Fonda-Fultonville presents winter sports awards

Photo submitted From left, Clane Newcomer (most improved), Justin Kearns (MVP) and Kyle Gray (Coach’s Award) were the award winners for the Fonda-Fultonville varsity wrestling team. Not pictured is Nate Rose (most team points, fastest pin).

FONDA — The Fonda-Fultonville Central School District hosted its annual winter sports award night March 13 in the high school auditorium.

The boys basketball, girls basketball, wrestling, boys and indoor track, boys and bowling and cheerleading teams handed out their awards during the event.

Dan Parslow was named the James C. Lippie Memorial Most Valuable Player for the boys basketball team. Nik Couture (leading rebounder, most improved) and Massimo DiCaprio (110% Award, best newcomer) each earned two boys basketball awards, while Travis Geniti (Coach’s Award), Nick Oertel (most improved) and Stiven Florez (110% Award) also were honored.

From the girls basketball team, Julianna Taylor was named the Jennifer Freeman Memorial Most Valuable Player, while Jillian Wilder (Coach’s Award, top rebounder) collected two awards. Also honored were Alyssa Duval (Coach’s Award) and Abby Lombardoni (best newcomer).

Justin Kearns was selected as the wrestling MVP, while Nate Rose earned awards for most team points with 189 and fastest pin (:07). Others earning wrestling awards were Kyle Gray (Coach’s Award) and Clane Newcomer (most improved).

Brittany Castelluccio and Avery Cook shared the Avis E. Lippie Memorial Most Valuable Performer for girls indoor track, while Castelluccio also was named best field performer. Other girls indoor track honorees included Emma Rhodes (best sprinter), Katie Dunham (best distance runner) and Madison Nichols (most productive newcomer).

From the boys indoor track team, Myles Andersen was named the FFCS Track & Field Alumni Most Valuable Performer and best sprinter. Also earning boys indoor track awards were Aiden Zenzen (best distance runner), Chris Yarush (best field performer) and Liam Viscosi (most improved runner).

Brandon Koons was named the boys bowling MVP, while Matthew Bollacker earned the Coach’s Award.

Dakota Livingston was named the girls bowling MVP and Angelique LaFreniere earned the Coach’s Award.

The cheerleading honorees were Harvey Martz (Coach’s Award), Victoria McLean (most dedication), Mariah VanAvery (most improved) and Mikhalia Houser (team spirit).

By Chad Fleck

Leave a Reply