Chamber awards scholarships

Photo submitted From left are chamber President/CEO Mark Kilmer, Jack Scott, Scholarship Award recipients Molly Lambo of Mayfield, Alec Mahon of Fonda-Fultonville, Julie Capito of Broadalbin-Perth and Harrison Harper of Mayfield, Dustin Swanger and Larry Kelly. (Photo submitted)

JOHNSTOWN — The Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber of Commerce on May 17 awarded four $1,000 academic scholarships to Fulton and Montgomery County high school seniors at an event at Fulton-Montgomery Community College.

Academic scholarships were presented by Jack Scott of WENT radio, chairman of the chamber’s Scholarship Committee. 

Other members of the committee were also on hand for the event, including Dustin Swanger, president of Fulton-Montgomery Community College, and Larry Kelly, president and CEO of Nathan Littauer Hospital & Nursing Home.

Scholarship winners were: Harrison Harper and Molly Lambo of Mayfield High School, Alexander Mahon of Fonda-Fultonville High School and Julie Capito of Broadalbin-Perth High School.

Scholarship winners were chosen by the chamber’s scholarship committee, which reviewed applicants’ qualifications in scholastic achievement, community involvement, school activities and economic need, and applicants’ 500-word essay on what the scholarship would mean to them. More than 50 applications were received for the four scholarship awards from each of the school districts in Fulton and Montgomery counties, according to a news release.

Twenty-eight years ago, the former Fulton County chamber began a scholarship program, providing two $500 scholarships. The Montgomery County chamber began its scholarship program about six years ago. To date, as a merged chamber, the Fulton Montgomery Chamber has awarded more than $110,000 in scholarship funds to Fulton and Montgomery County high school seniors, the news release said.

By Patricia Older

Leave a Reply