H.S. Wrestling Roundup: Johnstown places fifth at Rockwood Memorial Tournament

GALWAY – The Johnstown wrestling team had three wrestlers earn championships Saturday at the Greg Rockwood Memorial Tournament at Galway High School.

Austen Manchester, Pat Morrison and Joe Nellis all claimed titles for the Sir Bills.

Manchester posted a 6-5 decision over Lansingburgh’s Jordan Burns in the 182-pound finals, while Morrison posted a 2-1 decision over Adirondack’s Tyler DeLaura in the 195-pound championship match.

Nellis pinned Cohoes’ Brandon Hallock in the 220-pound championship final.

Adirondack won the team title with 163.5 points, while host Galway was second with 153.5 points. Corinth (133 points) was third, Salem (132) was fourth and Johnstown (109) was fifth. Canajoharie-Fort Plain was eighth with 80.5 points.

Adirondack placed five wrestlers in the finals on the way to the title. Ryan O’Rourke (99 pounds), Derek Spann (106) and Tyler Spann (152) all claimed titles for the Wildcats. O’Rourke was named the Lightweight Most Outstanding Wrestler, while Spann was named the Heavyweight Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Corinth also had three wrestlers earn titles, with Cassidy White (113), Tyler Mulcahy (126) and Kyle Mulcahy (138) winning their respective weight classes. Tyler Mulcahy had the quickest pin of the day, posting a pin in 10 seconds.

Also claiming titles were Salem’s Carter Merecki (120), Galway’s Jay Oakes (132), Lansingburgh’s Taishon Graham (145), Granville’s Brad Perry (160), Schenectady’s Jerrell White (170) and Lansingburgh’s Raekwon Ward (285).

Merecki’s 120-pound title match with Cohoes’ Connor Franzese was named the best match of the finals. Merecki posted a 3-2 win over Franzese.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain had three wrestlers place third on Saturday with Jon Payack (106), Gordon Trahan (126) and Jordan Griswold (160) posting wins in the consolation finals.

Payack recorded a technical fall over Greenville’s Rocco Cavalluzzi in the consolation finals, while Trahan pinned Greenville’s Isaiah Papol in the third-place match.

In his consolation final match, Griswold posted a 15-2 major decision over Adirondack’s Victor Gonzalez.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s T.J. Hazzard (99), Johnstown’s Troy DeBlock (132) and Austin Brand (170) all posted fourth-place finishes.

Greg Rockwood Memorial Tournament

at Galway High School

Team Scores

1. Adirondack 163.5, 2. Galway 153.5, 3. Corinth 133, 4. Salem 132, 5. Johnstown 109, 6. Schenectady 101, 7. Lansingburgh 97, 8. Canajoharie-Fort Plain 80.5, 9. Greenville 67, 10. Granville 58, 11. Cohoes 57, 12. Scotia-Glenville 54, 13. Taconic (Mass.) 39.5, 14. Coxsackie-Athens 22, 15. Schalmont 14. 16. Waterford-Halfmoon 0.

Championship Finals

99: Ryan O’Rourke (ADK) tech. fall Garon LeClair (COR), 16-0

106: Derek Spann (ADK) dec. Nico Riccio (GAL), 4-2

113: Cassidy White (COR) dec. Brandon Gaylord (ADK), 9-6

120: Carter Merecki (SAL) dec. Connor Franzese (COH), 3-2

126: Tyler Mulcahy (COR) major dec. Daniel VanDyk (SAL), 16-5

132: Jay Oakes (GAL) dec. Ryan Matuszak (COR), 12-5

138: Kyle Mulcahy (COR) dec. Steven Culbert (GAL), 12-5

145: Taishon Graham (LAN) pinned Trevor Morrison (SAL), 1:48

152: Tyler Spann (ADK) pinned Dustin Humphrey (SAL), 5:32

160: Brad Perry (GRA) major dec. Ryan Pappalau (GAL), 10-1

170: Jerrell White (SCHEN) dec. Kyle Eastman (SAL), 9-3

182: Austen Manchester (JOHN) dec. Jordan Burns (LAN), 6-5

195: Pat Morrison (JOHN) dec. Tyler DeLaura (ADK), 2-1

220: Joe Nellis (JOHN) pinned Brandon Hallock (COH), 5:04

285: Raekwon Ward (LAN) dec. Nick Scott (COH), 5-3

Consolation Finals

99: Hailey Finn (S-G) dec. T.J. Hazzard (C-FP), 12-6

106: Jon Payack (C-FP) tech. fall Rocco Cavalluzzi (GRE), 15-0

113: Luke Fronhofer (SAL) dec. Jordan Sartin (GAL), 8-5

120: Josh Reed (SCHEN) pinned Nick Cioffi (LAN), 1:16

126: Gordon Trahan (C-FP) pinned Isaiah Papol (GRE), 1:16

132: Joe Hennessey (ADK) def. Troy DeBlock (JOHN), forfeit

138: Nathaniel Palmer (GRA) pinned Dylan Sickell (TAC), 1:37

145: Noah Wicks (GAL) dec. Cody Cooke (S-G), 6-0

152: Joshua McIlhenny (GRE) pinned Chris Goss (C-A), 2:25

160: Jordan Griswold (C-FP) major dec. Victor Gonzalez (ADK), 15-2

170: John Mulligan (GAL) dec. Austin Brand (JOHN), 3-2

182: Elijah Washington (SCHEN) dec. Andrew Gilchrist (GAL), 4-0

195: Brandon Macey (LAN) pinned Jake Mills (COR), 2:44

220: Emanuel Zamora (SCHEN) pinned Joe Graham (S-G), 4:22

285: Tajaye Davis (TAC) dec. Brandon Hulin (S-G), 16-15

Peru Invitational

PERU – Five Dolgeville wrestlers claimed titles at the Peru Invitational.

Danny Fox (106 pounds), Ben Nastovski (120), Triston Engle (152), Richard Lyon (160) and Kasey Foster (189) all won their respective weight classes for the Blue Devils.

Host Peru won the team title with 253.5 points, while Dolgeville was second with 206 points.

Saratoga Invitational

SARATOGA SPRINGS – Fonda-Fultonville’s Ryan Park won the 152-pound title at the Saratoga Invitational.

Park edged Guilderland’s Andy Cummings in the 152-pound championship match.

Eric Moyer placed third at 285 pounds for the Braves, while Kyle Gray was sixth at 99 pounds.

General Brown won the team title with 229.5 points, while Queensbury was second with 166 points. Host Saratoga Springs was third with 147 points.

Fonda-Fultonville finished 14th with 62 points.

By -