Appointments made to boards

GLOVERSVILLE – The Common Council held an organizational and work session meeting Tuesday, approving the necessary appointments for city boards and officials for this year.

The council approved the reappointments of Susan Semione as the city clerk and Cindy Ostrander as the deputy city clerk. Semione will receive an annual salary of $32,000, while Ostrander will receive an annual salary of $28,000.

Other appointments by the mayor that received council confirmation include: Anthony Casale as city attorney at an annual salary of $63,529; Kevin Jones as DPW director at an annual salary of $66,000; William Walrath as Transit System director at an annual rate of $52,000; and Theresa Butkevitch as the deputy commissioner of finance at the annual rate of $38,500.

The council also approved the base salaries for administrative and non-represented staff including: Joni Dennie as the city assessor at a salary of $45,510; Bruce Van Genderen as the finance commissioner at a salary of about $71,052; Beth Whitman-Putnam at a salary of $85,000; Mayor Dayton King at a salary of about $39,839; and Police Chief Donald VanDeusen at a salary of $88,500.

Another appointment made by the mayor that did not require council approval is the reappointment of James Morrison as the city historian for another year. Morrison will be paid $1,000.

All of the necessary appointments made Tuesday will be applied retroactively to Jan. 1, officials said. All city officials’ appointments and salaries are effective Jan. 1 to Dec. 31.

At its Dec. 18 meeting, the council approved Wentworth’s motion to change the council’s rules for 2013 to eliminate the ad hoc committees.

The council has officially established the following standing committees: General Service Committee, Finance Committee, Public Safety Committee, Personnel Committee and Economic Development and Planning Committee.

The following people were recommended by the mayor to be appointed chairmen of their respective boards; however, the final decision will be made by each board itself: William Ferguson, the Planning Board; Anthony Ferraro, the Housing Authority Board; Jeff Ashe, the Recreation Commission; and Karen Smith, the Zoning Board of Appeals.

Helen Thompson, Yokie Bertos and Logan Barclay will fill the three vacancies on the Recreation Commission.

Ferguson and James Handy were reappointed to the Planning Board, and both new terms will expire Dec. 31, 2017. Patricia VanSlyke was reappointed to the Zoning Board of Appeals and her term will expire Dec. 31, 2017.

“I think, for the first time in a long time in our city, we have the right people in the right places throughout our boards and at the head of our departments,” King previously said.

Levi Pascher covers Gloversville news. He can be reached by email at [email protected].

By -