Amsterdam players honored

Several Section II players were among those selected for the recently announced New York State Sportswriters Association Class AA and A all-state football teams.

A total of 23 players earned all-state honors, while 14 others garnered honorable-mention status.

Amsterdam had three players named to the all-state team.

Senior defensive back Geo Rodriguez was named to the second-team defense, while senior running back Brett Stanavich was named to the fourth-team offense. The Rams’ Mason Calhoun, a senior tackle, was named to the fourth-team defense.

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, which is coached by Gloversville graduate Matt Schell, had five players earn all-state honors, and four players earn honorable-mention status.

Nick Marchesiello (center) was named to the first-team offense for the Spartans, while Eric Dillon (defensive back) and Ryan McDonnell (kicker) were named to the first-team defense.

Nico Fragale (defensive tackle) was named to the second-team defense, while Shane Fisher (tackle) was named to the fourth-team offense.

Paul Krowel, Nate Sawyer, Daniel Porter and David Newell all earned honorable-mention status for Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, which won the state Class A title.

Also earning all-state honors in Class A were Troy’s Nick Valenti (second-team defense), Bishop Maginn’s Derrek Thomas (third-team offense) and Queensbury’s J.P. McCauley (third-team offense).

Also earning honorable-mention status in Class A were Dom Bendetti (Averill Park), Nick Schaub (Scotia-Glenville) and Alston Moses (Queensbury).

In Class AA, Shaker’s David Morrison was named to the first-team offense. Schenectady’s Kwame Jarvis, Shaker’s Ryan Griffin and CBA’s Mike Zaloga were named to the second-team offense.

Shaker’s Schuyler Huntington was named to the second-team defense, while Columbia’s Chris Smith was named to the third-team offense.

Shenendehowa’s Kyle Buss and Corey Acker were named to the third-team defense, along with Guilderland’s Andrew Antoinette.

LaSalle’s Gabriel Smith and Shenendehowa’s Chris Stewart were named to the fourth-team offense, while Shenendehowa’s Chris Miller was named to the fourth-team defense.

Earning honorable-mention status in Class AA were Frank Gallo (Guilderland), Chris Landers (Shaker), Aidan O’Brien (Niskayuna), Cameron Wynn (CBA), Tyler Depasquale (Schenectady), Alan Gaines (Shenendehowa), Felix Rodriquez (Schenectady) and Spencer Ferrigan (Bethlehem).

There were four teams selected in Class AA and Class A.

Baldwinsville’s Tyler Rouse was selected as the Class AA Player of the Year, while Lawrence’s Joe Capobianco was named the Class A Player of the Year.

Four other area players were named to the Class B, C and D all-state teams, which were announced Jan. 2.

Fonda-Fultonville junior tackle Tyler Cranker was named to the third-team offense in Class C. Two other Braves earned honorable-mention status. Senior defensive end Will Turner and senior defensive back Kevin Twardzik were named to the honorable-mention team for FFCS. Dolgeville’s James Brys earned honorable-mention status in Class D.

For the complete list, visit the NYSSWA website,

2012 NYSSWA All-State Football

Section II Selections

Class AA

First Team Offense

David Morrison (Shaker)

Second Team Offense

Kwame Jarvis (Schenectady), Ryan Griffin (Shaker), Mike Zaloga (CBA)

Second Team Defense

Schuyler Huntington (Shaker)

Third Team Offense

Chris Smith (Columbia)

Third Team Defense

Andrew Antoinette (Guilderland), Kyle Buss (Shenendehowa), Corey Acker (Shenendehowa)

Fourth Team Offense

Gabriel Smith (LaSalle), Chris Stewart (Shenendehowa)

Fourth Team Defense

Chris Miller (Shenendehowa)

Honorable Mention

Frank Gallo (Guilderland), Chris Landers (Shaker), Aidan O’Brien (Niskayuna), Cameron Wynn (CBA), Tyler Depasquale (Schenectady), Alan Gaines (Shenendehowa), Felix Rodriquez (Schenectady), Spencer Ferrigan (Bethlehem)

Class A

First Team Offense

Nick Marchesiello (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

First Team Defense

Eric Dillon (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Ryan McDonnell (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

Second Team Defense

Nico Fragale (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Nick Valenti (Troy), Geo Rodriguez (Amsterdam)

Third Team Offense

Derrek Thomas (Bishop Maginn), J.P. McCauley (Queensbury)

Fourth Team Offense

Brett Stanavich (Amsterdam), Shane Fisher (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

Fourth Team Defense

Mason Calhoun (Amsterdam)

Honorable Mention

Daniel Porter (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Dom Bendetti (Averill Park), Paul Krowel (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Nate Sawyer (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Nick Schaub (Scotia-Glenville), David Newell (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake) and Alston Moses (Queensbury)

By -