argotsinger, vice chairman, Bleecker Supervisor David Howard; Human Services Committee — chairman, Greene; vice chairman, Johnstown 1st Ward Supervisor Richard Handy; Personnel Committee — chairman, Johnstown 3rd Ward Supervisor Jack Callery; vice chairwoman, Oppenheim Supervisor Cynthia Breh.

County Administrator Jon Stead welcomed guests to the organizational meeting. He asked for a moment of silence for armed forces serving the nation.

“We think about all the members of our military and our foreign service,” he said.

Stead welcomed those in attendance, including new Johnstown Mayor Vern Jackson.

“When you decide to enter public service, there’s a lot of things that come with it,” he said.

Stead said he wanted to “dedicate” the first county meeting of the year to those who support those in leadership, such as the spouses of public officials.

In regular resolution action, Stead noted the board had “a small number to handle.”

The board adopted rules of order for 2017.

Supervisors also reappointed Democratic Fulton County Board of Elections Commissioner Lynn Rubscha of Johnstown, and Republican Fulton County Board of Elections Commissioner Lee Hollenbeck of Broadalbin. They were reappointed to two-year terms running through Dec. 31, 2018.

By Patricia Older

Leave a Reply