27 file for independent candidacy

JOHNSTOWN — A total of 27 persons filed for independent candidacies in Fulton County this year, according to the county Board of Elections.

Potential independents utilized a weeklong process to file, which ended with Tuesday’s business day. If their petitions hold up, they will be allowed to be on the general election ballot in November.

Fulton County will have an active local election year in 2019, with over 75 offices up. Candidates seeking major party ballot spots already filed in early April.

Normally, Primary Day is in September. But Gov. Andrew Cuomo ordered New York state’s counties to start the election process earlier this year, to be closer to the federal process.

According to the Fulton County Board of Elections, independents filed in these municipalities:

∫ City of Gloversville:

Incumbent Mayor Vincent DeSantis filed an independent “Gloversville” party designation for mayor. Former Mayor Dayton King resigned Jan. 9, and his position was taken by Democrat DeSantis, who filed to run in April. DeSantis is unopposed.

Incumbent Councilman-at-Large Steven E. Smith filed a “Gloversville” party independent petition. He faces a challenge from independent William A. Rowback Jr. of the “Stump City Team” party.

Also filing as independents were: incumbent Democratic 1st Ward Supervisor Marie Born of the “American Spirit” party; and incumbent 4th Ward Councilwoman Brenda Leitt of the “Gloversville” party. Filing “Stump City Team” party designations were: Ellen L. Anadio for Fourth Ward councilman; and incumbent Charles C. Potter for Fourth Ward supervisor.

∫ City of Johnstown:

Incumbent 1st Ward Councilman Bradley A. Hayner filed a “Johnstown First” independent petition.

In the Fourth Ward, incumbent Councilman Scott Jeffers filed as a “Bull Moose” independent. He faces opposition from “Serve Johnstown” independent Maxwell A. Spritzer.

∫ Town of Bleecker:

George J. Becker Jr. filed a “Bleecker Party” independent petition, running for councilman.

∫ Town of Caroga:

Incumbent Republican Supervisor James Selmser filed as independent “Caroga First” candidate. He faces opposition from independent Scott Horton, whose designation is “The New Caroga” party.

Other town candidates filing as independents were: Donald Travis, councilman, “Wilderness Party,” Mark Lane, highway superintendent, “No Bull Party;” Larry Vougt, highway superintendent, “For the People” party; and Jeremy M. Manning, councilman, “Restore Caroga” party.

∫ Town of Ephratah:

Eleanor M. Smith filed as an independent for councilman with the “Glory” party designation.

∫ Town of Mayfield:

Jeffrey P. Martin Jr. of the “Four Season” party filed for highway superintendent.

∫ Town of Northampton:

Independent councilmen candidates filing were Guy Poulin of the “Peoples Party” and Molly A. Zullo of the “1st Responders” party.

∫ Town of Oppenheim:

Filing as independents were: Richard L. Crum, councilman, “Bulldog” party; Carolyn E. Johnson, councilman, “C-One” party; Floyd “Joey” Peets Jr., highway superintendent, “Back to Basics” party; and Gloria J. Brys, town clerk, “Life is Good” party.

∫ Town of Perth:

Robert E. Fisher Jr. filed a “Creative Party” independent petition for a councilman two-year vacancy.

∫ Town of Stratford:

Nicholas J. Rissmeyer is an independent “Justice Party” candidate for town justice.

Michael Anich covers Johnstown and Fulton County news. He can be reached at [email protected]

By Patricia Older

Leave a Reply