Four Canajoharie-Fort Plain players earn Class D first team all-star honors

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Isiah Logan (6) fights for yardage on a screen pass as he is hit by Hoosic Valley’s Matt Fusco during an Oct. 20 Class D Division II game at Canajoharie High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several Canajoharie-Fort Plain players were among those named to the Section II Class D football all-star team.

Senior tight end Joe Trembley was named to the first-team offense for C-FP along with junior wide receiver Isaiah Logan. Canajoharie-Fort Plain senior linebacker Nick Suits and senior defensive back Nick Kocjan were named to the first-team defense.

Juniors Sam Terwilliger (defensive line) and Joey Nare (defensive back) were named to the honorable-mention defense.

Greenwich senior quarterback Cole Burgess was named the Class D Most Valuable Player.

Cambridge senior quarterback Zack Rowland was named offensive Most Valuable Player, Cambridge senior linebacker Brenden Holcomb was named defensive MVP and Cambridge’s Doug Luke was named Coach of the Year.

Cambridge also had offensive linemen Max Hoffer (offensive line), Nathan Genevick (offensive line) and Jonas Butz (all-purpose) named to the first-team offense, while Colton Dean (defensive line), Tommy English (defensive back) were named to the first-team defense.

Warrensburg’s Cole Lanfear (running back), Trevor Prosser (running back), Hunter Mosher (offensive line) and Brandon Turner (offensive line) were named to the first-team offense.

Rounding out the first-team offense were Helderberg Valley’s Xander Monroe (quarterback), Hoosic Valley’s Andrew Turriglio (offensive line), Helderberg Valley’s Kyle Waddell (wide receiver) and Greenwich’s Chris Albrecht (kicker).

Greenwich’s Joe Smith (defensive line), Reese Cristaldi (linebacker), Carson Mosher (linebacker) and Josh James (defensive back) all were named to the first-team defense.

Rounding out the first-team defensive selections were Fort Edward’s Anthony Miller (defensive line), Whitehall’s Andrew Genier (defensive line), Hoosic Valley’s Nick Broderick-Miller (defensive line), Cohoes’ Reggie Poulin (linebacker) and Whitehall’s Nick Kennedy (punter).

Granville had Logan Swain (running back), Cody Rice (tight end) and Dave Regimbald (offensive line) named to the honorable-mention offense.

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections on offense were Hoosic Valley’s William Scofield (running back), Helderberg Valley’s Mike Flower (wide receiver), Whitehall’s Dawson Procella (wide receiver), Greenwich’s John Walsh (tight end), Rensselaer’s Nate Breeden (tight end), Fort Edward’s Tyler Stone (offensive line), Greenwich’s Gage Boddery (offensive line) and Helderberg Valley’s Ben Boone (offensive line).

Hoosic Valley had Branden Haughney (defensive line), Colby Batchelder (linebacker) and Dan Giordano (defensive back) named to the honorable-mention defense, while Granville’s Justin Hiebler (defensive line), Dustin Evans (linebacker) and Will Duffy (defensive back) named to the honorable-mention defense.

Rounding out the honorable-mention defense were Whitehall’s Brandon Bolster (defensive line), Warrensburg’s Chris Wilson (defensive line), Helderberg Valley’s Greg Cornelius (defensive line), Cambridge’s Keenan McCauley (defensive line), Whitehall’s Brendan Covey (linebacker), Rensselaer’s Angel Garcia (linebacker), Whitehall’s Jake Moore (defensive back) and Warrensburg’s Evan MacDuff (defensive back).

2017 Section II Class D Football All-Stars

Class D MVP: Cole Burgess, QB, sr., Greenwich

Offensive MVP: Zack Rowland, QB, sr., Cambridge

Defensive MVP: Brenden Holcomb, LB, sr., Cambridge

Coach of the Year: Doug Luke, Cambridge

First Team Offense

QB: Xander Monroe (Helderberg Valley)

RB: Cole Lanfear (Warrensburg), Trevor Prosser (Warrensburg)

TE: Joe Trembley (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

WR: Kyle Waddell (Helderberg Valley), Isaiah Logan (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

OL: Max Hoffer (Cambridge), Nathan Genevick (Cambridge), Andrew Turriglio (Hoosic Valley), Hunter Mosher (Warrensburg), Brandon Turner (Warrensburg)

AP: Jonas Butz (Cambridge)

K: Chris Albrecht (Greenwich)

First Team Defense

DL: Colton Dean (Cambridge), Anthony Miller (Fort Edward), Andrew Genier (Whitehall), Joe Smith (Greenwich), Nick Broderick-Miller (Hoosic Valley)

LB: Reese Cristaldi (Greenwich), Carson Mosher (Greenwich), Nick Suits (Canajoharie-Fort Plain), Reggie Poulin (Cohoes)

DB: Tommy English (Cambridge), Josh James (Greenwich), Nick Kocjan (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

P: Nick Kennedy (Whitehall)

Honorable Mention Offense

RB: Logan Swain (Granville), William Scofield (Hoosic Valley)

WR: Mike Flower (Helderberg Valley), Dawson Procella (Whitehall)

TE: Cody Rice (Granville), John Walsh (Greenwich), Nate Breeden (Rensselaer)

OL: Tyler Stone (Fort Edward), Dave Regimbald (Granville), Gage Boddery (Greenwich), Ben Boone (Helderberg Valley)

Honorable Mention Defense

DL: Justin Hiebler (Granville), Brandon Bolster (Whitehall), Branden Haughney (Hoosic Valley), Chris Wilson (Warrensburg), Sam Terwilliger (Canajoharie-Fort Plain), Greg Cornelius (Helderberg Valley), Keenan McCauley (Cambridge)

LB: Dustin Evans (Granville), Brendan Covey (Whitehall), Colby Batchelder (Hoosic Valley), Angel Garcia (Rensselaer)

DB: Will Duffy (Granville), Jake Moore (Whitehall), Evan MacDuff (Warrensburg), Dan Giordano (Hoosic Valley), Joey Nare (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply