Canajoharie-Fort Plain boys, girls place second

FORT PLAIN – The Canajoharie-Fort Plain boys and girls cross-country teams finished second at the Western Athletic Championships at the Fort Plain Athletic Complex on Tuesday.

Duanesburg won the boys team title with a total of 33 points, while host Canajoharie-Fort Plain was second with 69 points. Berne-Knox-Westerlo (82 points) was third, Mayfield (96) was fourth and Saratoga Central Catholic (100) was fifth. Galway (138) finished sixth and Mekeel Christian Academy (166) was seventh.

Berne-Knox-Westerlo won the girls team title with 34 points, while C-FP was second with 53 points. Saratoga Central Catholic (56 points) was third and Galway (86) was fourth. Mayfield fielded an incomplete team.

In the 3-mile boys race, Duanesburg’s Pat Murphy claimed top individual honors, finishing with a time of 15:34.45. Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jordan Ahrens (15:57.34) was second, Duanesburg’s Xavier McKinley (16:25.98) was third, Schoharie’s Will Griffin (17:00.62) was fourth and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Ruben McFarlane (17:34.91) was fifth,

Mayfield’s Josh Gallup (sixth, 17:31.66) and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jon Payack (seventh, 17:34.91) also posted top-10 finishes.

Lucas Steenburg (20:14.97) was 32nd for Canajoharie-Fort Plain, while Andrew Hanifin (20:23.29) was 33rd. Other C-FP finishers included Evan Searles (38th, 20:38.31), Tim Hazzard (40th, 20:42.16), Zack Florian (41st, 20:45.12), Zephran Vosburgh (46th, 21:22.25), Jordan Niziol (47th, 21:25.44), Travis Herringshaw (49th, 21:36.78), Michael Thomas (56th, 23:29.85) and Josh Cechnicki (57th, 23:44.97).

Connor Akowicz (18:19.75) was 15th for Mayfield, while Mitch Akowicz (19:26.42) was 25th. Other Mayfield finishers included Ian Chamberlaine (30th, 19:57.39), Austin Davis (35th, 20:26.46), Brent Gray (48th, 21:33.63), Luke Cole (52nd, 22:26.81), Jackson Dunn (55th, 23:18.13) and Cody Horowitz (60th, 25:48.63).

In the 3-mile girls race, Duanesburg’s Katie Gregory won with a time of 19:49.99. Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Allie Tedeschi (19:52.29) was second, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Annie Laura Shafer (20:30.63) was third, Saratoga Central Catholic’s Ella Gurney (20:32.62) was fourth and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Cheyenne Munson (21:01.38) completed the top five.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Gabby Bridgewater (21:37.51) was eighth, while Bri Hazzard (21:53.42) was 11th.

Other C-FP finishers included Alexis Kane (19th, 22:58.55), Abby Boyer (23rd, 23:43.61) and Carolyn Adams (30th, 25:32.67).

Emily Cromie led Mayfield, placing 21st with a time of 23:16.76. Juleh Nikollaj (23:21.09) was 22nd for the Lady Panthers, Emily Barker (24:58.83) was 26th and Kelsey Wasson (25:22.19) was 29th.

By -