Political newcomer wins bid to be a city supervisor

JOHNSTOWN – A political newcomer in Gloversville won for supervisor, and incumbent supervisors were returned in the towns of Caroga, Oppenheim and Stratford, among general election races Tuesday night throughout Fulton County.

According to unofficial results from the Fulton County Board of Elections, the Gloversville 5th Ward supervisor race went to newcomer and Community Party candidate Gregory Young, who received 213 votes. Moderate Party candidate and former supervisor Michael Rooney came in second with 139 votes, and Republican Matthew Myers had 99 votes.

Elsewhere in Gloversville supervisor races, 3rd Ward incumbent Republican Supervisor Michael F. Gendron won re-election, beating Democrat Stephen Mahoney by 333-128.

Among other significant supervisor races in Fulton County, incumbent Caroga Supervisor Ralph Ottuso held on to his town supervisor’s seat, defeating challenger Ronald McLain, according to unofficial results. Ottuso, a Republican, received 251 votes. McLain, a Democrat, received 94 votes.

In the town of Oppenheim, Republican George Capek defeated independent candidate Walter H. Rumrill Jr. for town supervisor. Capek received 178 votes, while Rumrill garnered 119.

Another incumbent won in the town of Stratford. Independent Supervisor Robert E. Johnson Jr. defeated Democrat Bernard Leavitt Jr. in the election for town supervisor. Johnson received 110 votes and Leavitt received 89 votes.

In other races across Fulton County in Tuesday’s general election:

Town of Caroga: Republican Linda Gilbert beat Greta Party candidate Greta Frasier 317-68 in the town clerk race. Republicans Anthony Sturchio, 255 votes, and John Glenn, 201, beat out Independence Party candidate George Hamilton, with 132, to capture two town council seats.

Town of Johnstown: Republicans Walter Lane and James Westover had 587 and 493 votes, respectively, to beat Democrat John Zawadski, with 389 votes, and We the People candidate Tamara Healy, with 226 votes, for two town council seats.

Town of Mayfield: Republican and Conservative Vince Coletti, with 435 votes, and Republican Steven VanAllen, with 426 votes, beat Conservative Jack Putnam, 271 votes, to take two town council positions.

Town of Northampton: For town council, Republicans Daryl Roosa, 567 votes, and Art Simmons, 540, defeated People’s Choice candidate Guy Poulin, with 282 votes.

Town of Oppenheim: For highway superintendent, Republican and Bulldog Party candidate Richard Crum Jr., with 185, beat Democrat David A. Stowell, with 112 votes, and Highway Party candidate Leo Miller, who had 27.

Town of Perth: For the town’s highway superintendent, Democrat and Alternative Party candidate David Dopp gained 525 votes to beat Workman’s Party’s Stanley Korona Jr., who had 206.

Town of Stratford: Republican Allen R. Perkins, 104 votes, and Garden Gal candidate Joan Ploss, 157 votes, won two town council seats. They beat Hometown candidate Wainwright Raymo, who had 69 votes. Charles Goodwin, Democrat and Hunting Camp candidate, had 145 votes to defeat Republican and Voice of Reason candidate Gary Rumrill Sr., 64 votes, for highway superintendent.

Unopposed candidates in Tuesday’s election were as follows:

Fulton County: Republican Ann Nickloy for county clerk, Republican Edgar Terry Blodgett for county treasurer.

City of Gloversville: Republicans Gerald Yost, Robert Shell and Wayne McCann for three Water Board seats; Democrat 1st Ward Supervisor Marie Born, Democratic 2nd Ward Supervisor Frank Lauria Jr., Republican 4th Ward Supervisor Charles Potter, Republican 6th Ward Supervisor Warren Greene.

City of Johnstown: Republican Thomas Walsh, City Court judge; Republican Michael Gifford, city treasurer; Honest Party candidate John Pradelski, city Water Board seat; Republican 1st Ward Supervisor Richard Handy, Republican 2nd Ward Supervisor Michael Kinowski, Republican 2nd Ward Councilwoman Kathi Iannotti, Republican 3rd Ward Supervisor Jack E. Callery, Republican 4th Ward Supervisor William Waldron, Republican 4th Ward Councilman Edwin Queeney III.

Town of Bleecker: Republican Supervisor David Howard Jr.; Republicans Toni Johnson, James Olson and Paul S. Brink unopposed for town clerk, town justice and highway superintendent, respectively; and Republican David Bartholomew and the Sportsman’s Party’s Darren Smith for two town council positions.

Town of Broadalbin: Republican Town Clerk Valerie Everson, Republican William Jennings for town justice; Larry Ruzycky and Tina Winney, both Republicans and Conservatives, for two town council positions; Joseph McDonald, on the Republican and Assessor Party lines, for town assessor.; Linda Eastman, a Republican, for tax collector.

Town of Caroga: Republican Stephen Putman for highway superintendent.

Town of Ephratah: Republican John Keppler Jr. for town justice; Republicans George Cosselman and Thomas Miles for two town council positions; Cynthia Wesselmann, a Republican, for tax collector.

Town of Northampton: Republican Elaine Mihalik for town clerk, Republican John R. Farquhar for town justice; Christopher Kip Richardson, a Republican, for highway superintendent; and Elaine Dodge, a Republican, for tax collector.

Town of Oppenheim: Republican Joanne Capek-Young for town justice; Republican councilmen candidates Stephanie L. Gray and Cynthia Breh; and Republican Arthur E. Madison Jr. for assessor.

Town of Perth: Wayne McNeil as Republican and Conservative town justice; and Democrats Walter Kowalczyk and Timothy Korona for two town council positions.

Town of Stratford: Republican Diana B. Massicotte for tax collector and town clerk.

By -