Two teams qualify for KidWind nationals

The Turbinators, with their winning check. (Photo submitted)

BROADALBIN — Two KidWind teams representing Broadalbin-Perth have qualified for nationals after finishing first in their respective divisions at the April 8 regional competition at GE Renewable Global Headquarters in Schenectady.

The Turbinators, a Broadalbin-Perth High Schoo team comprised of Emma Closer, Maria Meola, Antonio Zevola, Patrick Nellis, Avery Fenton, Emily McFarland and Meaghan Uhlinger, won the ninth through 12th grade division. The team participated in last year’s national competition in New Orleans in the fourth through eighth grade division.

Deturbination, a BPMS teams comprised of Dan Dylong, Jake Terwilliger, Cam Polikowski, Sarah Larsen, Ivy Derwin, Kayde Smith, and Bethany Costanzo, won the fourth through eighth grade division.

Both teams are now eligible to compete in the National KidWind Challenge on May 24 and 25 in Anaheim, Calif. They each won $500 toward that trip, but will make additional fundraising efforts in hopes of attending the competition.

KidWind is a national program aimed at getting students excited about the promise and opportunities of renewable energy-specifically wind power-and its relationship to global climate change, as well as fostering opportunities for students to build, test, explore, and understand wind energy technology at a manageable scale.

By Chad Fleck

Leave a Reply