Kline, Menis earn Fulmont Roadrunners’ Dern Memorial Scholarships

Amsterdam’s Tim Kline was one of the winners of the Fulmont Roadrunners Club’s 2017 James R. Dern Memorial Scholarships. (Photo submitted)

FORT HUNTER — Alice Menis of Schenectady High School and Timothy Kline of Amsterdam High School are winners of the Fulmont Roadrunners Club’s 2017 James R. Dern Memorial Scholarships.

The scholar-athletes excelled in the classroom, as well as in long-distance running and extracurricular activities at their respective high schools, and soon will be moving on to college.

Menis plans to attend SUNY Potsdam where she will major in creative writing and continue her competitive running and Kline plans to attend SUNY Polytechnic Institute where he will pursue a bachelor’s degree in engineering.

Menis and Kline bring to 48 the number of recipients of the scholarship that bears the name of the late Jim Dern, a Canajoharie resident, Beech-Nut executive, and longtime running enthusiast and Fulmont Roadrunners Club member.

The scholarships are awarded to college-bound seniors from Fulton and Montgomery County high schools, along with club members such as Menis from other high schools, who have competed in varsity running programs for at least two years. Candidates are judged on personal qualities including work ethic, leadership skills, sportsmanship, commitment to team goals, and respect of peers.

With this year’s $500 awards, announced following the club’s recent Mule Haul road race on June 18, more than $23,000 in scholarships have been granted to young men and women from nine high schools.

The awards program is chaired by long-time club member Stu Palczak, who teaches at Amsterdam High School and heads its running program.

The scholarships first were awarded in 1995.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply