H.S. Wrestling Roundup: Rams claim Big 10 title

AMSTERDAM – The Amsterdam wrestling team won 11 of 15 weight classes on its way to a 63-19 win over Schenectady on Wednesday at Lynch Literacy Academy.

The win clinched the Rams’ eighth straight Big 10 title and 20th league crown since 1984.

Brandon Lapi (132 pounds), Dal Orengo (138), Josh Gonzalez (145), Chris Garrison (182), Christian Lopez (195), Joe Kelly (285) and Christian Lopez (195) all won by pinfall for Amsterdam (17-7 overall, 4-0 Big 10), while James Marquez (160) won by technical fall.

Ian Alejandro (126) won by major decision for the Rams, while Jorge Rivera (99), Adam Tatun (106) and Dan Banewicz (152) all won by forfeit.

John Mendez (113) and Josh Reed (120) won by pinfall for Schenectady, while Jerrell White (170) won by major decision. Emanuel Zamora added a 5-3 win over Amsterdam’s Ken Garcia at 220 pounds.

Amsterdam will travel to Sullivan County Community College on Friday for the two-day Eastern States Classic.

Amsterdam 63, Schenectady 19

145: Josh Gonzalez (A) pinned Antonio Zamora, 5:23

152: Dan Banewicz (A) won by forfeit

160: James Marquez (A) pinned Ditaye Douglas, 4:31

170: Jerrell White (S) major dec. Robert Santiago, 12-3

182: Chris Garrison (A) pinned Christian Daniels, 3:53

195: Christian Lopez (A) pinned James Schenpf, 5:35

220: Emanuel Zamora (S) dec. Ken Garcia, 5-3

285: Joe Kelly (A) pinned Arthur Henriques, 1:44

99: Jorge Rivera (A) won by forfeit

106: Adam Tatun (A) won by forfeit

113: John Mendez (S) pinned Chris Velazquez, 5:32

120: Josh Reed (S) pinned Romeo Jones, 3:05

126: Ian Alejandro (A) major dec. Mike Fuller, 14-1

132: Brandon Lapi (A) pinned Nick Wagenbaugh, 5:07

138: Dal Orengo (A) pinned Musa Barros, 1:35


Duanesburg 62, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 19

DUANESBURG – Duanesburg won 11 of 15 weight classes on its way to a Western Athletic Conference win over Canajoharie-Fort Plain.

Shane Barberis (106 pounds), Kye Walter (113), Dan Powers (120), Austin Lown (132), Mike Sarbo (138), Connor Lawrence (152) and Colin Kenyon (170) all won by pinfall for the Eagles. Devin Van Vlack (99) and Jason St. John (195) won by major decision for Duanesburg, while Henry Holmes (182) and Jeff Senecal (220) won by forfeit.

Gene Ryan (285) won by pinfall for Canajoharie-Fort Plain (7-9 overall, 1-3 WAC), while Gordon Trahan (126) won by major decision. Jordan Griswold (160) added a 6-2 decision over Duanesburg’s Tyler Walters, while Hans Hudyncia won by injury default.

Duanesburg 62, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 19

126: Gordon Trahan (C-FP) major dec. Noah Schaeffer, 10-1

132: Austin Lown (D) pinned Anthony Brock, 2:35

138: Mike Sarbo (D) pinned Ken Sullivan, 3:06

145: Hans Hudyncia (C-FP) def. Andrew Mollevik, inj. default

152: Connor Lawrence (D) pinned Tim Roberson, :51

160: Jordan Griswold (C-FP) dec. Tyler Walters, 6-2

170: Colin Kenyon (D) pinned Josh Cechnicki, 1:02

182: Henry Holmes (D) by forfeit

195: Jason St. John (D) major dec. Morgan Van Avery, 14-4

220: Jeff Senecal (D) by forfeit

285: Gene Ryan (C-FP) pinned Chas Mueller, 1:18.

99: Devin Van Vlack (D) major dec. T.J. Hazzard, 10-0

106: Shane Barberis (D) pinned Jon Payack, 4:37

113: Kye Walter (D) pinned Ed Role, 3:12

120: Dan Powers (D) pinned Soren Hudyncia, 3:03

By -