Association presents awards to students

The American Association of University Women presented 14 area eighth-grade girls with an Excellence in Mathematics and Science Award.

The students are Amsterdam—Zoe Casement; Broadalbin-Perth—Tiffany Lin; Canajoharie—Ava Fatta; Fonda-Fultonville—Emma Crahan; Fort Plain—Rylee Herron; Gloversville —Ella DiMezza; Johnstown—Madelyn Connelie; Lake Pleasant—Chase Smith; Mayfield— Fianna Halloran; Northville—Makayla LaPort; Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville—Jade Dygert; St. Mary’s Institute, Amsterdam—Kyra Reynicke; Wells—Layla Rust; and Wheelerville—Kaelyn Byrnes.

Administrators, school counselors and teachers from the local schools assisted AAUW chairwomen Marie Wojeski and Linda Zilka in the selection of the recipients.

The criterion for the award was excellence in math and science, the students’ genuine interest in these subject areas, and their likelihood to pursue a career in these fields. Each recipient received a certificate of recognition and a Texas Instrument scientific calculator. The American Association of University Women seeks to empower all women and girls through education, research, and philanthropy.

By Josh Bovee

Leave a Reply