Several Huskies named all-stars

Amsterdam’s Deanthony Colon works to tackle Gloversville’s Korey Cotugno as he looks to turn up field after making a catch during a Class A game at the Lynch Literacy Academy on Sept. 23. Both were named Section II Class A all-stars. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several Amsterdam and Gloversville players were among those named to the recently announced Section II Class A all-star team.

Amsterdam had wide receiver Louis Fedullo, offensive lineman Nico Orengo and kicker Misha Murdoch named to the first-team offense, while the Rams’ Nate Lucente (defensive line) and Mikey Gomez (defensive back) were named to the first-team defense.

Gloversville wide receiver Trevor Mee was named to the first-team offense. while Korey Cotugno (linebacker) was named to the first-team defense for the Huskies.

Amsterdam’s Anthony Barone-Lopez (defensive end), Gio Adorno (defensive line), Jose Merced (defensive back) and Deanthony Colon (defensive back) were named to the second-team defense.

Jared Malagisi (running back), Julien Deumaga (wide receiver) and Pryce Bouchard (offensive line) named to the second-team offense for Gloversville, while Ian Hoyt (defensive end) and Buck Galster (defensive back). Gloversville kicker Brent Muhlberger was named honorable mention.

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake running back/linebacker Jake Stanko was named Class A Player of the Year, while South Glens Falls running back K.J. Mickel was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Averill Park defensive lineman Gavin Ryan was named Defensive Player of the Year and Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake wide receiver/defensive back/kicker Jeremy Clayton was named All-Purpose Player of the Year.

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, which won the Section II Class A title, had quarterback Darien LaPietro, running back Vincent Daviero, wide receiver Mike LeVan, offensive lineman Joe Petroski, offensive lineman Justin Stiles named to the first-team offense, while Averill Park running back Dom Law and offensive lineman Jerry Marsceill also were named to the first-team offense.

Rounding out the selections for the first-team offense were Queensbury’s Patrick Conway (running back), Scotia-Glenville’s Elijah Stay (running back), Green Tech’s Rayshawn Dukes (wide receiver), South Glens Falls’ Don Lavarge (offensive line), Queensbury’s JD Aspland (offensive line) and South Glens Falls’ Dylan Schrammel (kick returner).

In addition to its five selections to the first-team offense, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake had linebacker John Shaw and defensive back D.J. Lashley named to the first-team defense.

Averill Park had Cooper Willis (defensive line), Kyle Nethercott (linebacker) and Garrett Wagner (defensive back) named to the first-team defense, while Queensbury had Dom Nassivera (defensive line), Sean Collins (defensive end), Liam O’Mara (defensive back) and Brendan Scott (defensive back) named to the first-team defense.

Rounding out the selections for the first-team defense were Green Tech’s Hason Scott (defensive line), Scotia-Glenville’s Dante Coppola (linebacker), South Glens Falls’ Griffen Curran (defensive end) and Mohonasen’s Matt Miller (punter).

South Glens Falls had Connor Bovair (quarterback), Brendan Yando (wide receiver) and Lucas Gifford (offensive line) named to the second-team offense.

Rounding out the second-team offense were Green Tech’s Dupri McWhite (running back), Scotia-Glenville’s Karl Hunt (wide receiver), Queensbury’s Devin Hunt (offensive line), Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s Zach Gary (offensive line), Mohonasen’s Tim Woodward (offensive line) and Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake’s John Kenyon (kicker).

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake had Justis Warren (defensive line), Jake Russell (defensive line), Bryce Mussen (linebacker), Jack Wyatt (linebacker) named to the second-team defense, while Averill Park’s Carl Nitz (linebacker), Austin Quell (defensive back) and Jake Bornt (defensive back) also were named to the second-team defense.

Green Tech defensive lineman Phazon Vasconcellos and South Glens Falls linebacker Zach Nolan rounded out the second-team defense.

2017 Section II Class A Football All-Stars

Player of the Year: Jake Stanko (RB/LB, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

Offensive Player of the Year: K.J. Mickel, (RB, South Glens Falls)

Defensive Player of the Year: Gavin Ryan (DL, Averill Park)

All-Purpose Player of the Year: Jeremy Clayton (WR/DB/K, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

First Team Offense

QB: Darien LaPietro (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

RB: Vincent Daviero (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Patrick Conway (Queensbury), Elijah Stay (Scotia-Glenville), Dom Law (Averill Park)

WR: Rayshawn Dukes (Green Tech), Trevor Mee (Gloversville), Mike LeVan (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Louis Fedullo (Amsterdam)

OL: Don Lavarge (South Glens Falls), JD Aspland (Queensbury), Joe Petroski (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Justin Stiles (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Nico Orengo (Amsterdam), Jerry Marsceill (Averill Park)

PK: Misha Murdoch (Amsterdam)

KR: Dylan Schrammel (South Glens Falls)

First Team Defense

DL: Dom Nassivera (Queensbury), Hason Scott (Green Tech), Nate Lucente (Amsterdam), Cooper Willis (Averill Park)

DE: Griffen Curran (South Glens Falls), Sean Collins (Queensbury)

LB: Korey Cotugno (Gloversville), John Shaw (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Dante Coppola (Scotia-Glenville), Kyle Nethercott (Averill Park)

DB: Liam O’Mara (Queensbury), Brendan Scott (Queensbury), D.J. Lashley (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Mikey Gomez (Amsterdam), Garrett Wagner (Averill Park)

P: Matt Miller (Mohonasen)

Second Team Offense

QB: Connor Bovair (South Glens Falls)

RB: Dupri McWhite (Green Tech), Jared Malagisi (Gloversville)

WR: Brendan Yando (South Glens Falls), Julien Deumaga (Gloversville), Karl Hunt (Scotia-Glenville)

OL: Lucas Gifford (South Glens Falls), Devin Hunt (Queensbury), Pryce Bouchard (Gloversville), Zach Gary (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Tim Woodward (Mohonasen)

PK: John Kenyon (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)

Second Team Defense

DL: Phazon Vasconcellos (Green Tech), Justis Warren (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Jake Russell (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Gio Adorno (Amsterdam)

DE: Ian Hoyt (Gloversville), Anthony Barone-Lopez (Amsterdam)

LB: Zach Nolan (South Glens Falls), Bryce Mussen (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Jack Wyatt (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Carl Nitz (Averill Park)

DB: Buck Galster (Gloversville), Jose Merced (Amsterdam), Austin Quell (Averill Park), Jake Bornt (Averill Park), Deanthony Colon (Amsterdam)

Honorable Mention

Queensbury: Kellen Gannon (OL), Nate Angell (QB), Mike Guido (LB)

South Glens Falls: Mike Eastman (DL), Aidan Davies (LB)

Averill Park: James Finelli (RB), QB Nick Ferlito (QB), Joe Magill (DL), Andrew Kardelky (LB), Jack Wellington (DB), Joe Milanese (DB)

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake: Sam Hale (OL), Evan Price (OL)

Gloversville: Brent Muhlberger (K)

Mohonasen: Tyler Reinke (LB)

Scotia-Glenville: Paul Burns (LB)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply