Area players named Foothills all-stars

Amsterdam’s Nina Fedullo (11) goes up for a shot during a Dec. 19 game against Queensbury at Amsterdam High School. Fedullo recently was named a first-team Foothills Council South Division all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Bill Trojan)

Several area players were among those selected to the 2016-17 Foothills Council girls basketball all-star team.

Amsterdam senior Nina Fedullo and Gloversville sophomore Harmony Philo were named to the all-league team. Fedullo and Philo also were named South Division first-team all-stars.

Fedullo was the Foothills Council Most Valuable Player last season and was named to the Section II Class A all-tournament team in each of the last two seasons.

Amsterdam junior Giuliana Pritchard, Gloversville junior Kerri Hauser and Johnstown senior Claire Guzielek also were named first-team South Division all-stars.

Amsterdam seniors Brady Santiago and Maria Lomanto, and Gloversville sophomore Kendra Lavery were named to the South Division second team. Gloversville junior Jasmine Gonzalez was named honorable mention.

Amsterdam won the Foothills Council South Division title and advanced to the Section II Class A title game for the second straight year, losing to Averill Park for the second straight time.

Glens Falls sophomore Sophie Tougas was named the league’s Most Valuable Player and a first-team North Division all-star, while Scotia-Glenville senior Caitlin Estes, Glens Falls senior Lucy Tougas and Hudson Falls junior Naesha Kelley were named to the all-league team.

Estes also was named a first-team South Division all-stars, while Lucy Tougas and Kelley were named first-team North Division all-stars.

Also named first-team North Division all-stars were Glens Falls junior Taylor Scarincio and Schuylerville junior Emily Vallee.

Rounding out the second-team South Division all-stars were Scotia-Glenville junior Mary Kate Palleschi and Scotia-Glenville freshman Mikayla Mitchell.

The second-team North Division all-stars included South Glens Falls senior Claire Carpenter, Queensbury senior Emma Hayes, Hudson Falls senior Maddie Akins, South Glens Falls junior Mackenzie Collier and Queensbury freshman Hope Sullivan.

2016-17 Foothills Council Girls Basketball All-Stars

MVP: Sophie Tougas (Glens Falls)

All-League Team

Nina Fedullo (Amsterdam), Harmony Philo (Gloversville), Caitlin Estes (Scotia-Glenville), Lucy Tougas (Glens Falls), Naesha Kelley (Hudson Falls)

South Division

First Team

Nina Fedullo (Amsterdam), Harmony Philo (Gloversville), Caitlin Estes (Scotia-Glenville), Giuliana Pritchard (Amsterdam), Kerri Hauser (Gloversville), Claire Guzielek (Johnstown)

Second Team

Mary Kate Palleschi (Scotia-Glenville), Brady Santiago (Amsterdam), Mikayla Mitchell (Scotia-Glenville), Maria Lomanto (Amsterdam), Kendra Lavery (Gloversville)

Honorable Mention

Jasmine Gonzalez (Gloversville)

North Division

First Team

Sophie Tougas (Glens Falls), Lucy Tougas (Glens Falls), Naesha Kelley (Hudson Falls), Taylor Scarincio (Glens Falls), Emily Vallee (Schuylerville)

Second Team

Mackenzie Collier (South Glens Falls), Maddie Akins (Hudson Falls), Hope Sullivan (Queensbury), Claire Carpenter (South Glens Falls), Emma Hayes (Queensbury)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply