Amsterdam athletes earn Big 10 honors

AMSTERDAM – Several Amsterdam athletes were among those named to the Big 10 track and field all-star team.

The Amsterdam boys were well represented with 10 athletes earning first-team honors, one earning second-team honors and six earning honorable-mention status.

The Amsterdam girls had four first-team all-stars, five second-team all-stars and one honorable mention.

Both the Amsterdam boys and girls won the Big 10 regular-season and Big 10 championship meet titles.

Izaiah Brown (400 meters), John Hardies (800), David Graveley (110 hurdles), Luis Laboy (long jump), Omahri Sturdivant (triple jump), Jose Perez (high jump), Connor Kilgallen (pole vault), Brett Stanavich (400 relay), Anthony Stewart (1,600 relay) and Nick Raponi (3,200 relay) all earned first-team honors for the Amsterdam boys team.

Brown won the overall and Division I state title in the 400 meters and was part of the 1,600 relay team, which finished third at states. Hardies finished 13th in the Division I (large-school) state meet.

Eric McWhinnie (shot put) was Amsterdam’s lone second-team selection.

Earning honorable-mention status for the Rams were Lucas Dorr (200), Matt Raponi (3,200), Isaiah Cameron-Murray (pentathlon), Chris Rost (long jump), Edgar Maldonado (high jump) and Josh Gonzalez (pole vault).

Also named to the first team were Schenectady’s Malik Murray (100), LaSalle’s Gabe Smith (200), Albany’s Philo Germano (1,600), Bishop Gibbons’ Jason Lange (3,200), CBA’s Justin Dickenson (400 hurdles), Albany’s Johnny Randolph (pentathlon), Troy’s Noah Williams (shot put) and LaSalle’s Devar Jones (discus).

In the 400 relay, Albany’s Devrin Grant, CBA’s Niall Dickenson and CBA’s Will Thorpe were named to the first team, while CBA’s Kieran Rock, Bishop Gibbons’ Steve Dickson and Bishop Gibbons’ Mike Sinkora earned first-team honors in the 1,600 relay.

In the 3,200 relay, Albany’s Gedielem Gira, Catholic Central’s Robert Chaisson, Catholic Central’s John Riley, Bishop Gibbons’ Lucas Chico and Bishop Gibbons’ Taylor Jarvis earned first-team honors.

For the Amsterdam girls, Megan Ottati (800), McKenna Palczak (100 hurdles), Kaitlyn Devine (pole vault), Abby Wollman (long jump) were named first-team all-stars.

Kelly Paris (200), Illenis Quinones (1,500), Cassandra Robataille (100 hurdles), Deb Johnson (400 hurdles) and Yari Laboy (triple jump) earned second-team honors for the Lady Rams.

Veronica Marsh was Amsterdam’s lone honorable-mention selection.

Troy had Mary Pattison (200), Dayshia Randall (3,000), Courtney Avery (high jump), Riley Martin (shot put) and Cheyenne Williams (discus) named to the first team.

Also named to the first team were Albany’s Jahari Coleman (100), Albany’s Blessing Uzoeshi (400), Bishop Gibbons’ Talya Williams (1,500), Schenectady’s Meisha Lewis (400 hurdles) and Catholic Central’s Elizabeth Selkis (triple jump).

2013 Big 10 Track & Field All-Stars


First Team

100: Malik Murray (Schenectady)

200: Gabe Smith (LaSalle)

400: Izaiah Brown (Amsterdam)

800: John Hardies (Amsterdam)

1,600: Philo Germano (Albany)

3,200: Jason Lange (Bishop Gibbons)

110 hurdles: David Graveley (Amsterdam)

400 hurdles: Justin Dickenson (CBA)

Pentathlon: Johnny Randolph (Albany)

Long Jump: Luis Laboy (Amsterdam)

Triple Jump: Omahri Sturdivant (Amsterdam)

High Jump: Jose Perez (Amsterdam)

Pole Vault: Connor Kilgallen (Amsterdam)

Shot Put: Noah Williams (Troy)

Discus: Devar Jones (LaSalle)

400 relay: Devrin Grant (Albany), Brett Stanavich (Amsterdam), Niall Dickenson (CBA), Will Thorpe (CBA)

1,600 relay: Anthony Stewart (Amsterdam), Kieran Rock (CBA), Steve Dickson (Bishop Gibbons), Mike Sinkora (Bishop Gibbons)

3,200 relay: Gedielem Gira (Albany), Nick Raponi (Amsterdam), Robert Chaisson (Catholic Central), John Riley (Catholic Central), Lucas Chico (Bishop Gibbons), Taylor Jarvis (Bishop Gibbons)

Second Team

100: Ammar Brown (Schenectady)

200: Nesta Littlejohn (Albany)

400: Sean Fitzgerald (LaSalle)

800: Jordan Pantalone (Bishop Gibbons)

1,600: Matt Lange (Bishop Gibbons)

3,200: Alex Isabelle (LaSalle)

Pentathlon: Will Johnson (Bishop Gibbons)

110 hurdles: Marcus Mickle (Albany)

400 hurdles: Dan Goss (LaSalle)

Long Jump: Jon Brown (Troy)

Triple Jump: Alex Apicella (LaSalle)

High Jump: Dan Laccetti (Albany)

Pole Vault: Jack Dewey (LaSalle)

Shot Put: Eric McWhinnie (Amsterdam)

Discus: Mike Nagle (LaSalle)

Honorable Mention

100: Dylan Thompson-Pitcher (LaSalle)

200: Lucas Dorr (Amsterdam)

400: James Avery (CBA)

800: Nick O’Brien (CBA)

1,600: Nick Przekurat (Bishop Gibbons), Devin Fitzgerald (Schenectady)

3,200: Matt Raponi (Amsterdam), Niall Coughlin (LaSalle)

110 hurdles: Dan Kehrer (CBA)

400 hurdles: Colby Youngblood (Schenectady)

Pentathlon: Isaiah Cameron-Murray (Amsterdam)

Long Jump: Chris Rost (Amsterdam), Jacob Griffin (Schenectady)

Triple Jump: Ed Sichilongo (Schenectady)

High Jump: Edgar Maldonaldo (Amsterdam), Corey Purcell (Catholic Central)

Pole Vault: Josh Gonzalez (Amsterdam), Matt McAuliffe (CBA)

Shot Put: Jarrell White (Schenectady)

Discus: Akiva Benbow (LaSalle)


First Team

100: Jahari Coleman (Albany)

200: Mary Pattison (Troy)

400: Blessing Uzoeshi (Albany)

800: Megan Ottati (Amsterdam)

1,500: Talya Williams (Bishop Gibbons)

3,000: Dayshia Randall (Troy)

100 hurdles: McKenna Palczak (Amsterdam)

400 hurdles: Meisha Lewis (Schenectady)

High jump: Courtney Avery (Troy)

Pole vault: Kaitlyn Devine (Amsterdam)

Long jump: Abby Wollman (Amsterdam)

Triple jump: Elizabeth Selkis (Catholic Central)

Shot put: Riley Martin (Troy)

Discus: Cheyenne Williams (Troy)

Second Team

100: Destini Harris (Albany)

200: Kelly Paris (Amsterdam)

400: Lexi Vendetti (Bishop Gibbons)

800: Claire Sise (Bishop Gibbons)

1,500: Illenis Quinones (Amsterdam)

3,000: Lilianna Matala (Bishop Gibbons)

100 hurdles: Cassandra Robataille (Amsterdam)

400 hurdles: Deb Johnson (Amsterdam)

High jump: Tiara Gaines (Albany)

Pole vault: Jahniah Kum (Albany)

Long jump: Emily Brown (Bishop Gibbons)

Triple jump: Yari Laboy (Amsterdam)

Shot put: Shayana Foulks (Bishop Maginn)

Discus: Shayla Lyons (Bishop Maginn)

Honorable Mention

Lisa Balkissoon (Schenectady), Meg Doyle (Catholic Central), Colleen Ferrucci (Bishop Gibbons), Krystyn Knockwood (Troy), Veronica Marsh (Amsterdam), Jalessa Montaque (Albany)

By -