Amsterdam players named Foothills all-stars

Three Amsterdam players were among those selected to the recently announced Foothills Council boys lacrosse all-star team.

Seniors Matt Fedullo, Luigi Iorio and Matt Hughes all were named all-stars for the Rams.

Fedullo, a midfielder, was named to the second team after finishing the season with 39 goals and 33 assists.

Iorio was named honorable mention after piling up 60 goals and 41 assists from his attack position, while Hughes was named an honorable-mention face-off specialist.

Amsterdam finished the season 8-10 overall and 4-6 in Foothills Council play.

Queensbury, which won the league with a perfect 10-0 record, had 10 players named to the first team.

The Spartans, who have won at least a share of the league title in eight of the last 10 seasons, went 15-3 overall.

Queensbury had seniors Mike Carpenter (attack), Jake Miller (attack), Sean Duffy (midfield), Reed Miner (defense) and Ted Nolan (goalie); juniors James Conway (midfield) and Joe Gerardi (short-stick defensive midfield); sophomores Devin O’Leary (defense), Nico Mattia (face-off specialist); and freshman Mitch Jones (long-stick midfield) all named first-team all-stars.

Carpenter had 27 goals and 36 assists for the Spartans, while Miller had 32 goals and 25 assists. Duffy finished with 39 goals and 17 assists for Queensbury, Conway had 35 goals and 10 assists and Gerardi added eight goals and six assists.

Nolan finished with a .59 save percentage and 91 saves this season, while Mattia won 78 percent of his face-offs, winning 301 on the season.

Queensbury (15-3 overall) led the Foothills Council All League voting with 10 players on the first team, two second team, and one honorable mention.

Rounding out the first-team selections were Scotia-Glenville junior Ian Flaherty (attack), Schuylerville senior Zach Pierce (midfield) and Glens Falls senior Reed Miner (defense).

Flaherty had 33 goals and 50 assists for the Tartans this season, while Pierce finished with 70 goals and 27 assists for the Black Horses.

In addition to its first-team selections, Queensbury also had junior Miles McDonald (defense) and sophomore Liam Smith (defense) named to the second team.

Glens Falls had seniors Liam Forbes (attack), Andrew Bulmer (attack) and Pete Mauro (long-stick midfield); and juniors Andrew Stamatel (midfield) and Austin Wagner (defense) named second-team all-stars.

Forbes posted 39 goals and 16 assists for the Indians this season, while Bulmer recorded 32 goals and 25 assists. Stamatel added 20 goals and 23 assists for Glens Falls.

Schuylerville had freshman midfielder Justin Carte, sophomore goalie Braden Podkladek and senior face-off specialist Tom Cappelletti named to the second team.

Carte finished with 43 goals and 27 assists for the Black Horses, while Podkladek made 193 saves and finished with a save percentage of 71 percent.

Scotia-Glenville junior J.J. Goetz (attack) rounded out the second-team selections. Goetz finished the session with 36 goals and 17 assists for the Tartans.

In addition to Amsterdam’s Hughes and Iorio, South Glens Falls senior Jake Kerr (attack), Queensbury senior Rob Pollaro (midfield), Glens Falls senior David Botch (midfield) and Scotia-Glenville sophomore Christian Olsen (goalie) were named honorable mention.

Kerr posted 22 goals and seven assists for the Bulldogs, while Pollaro registered 16 goals and 19 assists for the Spartans.

Botch finished with seven goals and 20 assists for Glens Falls.

Olsen made 172 saves this season for the Tartans, finishing with a save percentage of 57 percent.

2016 Foothills Council Boys Lacrosse All-Stars

First Team

Attack: Mike Carpenter (Queensbury), Jake Miller (Queensbury), Ian Flaherty (Scotia-Glenville)

Midfield: Zach Pierce (Schuylerville), Sean Duffy (Queensbury), James Conway (Queensbury)

Defense: Devin O’Leary (Queensbury), Reed Miner (Glens Falls), Gabe Smith (Queensbury)

Goalie: Ted Nolan (Queensbury)

Face-off Specialist: Nico Mattia (Queensbury)

Long Stick Midfield: Mitch Jones (Queensbury)

Short Stick Defensive Midfield: Joe Gerardi (Queensbury)

Second Team

Attack: Liam Forbes (Glens Falls), Andrew Bulmer (Glens Falls), J.J. Goetz (Scotia-Glenville)

Midfield: Justin Carte (Schuylerville), Andrew Stamatel (Glens Falls), Matt Fedullo (Amsterdam)

Defense: Miles McDonald (Queensbury), Liam Smith (Queensbury), Austin Wagner (Glens Falls)

Goalie: Braden Podkladek (Schuylerville)

Face-off Specialist: Tom Cappelletti (Schuylerville)

Long Stick Midfield: Pete Mauro (Glens Falls)

Honorable Mention

Attack: Luigi Iorio (Amsterdam), Jake Kerr (South Glens Falls)

Midfield: Rob Pollaro (Queensbury), David Botch (Glens Falls)

Goalie: Christian Olsen (Scotia-Glenville)

Face-off Specialist: Matt Hughes (Amsterdam)

By -