Corradi picks up first modified win at Fonda

FONDA – A first-time winner parked in Victory Lane after the 35-lap modified feature Saturday night at Fonda Speedway.

Pep Corradi jumped into the lead at the drop of the green and never looked back as he took the 27-car field from green to checkers for his first career feature win at the Track of Champions.

Joining Corradi with victories on A-Verdi night, honoring veterans, were Cody Clark in the 602 sportsman, and Shane Henderson wired the field for his second career pro stock victory.

Josh Coonradt extended his win streak to five in the street stocks, while Josh Neal got his initial victory in the rookie sportsman division.

Stewart Friesen edged Danny Varin by 0.10-seconds to pick up the victory in the initial visit of the Patriot Sprint Car Series at Fonda Speedway. Cory Sparks finished third with Justin Barger and Dane Lorenc rounding out the top five.

Corradi and Justin Boehler brought the field of 27 modifieds to the green and Corradi immediately took to the point with Boehler, Jeff Rockefeller and Brandon Waters hooking up in a battle for the runner-up spot.

Josh Hohenforst joined the battle for the second spot as he settled into fourth on the 10th circuit with Jeremy Wilder moving up to challenge Bodie Bellinger and Rockefeller for a spot in the top five.

Wilder pulled even with Hohenforst with seven laps to go, but Hohenforst had enough to hold him off and move up to challenge Waters and Boehler.

Corradi remained smooth on the front and negotiated his way through the back markers to pick up his initial feature win at Fonda Speedway.

Boehler held on for second as Hohenforst powered past Waters on the final lap to get third, while Wilder closed out the top five. Bellinger, Mark Kislowski, Stewart Friesen, Rockefeller and Danny Johnson complete the second five.

Ronnie Johnson, who won the previous three weeks, came home in 14th.

Clark and Nick Scavia made up the front row of the 25-car 602 sportsman main, which Clark out pulling Scavia into the first turn to take the lead.

Aaron Burton got around Scavia for second on a lap eight restart, with JaMike Sowle moving forward, while Billy Gray, Chris Schaffer and Rocky Warner locked in a tight battle for fifth.

With 10 laps to go Clark was clear of the field as Sowle settled into third behind Burton with Scavia and Schaffer completing the top five.

The field stayed steady over the final laps as Clark registered his third career 602 sportsman victory.

Henderson survived a pair of early-race restarts and held off veteran Jim Normoyle Sr. for his first win of the season and second of his pro stock career.

Normoyle crossed the line second followed by Jay Casey, Tom Denton and Kenny Gates. Jim Normoyle Jr., Luke Horning, A.J. Walter, Jason Casey and Chuck Dumblewski rounded out the top 10.

Coonradt extended his win streak to five straight with his victory in the 15-lap street stock main event.

Dave Horning Sr. set the early pace until the field went under the red flag when Joey Wilson’s car broke and slid up the track collecting Johnny Young and rolling over on its side.

Coonradt made the most of the restart to get past Horning for the lead on lap five.

Horning retook the point on lap nine before contact with Jerry Cohn on a lap-10 restart sent Horning spinning in turn three, giving the lead back to Coonradt.

Horning made a charge from the back but could not get back to the front as Coonradt crossed under the checkers first followed by Cohn, Horning, Jason Samrov, Bubby Shaffer and Young.

Cohn was later disqualified for an engine infraction.

David Manchester showed the rookie sportsman field the fast way around the speedway for the first 10 laps of the 15 lap feature before Brian Calabrese moved to the front on lap 11.

Contact between Manchester and Calabrese sent the front-runners spinning and bring out the caution. Both drivers were sent to the back but Manchester opted to go pitside.

Josh Neal inherited the top spot and held off a big charge by Calabrese to collect his first victory of the season.

Calabrese finished second followed by Tom Princiotta, A.J. Miller and Travis Billington.

By -