Area riders post wins at Royal

CAROGA LAKE — Six area riders were among the winners during Wednesday’s STR/Monster Energy Supercross event at Royal Mountain Ski Area.

Carter Petersen was first in the first moto and second in the second moto to win the open mini 10-to-16-year-old class. Petersen also was fourth in the 122-125 two-stroke class.

Johnstown’s Casey Battisti won both motos to pick up the victory in the 122-250 amateur class. Battisti also won both motos on his way to a victory in the 122-open amateur class.

Gloversville’s Keith Orr won both motos to claim victory in the plus-40 amateur class.

Gloversville’s Shane Graham won both motos to win the 12-inch pit bike class, while Fonda’s Skyler Olmstead swept both motos to claim victory in the quad schoolboy class.

Johnstown’s Maxx Miller swept both motos to claim victory in the 50cc pee wee senior 7-and-8-year-old class.

East Nassau’s Hunter Hankle and Clifton Park’s Gavin Betts also claimed wins in two classes Wednesday,

Hankle winning the 122-250 expert and 122-open expert classes, while Betts won the junior mini 9-to-11-year-old and mini 60 7-to-11-year-old classes.

In the quad classes, Delanson’s Madeliene Rose (mini quad 50cc), Ballston Spa’s Cody Milanese (mini quad 51-90cc), Troy’s Peter Miller (quad amateur), Queensbury’s Connor Cross (quad novice) and Tom Lombardo of Milford, Pa., won the quad expert class.

Other winners included Middle Grove’s Kenneth DeRidder (122-250 two-stroke), Greenville’s Isaac Church (122-250 novice), Nassau’s Robert Burl (122-open expert), East Berne’s Triton Hofelich (50cc pee wee junior 4-6), Voorheesville’s Peter Marrate (mini 80 12-15), Westerlo’s Blake Shaver (mini 80 9-11), East Berne’s Ian Hofelich (plus-30 amateur), Berlin’s Michael Lawlor (plus-30 expert) and Edmeston’s Scott Hughes (schoolboy).

Several area riders posted top-five finishes.

In the 122-250 novice class, Fonda’s Tyler Blowers was fourth and Johnstown’s Sean Smith was fifth.

Blowers also placed fifth in the 122-open novice class.

In the 12-inch pit bike class, Johnstown’s Brandon Groves was third and Broadalbin’s Jordan Ryle.

Gloversville’s Evan Darling was third in the 50cc pee wee junior 4-to-6-year-old class, while St. Johnsville’s Chris Hill was fourth in the 50cc pee wee senior 7-and-8-year-old class.

In the mini 60 7-to-11-year-old class, Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was second and Fonda’s Timothy Wilmot was fifth. Melita also placed third in the mini 80 9-to-11-year-old class.

Gloversville’s Ryan Whitehouse was third in the 122-125 two-stroke class, while Gloversville’s Dennis Fitzpatrick was second in the plus-40 amateur class.

Broadalbin’s Colby Watras was second in the quad amateur class, while Broadalbin’s Josh Deuel was third.

Tribes Hill’s Matheu Dettenrieder was fifth in the mini 80 9-to-11-year-old class.

In the mini 80 12-to-15-year-old class, Johnstown’s Hayden Zelich was third and Gloversville’s Devin Buyce was fifth.

In the plus-30 expert class, Johnstown’s Todd Cleveland was second and Johnstown’s Michael Ward was third.

Pattersonville’s Mike Baker was second in the plus-30 amateur class, while Caroga Lake’s Chad Stumpf was third.

Mayfield’s Andrew Ashbey was fifth in the quad novice class.

In the quad schoolboy class, Amsterdam’s Courtney Trombley was second, Broadalbin’s Anthony Covey was third and Mayfield’s Jordan Miller was fifth.

A field of 160 riders was in attendance for Wednesday’s event.

Royal Mountain will host its fifth STR/Monster Motocross event Sunday.

The race will be a Central New York Motocross Racers Association, AMA District 3 event.

Sign-ups for racing will take place from 7 to 9 a.m. Practice will start at 8:30 a.m., with racing at 11 a.m.

Classes range from 50cc 4-6 years old to 50-and-older.

Royal Mountain is a nine-time Central New York Motocross Riders Association Track of the Year.

All events at Royal are sponsored by Monster Energy drinks and STR Trailer Repair

For more information on Royal Mountain, visit its website,

STR/Monster Energy Supercross

at Royal Mountain Ski Area

122-125 Two-Stroke: 1. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 2. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 3. Ryan Whitehouse (Gloversville), 4. Carter Petersen (Fonda), 5. Codi Russell (Oriskany Falls)

122-250 Amateur: 1. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 2. Jody Hamilton (Hannacroix), 3. Dylan Larsen (Little Falls), 4. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 5. Carter Gibbons (Scotia)

122-250 Novice: 1. Isaac Church (Greenville), 2. Bryce Mussen (Burnt Hills), 3. Parker Chase (Preston Hollow), 4. Tyler Blowers (Fonda), 5. Sean Smith (Johnstown)

122-Open Amateur: 1. Casey Battisti (Johnstown), 2. Carter Gibbons (Scotia), 3. Jody Hamilton (Hannacroix), 4. Evan Rosko (Schaghticoke), 5. Travis Witbeck (Troy)

122-Open Expert: 1. Hunter Hankle (East Nassau), 2. Kevin Uebrick (Gansevoort), 3. Ryan West (Ballston Spa)

122-Open Novice: 1. Robert Burl (Nassau), 2. Parker Chase (Preston Hollow), 3. Carman Casolo (South Glens Falls), 4. Isaac Church (Greenville), 5. Tyler Blowers (Fonda)

50cc Pee Wee Junior (4-6): 1. Triton Hofelich (East Berne), 2. Colt Kimball (Chadwicks), 3. Evan Darling (Gloversville)

50cc Pee Wee Senior (7-8): 1. Maxx Miller (Johnstown), 2. Brady Rodecker (Scotia), 3. Chloe Sprague (Glens Falls), 4. Chris Hill (St. Johnsville)

Junior Mini (9-11): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park), 2. Blake Shaver (Westerlo), 3. Landry Weingarten (Cobleskill), 4. Trevor Stempel (Berne), 5. Brennan Rodecker (Scotia)

Mini 60 (7-11): 1. Gavin Betts (Clifton Park), 2. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 3. Brydon Broe (Queensbury), 4. Brennan Rodecker (Scotia), 5. Timothy Wilmot (Fonda)

Mini 80 (9-11): 1. Blake Shaver (Westerlo), 2. Landry Weingarten (Cobleskill), 3. Bennett Melita (Johnstown), 4. Trevor Stempel (Berne), 5. Mathew Dettenrieder (Tribes Hill)

Mini 80 (12-15): 1. Peter Marrate (Voorheesville), 2. Joe Edwards (Cobleskill), 3. Hayden Zelich (Johnstown), 4. Deegan Thrasher (Holland Patent), 5. Devin Buyce (Gloversville)

Mini Quad (50cc): 1. Madeliene Rose (Delanson), 2. Blake Conroy (Saratoga Springs)

Mini Quad (51-90cc): 1. Cody Milanese (Ballston Spa), 2. Tyler Lombardo (Milford, Pa.), 3. Axton Woodard (Hoosick Falls), 4. Ethan Dufresne (Valley Falls), 5. Zachary Dufresne (Valley Falls)

Open Mini (10-16): 1. Carter Petersen (Fonda), 2. Isaac Lawyer (Saratoga Springs), 3. Joe Edwards (Cobleskill), 4. Paige Weingarten (Cobleskill), 5. Deegan Thrasher (Holland Patent)

Pit Bike (12-inch): 1. Shane Graham (Gloversville), 2. Danny Radtke (Latham), 3. Brandon Groves (Johnstown), 4. Jordan Ryle (Broadalbin)

Plus-30 Amateur: 1. Ian Hofelich (East Berne), 2. Mike Baker (Pattersonville), 3. Chad Stumpf (Caroga Lake), 4. Bill Rose (Delanson), 5. Brian McGrath (Averill Park)

Plus-30 Expert: 1. Michael Lawlor (Berlin), 2. Todd Cleveland (Johnstown), 3. Michael Ward (Johnstown), 4. Michael Ching (Utica)

Plus-40 Amateur: 1. Keith Orr (Gloversville), 2. Dennis Fitzpatrick (Gloversville)

Quad Amateur: 1. Peter Miller (Troy), 2. Colby Watras (Broadalbin), 3. Josh Deuel (Broadalbin), 4. Jason McHargue (Richmondville)

Quad Expert: 1. Tom Lombardo (Milford, Pa.), 2. Theodore VanBrink (Richfield Springs), 3. Travis Recore (Malone)

Quad Novice: 1. Connor Cross (Queensbury), 2. Scott Salls (Victory Mills), 3. Aydan Warmingham (Poland), 4. Matthew Mitchell (Melrose), 5. Andrew Ashbey (Mayfield)

Quad Schoolboy: 1. Skyler Olmstead (Fonda), 2. Courtney Trombley (Amsterdam), 3. Anthony Covey (Broadalbin), 4. Duncan Whitmore (Queensbury), 5. Jordan Miller (Mayfield)

Schoolboy: 1. Scott Hughes (Edmeston), 2. Kenneth DeRidder (Middle Grove), 3. Cayden Pope (Mohawk), 4. Tyler Pechtel (Highland), 5. Ashton Kreiger (West Sand Lake)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply