Elizabeth Cady Stanton group announces scholarship winners

JOHNSTOWN — The Elizabeth Cady Stanton Women’s Consortium has announced the winners of its ninth annual scholarship awards to the top female students in the Participation in Government courses in 12 high schools in Hamilton, Fulton and Montgomery counties, as follows:

Ivy Dulysz, Amsterdam; Grace Miller, Broadalbin-Perth; Emma Trahan, Canajoharie; Katilyn Hall, Fonda-Fultonville; Gulum Demir, Fort Plain; Emily Wheelis, Johnstown; Chloe VanHoesen, Gloversville; Lauren Johnson, Indian Lake; Olivia Penrose, Long Lake; Isabelle Henderson, Mayfield; Brianno Bace, Northville; Abigail Countryman, Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville; and Jonni Stuart, Wells.

The awards were given in memory of women’s rights activist, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, to encourage young women to continue in Stanton’s path.

Participation in Government or Honors Government teachers were asked to submit to the consortium scholarship committee, the name of a girl who has achieved top grades in the courses; shown in the classes to be the most engaged in current events and government issues; went beyond the minimum requirements for the course; and has shown a strong probability of pursuing this interest in the future.

A $50 award, a copy of the book “Solitude of Self “ by Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and a certificate were given to the winners.

For more information regarding the consortium, call president Helen Martin at (518) 762-7638.

By Kerry Minor

Leave a Reply