Three area riders post wins at Royal

Richard Young III (178), Sheldon Wayman (534) and Christoff Aldrich (37) race through a turn during a 122-250 novice moto STR/Monster Energy Supercross competition Wednesday at Royal Mountain Ski Area in Caroga Lake. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

CAROGA LAKE — Three area riders were among the winners during STR/Monster Energy Supercross competition Wednesday at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Fonda’s Tyler Blowers, Broadalbin’s Austin Becker and Broadalbin’s Colby Watras all picked up victories.

Blowers won both motos in the 122-250 novice class to claim the victory. In the 122-open novice class, Blowers rallied from a first-turn fall in the first moto to finish second and won the second moto to claim the overall win.

Becker won both motos to claim victory in the 12-inch pit bike class, which featured a track record 17 riders.

Watras swept both motos to earn the win in the quad novice class.

In addition to Blowers, two other riders claimed wins in two separate classes.

Middletown’s Kyle Dillin won the 122-250 expert and 122-open expert classes, while Clifton Park’s Gavin Betts won the mini 60 7-to-11-year-old class and the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old class.

Two riders from Massachusetts were among the winners Wednesday.

Lanesboro’s Ty Lepicier (mini 80 12-15) and Mason Mickle (50cc pee wee senior 7-8) both earned victories.

Other winners included Middle Grove’s Kenneth DeRidder (122-125 two-stroke), Granville’s Nick Edwards (122-250 amateur), Whitesboro’s Nathan Baker (50cc pee wee junior 4-6), Ballston Spa’s Brett Burns (open mini 10-16), Hannacroix’s Zach Slater (plus-30 amateur), Saratoga Springs’ Randy Newkirk (plus-30 expert) and Ravena’s Rich Margiasso (plus-40 amateur).

In the quad classes, Delanson’s Madeliene Rose (mini quad 50cc), Ballston Spa’s Cody Milanese (mini quad 51-90cc), Queensbury’s Connor Cross (quad novice) and Queensbury’s Mason St. John-Lemery (quad schoolboy) posted victories.

Several area riders posted top-five finishes.

Johnstown’s Brandon Handy was second in the 122-250 novice class and fifth in the 122-open novice class.

Johnstown’s Casey Battisti was second in the 122-250 amateur class and fifth in the 122-open amateur class.

In the 50cc 7-and-8-year-old class, Johnstown’s Maxx Miller was second and St. Johnsville’s Chris Hill was fifth.

Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was fourth in the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old class and third in the mini 80 9-to-11-year-old class.

Tribes Hill’s Matheu Dettenrieder was fifth in the mini 80 9-to-11-year-old class, while Johnstown’s Hayden Zelich was third in the mini 80 12-to-15-year-old class.

In the quad schoolboy class, Fonda’s Skyler Olmstead was second and Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was third.

Gloversville’s Evan Darling was fourth in the 50cc pee wee junior 4-to-6-year-old class.

In the 12-inch pit bike class, Broadalbin’s Dan Gifford was third, Broadalbin’s Jordan Ryle was fourth and Gloversville’s Brian Sitterly was fifth.

Pattersonville’s Mike Baker was second in the plus-30 amateur class, while Stratford’s Tom Hogan was second in the plus-40 amateur class.

In the plus-30 expert class, Johnstown’s Michael Ward was second and Fonda’ s Clayton Blowers was fifth.

Broadalbin’s Josh Deuel was second in the quad amateur class, while Mayfield’s Andrew Ashbey was third in the quad novice class.

A total of 164 riders competed Wednesday.

The third and fourth leg of a six-race motocross series will take place Saturday and Sunday when Royal Mountain Ski Area will host a two-day STR-Monster Motocross event.

Sign-up for both days of racing is 7 to 9 a.m. Practice will start at 8:30 a.m. on both days.

Classes range from 50cc 4-6 years old to 50-and-older.

The events are two individually-sanctioned Central New York Motocross Riders Association races.

Monster Energy Supercross continues every Wednesday at 7 p.m. and the annual hillclimb event is scheduled for July 16.

All events at Royal are sponsored by Sowle Trailer Repair and Monster Energy drinks.

For more information on Royal Mountain, visit its website,

STR/Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

122-125 Two-Stroke: 1. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 2. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 3. Codi Russell (Oriskany Falls), 4. Richard Young III (Nassau), 5. Jeremy Dillin (Middletown)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Nick Edwards (Granville), 2. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 3. Carter Gibbons (Scotia), 4. Cole Fernandez (Greenville), 5. Brandon Aldrich (Sauquoit)

122-250 Expert: 1. Kyle Dillin (Middletown), 2. Joshua Lambert (Saugerties)

122-250 Novice: 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 3. Brodie O’Dell (Pownal, Vt.), 4. Jeremy Dillin (Middletown), 5. Parker Chase (Preston Hollow)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Shawn Farr (Greenfield), 2. Nick Edwards (Granville), 3. Carter Gibbons (Scotia), 4. Kieran Doherty (Cairo), 5. Casey Battisti (Johnstown)

122-Open Expert: 1. Kyle Dillin (Middletown), 2. Joshua Lambert (Saugerties), 3. Troy Weakley (Cold Brook)

122-Open Novice: 1. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 2. Parker Chase (Preston Hollow), 3. Brandon Young (Gansevoort), 4. Brodie O’Dell (Pownal, Vt.), 5. Brandon Handy (Johnstown)

50cc Pee Wee Junior (4-6): 1. Nathan Baker (Whitesboro), 2. Triton Hofeleich (East Berne), 3. Xzavier Halse (Cropseyville), 4. Evan Darling (Gloversville)

50cc Pee Wee Senior (7-8): 1. Mason Mickle (Lanesboro, Mass.), 2. Maxx Miller (Johnstown), 3. Brady Rodecker (Scotia), 4. Chloe Sprague (Glens Falls), 5. Chris Hill (St. Johnsville)

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park), 2. Mason Haberek (Niverville), 3. Blake Shaver (Westerlo), 4. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 5. Anthony Hill (Clarksville)

Mini 60 (7-11): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park), 2. Landry Weingarten (Cobleskill), 3. Anthony Hill (Clarksville), 4. Logan Forward (Bouckville), 5. Brennan Rodecker (Scotia)

Mini 80 (9-11): 1. Blake Shaver (Westerlo), 2. Mason Haberek (Niverville), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Trevor Stempel (Berne), 5. Mathieu Dettenrieder (Tribes Hill)

Mini 80 (12-15): 1. Ty Lepicier (Lanesboro, Mass.), 2. Chad Forstell (Scotia), 3. Hayden Zelich (Johnstown), 4. Brett Unser (Scotia), 5. Deegan Thrasher (Holland Patent)

Mini Quad (50cc): 1. Madeliene Rose (Delanson), 2. Blake Conroy (Saratoga Springs)

Mini Quad (51-90cc): 1. Cody Milanese (Ballston Spa), 2. Rian Hynes (Esperance), 3. Alissa Duncan (East Berne)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Brett Burns (Ballston Spa), 2. Ty Lepicier (Lanesboro, Mass.), 3. Isaac Lawyer (Saratoga Springs), 4. Paige Weingarten (Cobleskill), 5. Chad Forstell (Scotia)

Pit Bike (12-inch): 1. Austin Becker (Broadalbin), 2. Cole Fernandez (Greenville), 3. Dan Gifford (Broadalbin), 4. Jordan Ryle (Broadalbin), 5. Brian Sitterly (Gloversville)

Plus-30 Amateur: 1. Zach Slater (Hannacroix), 2. Mike Baker (Pattersonville), 3. Brian McGrath (Averill Park), 4. Bill Rose (Delanson)

Plus-30 Expert: 1. Randy Newkirk (Saratoga Springs), 2. Michael Ward (Johnstown), 3. Michael Ching (Utica), 4. Walter Miller (Granville), 5. Clayton Blowers)

Plus-40 Amateur: 1. Rich Margiasso (Ravena), 2. Tom Hogan (Stratford)

Quad Amateur: 1. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 2. Josh Deuel (Broadalbin)

Quad Novice: 1. Connor Cross (Queensbury), 2. Aaron Zawto (Rome), 3. Andrew Ashbey (Mayfield)

Quad Schoolboy: 1. Mason St. John-Lemery (Queensbury), 2. Skyler Olmstead (Fonda), 3. Jordan Miller (Mayfield), 4. Duncan Whitmore (Queensbury), 5. William Bell (Queensbury)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply