C-FP wrestlers win season opener, 42-41

BERNE — The Canajoharie-Fort Plain wrestling team opened its season with a narrow 42-41 victory over Berne-Knox-Westerlo/Voorheesville on Thursday.

Hunter Congdon (170 pounds), Tangen Rush (182) and Trent Logan (195) all won by pinfall for C-FP, while Jared Bentz (99), Adam Oertel (113), Brian Christman (126) and Chris Estep (132) all won by forfeit.

Devin McGill (138), Nick Pidgeon (145), Jake Wideman (152) and Kai Fischer (160) won by pinfall for Berne-Knox-Westerlo/Voorheesville, while Drew Wideman (120) won by technical fall. Andrew Amedio (220) and John Shahen (285) added forfeit wins for Berne-Knox-Westerlo/Voorheesville.

There was a double forfeit at 106 pounds.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain (1-0) is scheduled to travel to the Mohonasen Tournament on Saturday.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain 42,  Berne-Knox-Westerlo/Voorheesville 41

170: Hunter Congdon (C-FP) pinned Tyler Goodemote, 2:40

182: Tangen Rush (C-FP) pinned John Marchand, 0:35

195: Trent Logan (C-FP) pinned Casey Weis, 1:57

220: Andrew Amedio (BKW/V) won by forfeit

285: John Shahen (BKW/V) won by forfeit

99: Jared Bentz (C-FP) won by forfeit

106: Double forfeit

113: Adam Oertel (C-FP) won by forfeit

120: Drew Wideman (BKW/V) tech. fall Lucas Sunderland, 16-0

126: Brian Christman (C-FP) won by forfeit

132: Chris Estep (C-FP) won by forfeit

138: Devin McGill (BKW/V) pinned Orion Burke, 0:54

145: Nick Pidgeon (BKW/V) pinned Andrew Towse, 1:21

152: Jake Wideman (BKW/V) pinned Isaiah Cechnicki, 1:16

160: Kai Fischer (BKW/V) pinned Caleb Root, 4:45

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply