Area players named Foothills all-stars

Johnstown’s Janay Douglas (12) sends the ball past Hudson Falls’ Danielle Kitchner during a Section II Class B semifinal match Nov. 1 at Voorheesville High School. Douglas recently was named a first-team Foothills Council all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Several area players were among those selected for the recently announced Foothills Council volleyball all-star team.

South Division champion Broadalbin-Perth had Cassy Bown, Madison Fariello and Eliana Fraser named first-team all-stars, while Johnstown’s Janay Douglas and Gloversville’s Macey Salvione also earned first-team honors.

B-P also had Lily Mitchell named to the second-team, Also earning second-team honors were Johnstown’s Macenzie Ward, Gloversville’s Jasmine Gonzalez and Johnstown’s Alexys Hutchins.

Several area players also earned honorable-mention status. That group included Amsterdams Alyssa Kuchis, Gloversville’s Lucy McCredie, Johnstown’s Zoe Petrie, Gloverville’s Abby Johnstown and Johnstown’s Amber Tesi.

Hudson Falls’ Reagan Collier-Hogan was named the Foothills Council Most Valuable Player.

The Tigers, who shared the Foothills Council North Division title with South Glens Falls, had Kierra McCarthy named to the first team and Moira Hogan and Naesha Kelly named to the second team.

South Glens Falls had Annika Kreppein, Taylor Wells and Mackenzie Collier named first-team Foothills Council all-stars, while Haylee Scarincio and Grace Taylor were named to the second team.

Rounding out the first-team all-stars were Queensbury’s Bailey Gengel, Glens Falls’ Ella Kules and Queensbury’s Isabella Carusone.

Completing the second team were Glens Falls’ Anna Bayle, Queensbury’s Isabella Salatino, Schuylerville’s Cheyenne Crandell and Queensbury’s Katie Geruso.

Rounding out the Foothills Council all-stars were Hudson Falls’ Danielle Kitchner, Queensbury’s Katie Johnson, South Glens Falls’ Kionah Thomas, Scotia-Glenville’s Madison Wright and South Glens Falls’ Kasen Lemay who were all named honorable mention.

2017 Foothills Council Volleyball All-Stars

MVP – Reagan Collier-Hogan (Hudson Falls)

First Team

Cassy Bown (Broadalbin-Perth), Madison Fariello (Broadalbin-Perth), Eliana Fraser (Broadalbin-Perth), Ella Kules (Glens Falls), Macey Salvione (Gloversville), Kierra McCarthy (Hudson Falls), Janay Douglas (Johnstown), Bailey Gengel (Queensbury), Isabella Carusone (Queensbury), Annika Kreppein (South Glens Falls), Taylor Wells (South Glens Falls), Mackenzie Collier (South Glens Falls)

Second Team

Lily Mitchell (Broadalbin-Perth), Anna Bayle (Glens Falls), Jasmine Gonzalez (Gloversville), Moira Hogan (Hudson Falls), Naesha Kelley (Hudson Falls), Macenzie Ward (Johnstown), Alexys Hutchins (Johnstown), Isabella Salatino (Queensbury), Katie Geruso (Queensbury), Cheyenne Crandell (Schuylerville), Haylee Scarincio (South Glens Falls), Grace Taylor (South Glens Falls)

Honorable Mention

Alyssa Kuchis (Amsterdam), Zoe Petrie (Johnstown), Lucy McCredie (Gloversville), Katie Johnson (Queensbury), Abby Johnson (Gloversville), Madison Wright (Scotia-Glenville), Danielle Kitchner (Hudson Falls), Kionah Thomas (South Glens Falls), Amber Tesi (Johnstown), Kasen Lemay (South Glens Falls)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply