DiGiacomo, Kemper lose in primaries


The Leader-Herald

JOHNSTOWN – Voters turned against the incumbents in two of Fulton County’s three Republican town supervisor primaries Tuesday.

Challenger Thomas Christopher beat incumbent town of Broadalbin Supervisor Joseph DiGiacomo by a 280-165 count, according to unofficial figures released Tuesday night by the Fulton County Board of Elections.

But DiGiacomo also will be on the Conservative line in the Nov. 5 general election. In addition to the Republican line, Christopher’s name also will be on the independent Patriot Party line.

Christopher couldn’t be reached this morning for comment.

There were 25 Republican absentee votes received by the county board by Tuesday, not enough to tip the balance of victory in the primary toward DiGiacomo.

“Obviously, I’m disappointed,” DiGiacomo said today. “But with 400 or so voters turning out, it’s not going to stop me from going forward.”

In the race for Broadalbin Town Council, the two top Republican winners in the primary were Larry Ruzycky with 266 votes and Tina Winney with 192 votes. Coming in third and fourth were Kimberly A. Verrego with 181 votes and Drew C. Thompson with 158 votes.

In the town of Northampton, incumbent Supervisor Linda Kemper was beaten by James Groff 211-92 in the Republican primary. She also lost in the Conservative primary, 11-3.

Groff, the longtime Northville mayor, and Kemper both are running on independent lines as well.

“I’m really not surprised because I really didn’t have a chance to get to the houses because I’m working 24-7,” said Kemper.

Kemper, who alluded to “negative politics” in the race, is in her eighth year as Northampton supervisor.

In the Northampton councilmen race, voters had to choose two of three Republicans. They chose Darryl Roosa with 232 votes and Art Simmons with 184 votes. Guy Poulin came in third with 108 votes.

Elsewhere in town races:

Oppenheim: George E. Capek beat Walter H. Rumrill, 54-34, for the Republican nomination for town supervisor. Capek is the incumbent and Rumrill is running as an independent in November as well.

Richard Crum Jr. had 58 votes to defeat Leo Miller with 29 in receiving the Republican nomination for the highway superintendent position. They also will run as independents in November.

Johnstown: Clarinda Bellen with 117 votes and Walter Lane with 111 won the Republican nominations for Town Council. Coming in third was James Westover with 106 votes. John Zawadski, Tamara Healy and Lane also will appear on independent lines, and Zawadski will run as a Democrat as well.

Caroga: Winners of the Republican nomination for Town Council were Anthony Sturchio with 126 votes and John Glenn with 88 votes. Others in the race were Tara Kaczor with 76 votes and Anthony Russitano with 75 votes.

Mayfield: Steven VanAllen with 118 votes and Vince Coletti with 119 received the Republican ballot lines for town council. Coming in third with 82 votes was Jack Putman.

Perth: David D. Dopp beat Stanley A. Korona 130-45 for the Democratic nomination for the town highway superintendent position. Both also will appear on independent lines in the general election.

By -