Canajoharie boys, FFCS girls claim WAC titles

Runners leave the starting line to begin the boys steeplechase at the Western Athletic Conference Championships on Tuesday. (The Leader-Herald/Bill Trojan)

FONDA — The Canajoharie boys and Fonda-Fultonville girls claimed the team titles at the Western Athletic Conference track and field championships Tuesday at Fonda-Fultonville Central School.

In the boys meet, Canajoharie finished with 120 points to top the team standings. Galway was second with 80.75 points, Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons was third with 79 points, Fonda-Fultonville was fourth with 78 points and Mayfield -Northville was fifth with 57.416 points. Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville (51.75 points) was sixth.

FP-OESJ’s Tyler Brado won the high jump with meet-record height of 6-5. Mayfield-Northville’s Carter Ivancic and Even Lehr tied for fourth at 5-4.

Galway’s Jake Restivo won the 100 meters with a time of 11.69 seconds. Ivancic (11.86) was second, Canajoharie’s Kevin Mazzarella (11.94) was third and FP-OESJ’s Mekhi Lanier (12.19) was fifth.

Mazzarella won the 200 meters with a time of 23.95 seconds. Ivancic (24.39) was second, Galway’s Tim Webb-Horvath (25.02) was third and Lanier (25.07) was fifth.

In the 3,200 meters, Fonda-Fultonville’s Travis Geniti (11:22.42) was third and Fonda-Fultonville’s Clane Newcomer (11:26.33) was fourth.

Geniti (5:13.78) was fourth in the 1,600 and Newcomer (5:19.17) was fifth. Mayfield-Northville’s Tyler Newkirk (5:23.05) was sixth.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Aaron Rodriguez (53.09) won the 400 meters. Galway’s Chad Sherman (54.02) was third, Ivancic (55.64) was fourth, Canajoharie’s Logan Arduini (56.99) was fifth and Mayfield-Northville’s Daniel Leach (57.48) was sixth.

In the 110-meter hurdles, Canajoharie’s Andrew Towse (16.65) was second, Fonda-Fultonville’s Mike Yarush (18.45) was fourth, Canajoharie’s Andrew Ferguson (18.73) was fifth and Fonda-Fultonville’s Liam Viscosi (19.07) was sixth.

Towse won the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 1:00.71. Ferguson (1:04.14) was third, Viscosi (1:05.13) was fourth and Galway’s Ryan Ingle (1:09.20) was sixth.

Galway’s Erik Matthews (2:09.47) was third in the 800 meters, Canajoharie’s Hunter Congdon (2:10.61) was fourth, FFCS’ Aidan Zenzen (2:11.77) was fifth and Galway’s Manuel Colino Parra (2:14.17) was sixth.

Mayfield-Northville’s Josh Febbie (11:13.49) was second int he 3,000-meter steeplechase, Geniti (11:33.20) was fourth and Newkirk (11:42.67) was fifth.

Mayfield-Northville’s Dylan Bumpus won the pole vault with a height of 10-0. Matthews and Fonda-Fultonville’s Anthony Gatto tied for second at 9-6. FP-OESJ’s Justus Richardson and Mayfield-Northville’s Harrison Harper tied for fourth at 9-0.

Restivo won the long jump with a leap of 20-5. Brado (20-1 1/2) was second, Rodriguez and Mazzarella tied for fourth at 18-3.

Brado won the triple jump with a leap of 40-11, while Restivo (40-10 1/2) was second. Matthews (38-0) was fourth, Lehr (37-6 1/2) was fifth and Canajoharie’s Marcus Johnson (36-7 3/4) was sixth.

Canajoharie’s Mike Hartlieb won the shot put and discus.

In the shot put, Hartlieb won with a throw of 47-2. Fonda-Fultonville’s Chris Yarush (47-2) was second, Canajoharie’s John O’Connor (45-6) was third, Fonda-Fultonville’s Mike Yarush (41-0) was fourth and Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah’s Nate Florian (40-6) was fifth.

In the discus, Hartlieb had a winning throw of 153-9. Florian (142-2) was second, O’Connor (123-11) was third and Mike Yarush (110-5) was sixth.

Canajoharie’s Chris Shariff was second in the pentathlon with a total of 2,264 points. Canajoharie’s Joey Nare (2,238) was fourth and FP-OESJ’s Deegan Eggleston (1,258) was sixth.

Galway won the 3,200 relay, Canajoharie was second, FFCS was fourth, Mayfield-Northville was fifth and FP-OESJ was sixth.

Galway won the 400 relay, FFCS was second, Mayfield-Northville was fourth and FP-OESJ was fifth.

Canajoharie won the 1,600 relay, FP-OESJ was fourth, FFCS was fifth and Mayfield-Northville was sixth.

In the girls meet, host Fonda-Fultonville was first with 112 points, while Middleburgh (78) was second. Canajoharie (74) was third, Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville (63) was fourth and Mayfield-Northville (61) was fifth. Galway was 10th with 15 points.

Canajoharie’s Jordan Porter won the 400 meters with a time of 1:00.98. Mayfield-Northville’s Hannah Coupas (1:01.37) was second, Fonda-Fultonville’s Avery Cook (1:05.48) was third, Canajoharie’s Taya Yacobucci (1;05.51) was fourth and Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Emily Abrams (1:06.06) was fifth.

Porter was second in the 800 meters with a time of 2:35.02, FP-OESJ’s Lexi Veitch (2:35.37) was third and Fonda-Fultonville’s Mariah VanAvery (2:38.29) was fourth.

Mayfield’s Madison Relyea wo the 1,500 meters with a time of 5:05.40, while Fonda-Fultonville’s Katie Dunham (5:33.89) was fifth.

Relyea also won the 3,000 meters with a time of 11:02.83. Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Eliza Cechnicki (12:03.09) was fourth and FP-OESJ’s Veitch (12:07.40) was fifth.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Brittany Castelluccio was third in the 100 meters with a time of 13.03 seconds. FP-OESJ’s Michaela Stockwell (13.39) was fifth.

Stockwell was third in the 200 meters with a time of 27.66, while Castelluccio (27.87) was fifth. 

Castelluccio won the long jump with a leap of 17-4. Fonda-Fultonville’s Emma Rhodes (15-8 1/4) was second. Mayfield-Northville’s Mikayla Myers (15-6) was third and Canajoharie’s Meghan Dingman (14-5 1/4) was fifth.

Castelluccio also claimed a win in the triple jump with a leap of 35-3. Fonda-Fultonville’ Emilia Vardai-Davidson (34-2 1/2) was second, Galway’s Leah Vanderhorst (31-10) was third, Yacobucci (29-10) was fifth and Galway’s Rachel Wnuk (29-3) was sixth.

In the 100-meter hurdles, Rhodes (16.33 seconds) was second, FP-OESJ’s Cheyenne Munson (17.70) was third, Canajoharie’s Emily Mayer (17.73) was fourth, FFCS’ Alyson Shirley (18.42) was fifth and Canajoharie’s Sydney Weingart (18.47) was sixth.

Rhodes won the 400 hurdles for FFCS with a time of 1:11.52, while FP-OESJ’s Munson (1:12.27) was second. Mayer (1:13.08) was third, Mayfield-Northville’s Katherine Knecht (1:17.19) was fifth and Shirley (1:17.55) was sixth.

VanAvery won the 2,000-meter steeple chase with a time of 8:29.38, while Mayfield-Northville’s Emily Barker (9:03.21) was fifth.

Coupas won the high jump with a height of 4-6. Canajoharie’s Meghan Dingman (4-6) was second, FP-OESJ’s Madison Richardson (4-6) was fourth and Shirley (4-4) was sixth.

In the pentathlon, Canajoharie’s Alexz Lathers (1,836 points) was second, Mayfield-Northville’s Emily Frasier (1,713) was fourth and Fonda-Fultonville’s Guiliana Capparello (1,417) was fifth.

Canajoharie’s Abby Smith (7-6) was third in the pole vault, while Fonda-Fultonville’s Ryleigh Hesch (7-6) was fourth.

Canajoharie’s Sierra Hill (28-8) was fourth in the shot put, while Coupas (26-2) was sixth.

Mayfield-Northville’s Sam Kent (81-2) was third in the discus, Hill (77-4) was fifth and FP-OESJ’s Rhyonn Ford (71-4) was sixth.

In the 400 relay, FFCS was second, FP-OESJ was third and Galway was fifth.

Canajoharie was second in the 1,600 relay, FP-OESJ was third, Fonda-Fultonville was fourth and Galway was fifth.

Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville won the 3,200 relay. FFCS was third, Galway was fourth, Mayfield-Northville was fifth and Canajoharie was sixth.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply