Dolgeville volleyball players earn CSC honors

Four Dolgeville volleyball players were among those named to the 2016-17 Center State Conference Division II volleyball all-star team.

Seniors Raquel Borst and Mercedes Rumrill were named to the first team for Dolgeville, while seniors Rachael Gross and Kacey Daley were named honorable mention.

The Blue Devils went 11-7 overall and 6-4 in CSC play this season.

Mount Markham’s Ellie Ainslie was named the Division II Most Valuable Player. The Mustangs, who went 19-1 overall and 10-0 in CSC play, had Rachel Burke, McKenzie Homer and Michala Jones named first-team all-stars. Katie Otis and Alexa Bukovsky were named honorable mention for Mount Markham.

Little Falls, which placed second in the division with an 8-2 league mark, had Abbey Mosher and Casey Baumeister named first-team all-stars. Taylor Giaquinto and Shelby Muller were named honorable mention for the Mounties.

Rounding out the first-team Division II all-stars were Sauquoit Valley’s Rachel Weibel, Cooperstown’s Ginger Miller and Frankfort-Schuyler’s Sara Manzo.

Completing the Division II honorable-mention selections were Sauquoit Valley’s Kacey Simmons and Brittney Kuhn; Cooperstown’s Amber Genova and Kaitlin Curtis; and Frankfort-Schuyler’s Risa DiSano and Anesa Begic.

In Division I, Canastota’s Kara Niles was named MVP.

Taylor Kutzuba, Loryn Wilcox and Brooke Weber were named first-team all-stars for the Red Raiders, who posted a 14-3 overall record and a 9-1 mark in CSC Division I play. Liana Meehan and Haley Morris were named honorable mention for Canastota.

Herkimer had Kim Buckley and Elise Davis named first-team all-stars, while Jasmine Beach and Codi Fay were selected honorable mention.

Rounding out the first-team honorees in Division I were Clinton’s Emma Storey and Lauren Hutchings; Holland Patent’s Victoria Lukashevich and Kathryn Buchanan; Adirondack’s Shayla Pfendler; and Sherburne-Earlville’s Cheznie Lounsbury.

Completing the Division I honorable-mention selections were Clinton’s Alexis Racioppa and Tammy Lloyd; Holland Patent’s Winnie Carabin and Marissa Brown; Adirondack’s Kasidy Rogers, Maddy Hale; and Sherburne-Earlville’s Abbey Stratton and Alexa Bates.

In Division III, Waterville’s Aubrey Hildreth was named Most Valuable Player after helping her team to a 15-3 overall record and 11-1 CSC mark.

The Indians also had Amber Spooner, Josie Jaquays and Olivia Hinman named first-team all-stars. Elizabeth Eastman and Madden Barnes were named honorable mention for Waterville.

After sharing the Division III crown with Waterville with an 11-1 league mark, Remsen had Julia Roos, Madison Cyr and Elisha Hamilton named first-team all-stars. Alexis Perkett and Alexis Tartaglia were honorable-mention selections for the Rams, who posted an 18-3 overall record.

Rounding out the Division III first-team all-stars were Westmoreland’s Alyssa Bowers and Jenna Pastorella; Morrisville-Eaton’s Emily LeBlanc; Old Forge’s Dayna DeAngelo; Owen D. Young’s Evonna Mower; and New York Mills’ Claudia Spost

Complete the honorable-mention selections in Division III were Westmoreland’s Brooke Taverne and Alexandra Golden; Morrisville-Eaton’s Emma Baker and Kylie Lehr; Old Forge’s Laura Rubyor and Mickayla Abrial; Owen D. Young’s Bailey Streid and Lalaina Hula; and New York Mills’ Lillie Moffert and Haley Simon.

2016-17 Center State Conference Volleyball All-Stars

Division I

MVP: Kara Niles (Canastota)

First Team

Canastota: Taylor Kutzuba, Loryn Wilcox, Brooke Weber

Herkimer: Kim Buckley, Elise Davis

Clinton: Emma Storey, Lauren Hutchings

Holland Patent: Victoria Lukashevich, Kathryn Buchanan

Adirondack: Shayla Pfendler

Sherburne-Earlville: Cheznie Lounsbury

Honorable Mention

Canastota: Liana Meehan, Haley Morris

Herkimer: Jasmine Beach, Codi Fay

Clinton: Alexis Racioppa, Tammy Lloyd

Holland Patent: Winnie Carabin, Marissa Brown

Adirondack: Kasidy Rogers, Maddy Hale

Sherburne-Earlville: Abbey Stratton, Alexa Bates

Division II

MVP: Ellie Ainslie (Mount Markham)

First Team

Mount Markham: Rachel Burke, McKenzie Homer, Michala Jones

Little Falls: Abbey Mosher, Casey Baumeister

Dolgeville: Raquel Borst, Mercedes Rumrill

Sauquoit Valley: Rachel Weibel

Cooperstown: Ginger Miller

Frankfort-Schuyler: Sara Manzo

Honorable Mention

Mount Markham: Katie Otis, Alexa Bukovsky

Little Falls: Taylor Giaquinto, Shelby Muller

Dolgeville: Rachael Gross, Kacey Daley

Sauquoit Valley: Kacey Simmons, Brittney Kuhn

Cooperstown: Amber Genova, Kaitlin Curtis

Frankfort-Schuyler: Anesa Begic, Risa DiSano

Division III

MVP: Aubrey Hildreth (Waterville)

First Team

Remsen: Julia Roos, Madison Cyr, Elisha Hamilton

Waterville: Amber Spooner, Josie Jaquays, Olivia Hinman

Westmoreland: Alyssa Bowers, Jenna Pastorella

Morrisville-Eaton: Emily LeBlanc

Old Forge: Dayna DeAngelo

Owen D. Young: Evonna Mower

New York Mills: Claudia Spost

Honorable Mention

Remsen: Alexis Perkett, Alexis Tartaglia

Waterville: Elizabeth Eastman, Madden Barnes

Westmoreland: Brooke Taverne, Alexandra Golden

Morrisville-Eaton: Emma Baker, Kylie Lehr

Old Forge: Laura Rubyor, Mickayla Abrial

Owen D. Young: Bailey Streid, Lalaina Hula

New York Mills: Lillie Moffert, Haley Simon

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply