Scholarship winners announced

The Elizabeth Cady Stanton Women’s Consortium announced the winners of their seventh  annual scholarship awards. The consortium honored the top female students in the participation in government courses in 12 high schools in Hamilton, Fulton and Montgomery counties. The awards were given in memory of women’s rights activist, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, to encourage young women to continue in Stanton’s path. 

Participation in government or honors government teachers were asked to submit to the ECSWC scholarship committee the name of a girl who achieved top grades in participation in government; has shown in their participation in government classes to be the most engaged in current events and government issues; went beyond the minimum requirements for the course and has shown a strong probability of pursuing this interest in the future.

 A $50 award, a copy of the book “Solitude of Self” by Elizabeth Cady Stanton and a certificate was given to each of the 12 winners. 

ECSWC Scholarship Award winners for 2017 are:

∫ Amsterdam — Tazdyn Francisco

∫ Broadalbin-Perth — Madison Bollart

∫ Canajoharie  — Sarah Cuomo 

∫ Fonda-Fultonville — Avery Cook

∫ Fort Plain — Zoe D’Arcangelis

∫ Gloversville — Katelyn Zarrelli

∫ Indian Lake  — Taylor Carroll

∫ Johnstown  — Taylor Griffith

∫ Mayfield — Marissa DeCicco

∫ Northville — Shelby Walton

∫ Oppenheim-Ephratah-St.Johnsville —  Caitlin Handy

∫ Wells — Sarah Darling 

The consortium is composed of local women’s organizations who have joined together for the purpose of supporting women’s education, history, culture, leadership and equity. 

 For more information regarding the consortium, call president Lauren Kozakiewicz at  (518) 604-4128.  

By Patricia Older

Leave a Reply