B-P girls second at Grout

SCHENECTADY – Celina Onzo finished fifth for the Broadalbin-Perth girls cross-country team in the Division C varsity girls race at the 76th annual Everett T. Grout Memorial at Central Park on Saturday.

Onzo finished the 2.75-mile course in a time of 17:18.85 to help the Lady Patriots to a second-place finish.

“Today was a step in the right direction for our program,” Broadalbin-Perth coach Jeff Richards said. “In a basic preview of our sectional championship both teams showed they have potential to be contenders.”

Springville’s Sonya Krezmien won the race with a time of 16:36.34, while Duanesburg’s Elaine Atanasova was second with a time of 16:37.82.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Mariah VanAvery (seventh, 17:49.39), Broadalbin-Perth’s Gabrielle Larsen (eighth, 17:54.46) and Johnstown’s Julia Sarullo (ninth, 18:00.52) also posted top-10 finishes.

Duanesburg won the team title with 66 points, while Broadalbin-Perth was second with 120 points. Fonda-Fultonville (155 points) was fourth, Johnstown (166) was fifth, Fort Plain-Canajoharie (225) was eighth, Galway (272) was 13th and Mayfield fielded an incomplete team.

Samantha Murphy (18:02.33) was 11th for Broadalbin-Perth, while Jordyn DeNeuville (19:45.69) was 47th. Other finishers for the Lady Patriots included Gabrielle Martin (58th, 20:13.65) and Carley Nolan (104th, 22:44.17).

Aylene Newman (18:13.96) was 13th for Johnstown, while Julia Preston (19:07.81) was 31st. Other finishers for the Lady Bills included Casey VanValkenburg (48th, 19:46.37), Lauryn Wilson (78th, 21:02.18) and Lyndsey Fiore (87th, 21:32.99).

Cheyenne Munson led Fort Plain-Canajoharie, placing 16th with a time of 18:37.82. Lexi Veitch (19:03.25) was 29th for Fort Plain-Canajoharie, while Michela Stockwell (19:10.78) was 34th. Other Fort Plain-Canajoharie finishers included Amber Douglas (73rd, 20:43.89), Emily Marsh (92nd, 21:56.17) and Carolyn Adams (10th, 23:16.04).

Fonda-Fultonville’s Katie Dunham (18:55.28) was 24th, while Hailie LaPratt (18:58.62) was 27th. Other Lady Braves finishers included Avery Cook (51st, 20:01.45), Katie Showers (60th, 20:18.20) and Alyson Shirley (88th, 21:44.66).

Natalie Zembsch led Galway, placing 37th with a time of 19:22.48. Other Galway finishers included Ashlyn O’Neil (50th, 19:58.93), Gabriella Decker (67th, 20:25.99), Siela Zembsch (70th, 20:32.27), Lindsey Gileski (74th, 20:47.87), Meaghan Whalen (75th, 20:51.48) and Madison Ritter (83rd, 21:20.74),

Emily Barker paced Mayfield, finishing 39th with a time of 19:30.90. Juleh Nikollaj (21:22.30) was 84th for the Lady Panthers, while Katelyn Akowicz was 105th with a time of 22:50.27.

Colonie’s Kathryn Tenney won the Division II girls race with a time of 15:48.06. Bayshore’s Bridget Kanaley (16:02.08) was second and Colonie’s Amanda Chambers (16:23.67) was third.

Daley Jo Christman (18:00.18) was 20th to lead Gloversville.

Rhea Winter was 46th for the Huskies with a time of 19:23.05, while Sydney Yates (21:13.00) was 59th. Other Gloversville finishers included Autumn Hardman (68th, 23:52.68), Veronica Peck (69th, 24:10.22) and Sandra Snell (70th, 25:34.51).

Colonie won the Division II team title by a 29-39 margin over Bayshore. Gloversville placed 10th with 262 points.

In the Division I girls race, North Rockland’s Katelyn Touhy won with a time of 14:37.59.

North Rockland won the team title with 25 points, while West Seneca West was second with 65 points.

Duanesburg’s Brendon VanVlack won the boys Division C race with a time of 14:30.25. Berlin’s Nick Styer (14:40.55) was second and Schoharie’s Noah Valvo (14:51.32) was third.

Johnstown’s Brandon Mraz was the top local finisher, placing eighth with a time of 15:05.29.

North Warren won the team title with 143 points, while Berlin was second with 146 points. Johnstown (173 points) was third, Fonda-Fultonville (188) was fourth, Broadalbin-Perth (249) was 10th, Fort Plain-Canajoharie (250) was 11th, Mayfield (252) was 12th and Galway (478) was 20th.

Josh Febbie (15:20.30) was 12th for Mayfield, while Tyler Newkirk (15:37.63) was 17th. Other Mayfield finishers included Connor Akowicz (54th, 16:50.09), Luka Nikollaj (86th, 17:38.31), Shawn Allen (108th, 18:33.59) and Nate VanHorn (129th, 20:16.76).

Clane Newcomer led Fonda-Fultonville, placing 21st with a time of 15:53.84. Travis Geniti (16:00.71) was 24th for the Braves, while Aidan Zenzen (16:14.62) was 37th. Other FFCS finishers included Joe Curtis (61st, 16:56.58), Thomas Etzkorn (66th, 17:06.90), Santino Montanez (11th, 18:36.26) and Shane Barker (118th, 18:55.24).

Wyatt Couperus placed 22nd to pace Broadalbin-Perth, finishing with a time of 15:54.56. James Mosher (16:04.92) was 27th for the Patriots, while Devin Becker (16:31.89) was 48th. Other B-P finishers included Jeff Shlomovich (82nd, 17:34.29), Micah Smith (94th, 17:58.31) and Evan Smith (109th, 18:34.18).

Michael Simone (16:07.05) was 28th for Johnstown, while Gabe Cole (16:10.12) was 33rd. Other Johnstown finishers included Zachary Ropeter (59th, 16:55.11), Mark Cwiakala (64th, 17:03.45), Nathan Cotton (80th, 17:31.45) and Dominic DiScioscia (87th, 17:43.85).

Fort Plain-Canajoharie was paced by Mike Hoffman, who finished 29th with a time of 16:08.29. Hunter Congdon (16:13.47) was 36th for Fort Plain-Canajoharie, while Emory Sammons (6:50.87) was 56th. Other Fort Plain-Canajoharie finishers included Andrew Yacobucci (70th, 17:09.47), Sean Staples (82nd, 17:33.32) and Jacob Thomas (97th, 18:04.39).

Ryan Ingle led Galway, placing 73rd with a time of 17:15.96.

Other Galway finishers included Holden Decker (99th, 18:11.32), Tom Oliver (103rd, 18:16.45), Osie Johnston (117th, 18:49.14), Justin Kozlowski (125th, 19:24.24), Phil Marchese (132nd, 21:07.99) and Darren Heigel (136th, 23:24.65).

In the boys Division I race, Queensbury’s Kevin Bouyea won with a time of 13:58.85 on the 3.75-mile course.

Queensbury won the team title with 27 points, while West Seneca West was second with 67 points. Gloversville finished eighth with 228 points.

Skyler Reed (15:29.77) was 22nd to lead Gloversville, while Riley Lake (17:17.71) was 48th. Zachary Rocas (53rd, 19:13.31), Devon Pickney (53rd, 19:17.71), Jacob Fleck (56th, 21:35.49), Austin Oare (57th, 21:56.49) and John Crabbe (59th, 24:58.96) also competed for the Huskies.

Glens Falls’ Chris Hughes won the boys Division II race with a time of 13:33.52, while Washingtonville’s Thomas Quinn (13:58.90) was second.

Washingtonville won the team title with 34 points, while Glens Falls was second with 82 points.

By -