B-P staff recognized at year-end celebration

BROADALBIN — Broadalbin-Perth Superintendent of Schools Stephen Tomlinson hosted a staff recognition program Thursday, announcing employees who achieved tenure, recognizing staff members celebrating milestone years of service, honoring 14 retirees, and revealing the district’s four Outstanding Patriot of the Year award winners for the 2020-21 school year.

“I am incredibly proud of the way the B-P staff worked together to get through this past school year,” Tomlinson said in a news release. “They continually put our students’ needs ahead of their own and went to great lengths to ensure that our students kept learning and stayed on track. In what was one of the most challenging school years of my lifetime, I appreciate that we were all able to gather to celebrate, recognize and honor their perseverance and hard work from this past year.”

Each year, the district recognizes outstanding employees in four separate categories with the title of Outstanding Patriot of the Year.

This year’s recipients include:

— Teaching/Administration: Alycia Spraker (ELA teacher, junior/senior high school).

— Instructional Support: Lori Nellis (school nurse, district COVID-19 Coordinator).

— Non-Instructional: Michele Marotta (accounts payable clerk and former BPIS secretary).

— Community Member: Jill (first-grade teacher) and Robert Becker (B-P board of education member); together, the Beckers coach the school’s FIRST Tech Challenge robotics team, the Nut Jobs.

Retirees include:

— Teaching Staff: Michele Giallonardo (33 years of service), Ingrid Hodgins (32 years of service), Richard Snyder (31 years of service) and Stanley Buyce (23 years of service).

— Teaching Assistants and Aides: Dorothea DiNicola (15 years of service) and Deborah Holt (15 years of service)

— Custodial Staff: Edward Kilmartin (30 years of service), Stacey Case (23 years of service), and Marie Michele Tremblay (15 years of service).

— Food Service: Jacoba deJong (31 years of service) and Donna Ferguson (25 years of service).

— Transportation Staff: Loretta Hoyt (bus driver/custodian with 35 years of service), Patricia Gardner (20 years of service) and Esther Tomlinson (5 years of service).

Milestone years of service include:

— 30 Years: Penny Damphier, Edward Kilmartin and Diane Zukas.

— 25 Years: Donna Ferguson, Chris Goldy, Jeffery Jennings and Toni Scott.

— 20 Years: Kerri Barker, Kimberly Boswell, Mary Chizek, Carolyn Galati, Patricia Gardner, Thad Izzo and Daniel Simonds

Those granted tenure include: Kathleen Bolibaugh, Timothy Cornell, Daniel Hibbitts, Briana Rein, Shana Smith, Kayla Twardzik, Ana Ventre, Karen Verret and Christy Wallace.

By Paul Wager