Fort Plain earns NYSPHSAA School of Excellence award

LATHAM — The New York State Public High School Athletic Association, Inc. recently announcers its 2016-17 Scholar-Athlete School of Distinction and School of Excellence winners. Schools can earn School of Distinction status by having 100% of its varsity teams qualify for and receive the Scholar-Athlete team award during their respective sports seasons. Scholar-Athlete teams require 75 percent of the team’s rosters grade point average be 90 or above.

From Section II, Fort Ann and Saratoga Central Catholic were honored. Fort Ann had all seven of its teams honors to earn School of Distinction honors, while Saratoga Catholic had all 14 of its teams honored during the year.

Section VIII had five school earn School of Distinction awards, as Farmingdale, Jericho, Locust Valley, Manhasset and Paul D. Schreiber were honored.

Also earning School of Distinction awards were Ursuline School (Section I), Christian Brothers Academy (Section III), Jamesville-DeWitt (Section III), Living Word Academy (Section IV), Canisteo-Greenwood (Section V), McQuaid Jesuit School (Section V), Bethpage (Section VIII), Babylon (Section XI), Elwood/John Glenn (Section XI), Rocky Point (Section XI) and Shelter Island (Section XI)

New this year, schools were able to earn a School of Excellence award by having 75 percent of its varsity teams qualify for and receive the Scholar-Athlete team award.

Fort Plain was one of six Section II schools honored.

The Hilltoppers had 13 team earn Scholar-Athlete Team Awards this year.

Other Section II schools earning School of Excellence Awards were Averill Park, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, Maple Hill, Mechanicville and Waterford-Halfmoon.

The purpose of the “School of Distinction” and “School of Excellence” award is to unite varsity coaches in challenging their teams to achieve a statewide honor. NYSPHSAA’s Scholar-Athlete team award was initiated in the 1991-1992 school year. The School of Distinction award, established in 2002-03 and the School of Excellence award, established this year, are sponsored by Pupil Benefits Plan.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply