Western Athletic Conference volleyball all-stars announced

Mayfield’s Mikayla Myers drives the ball over the net against Galway’s Carlie Horstmann (14) during a Western Athletic Conference match on Sept. 20 at Mayfield High School. Myers was named Hudson Divsion co-MVP Hitter and Hortsmann was selected to the Mohawk Division first team. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area volleyball players were among those named to the Western Athletic Conference volleyball all-star team.

In the Hudson Division, Fonda-Fultonville’s Hanna Moore and Mayfield’s Emily Mormando shared the MVP Setter honors, while Mayfield’s Mikayla Myers shared the MVP Hitter award with Mekeel Christian’s Clare Nelson.

Myers and Moore were named first-team Hudson DIvision all-stars, along with Canajoharie’s Kayla Mastin, who also was named honorable mention MVP Hitter.

Mormando and Fonda-Fultonville’s Jillian Wilder were named second-team Hudson Division all-stars. Wilder also was named honorable-mention MVP Defensive Player.

In the Mohawk Division, Galway’s Carlie Horstmann, Emma Smith and Lindsey Zawisa were named first-team all-stars. Zawisa also was named honorable mention MVP Hitter. while Smith was honorable mention MVP Defensive Player.

The Golden Eagles also had Hannah Bramer named to the second team. Bramer also was named MVP Setter, while Abbie Pritchard was named co-MVP Defensive Player.

Fort Plain’s Lauren Weinberger and Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Shaina Golloday also were named second-team Mohawk Division all-stars.

Duanesburg’s Olivia Dykstra was named the league’s overall MVP, the Mohawk Division MVP, a first-team all-star and MVP Hitter for the Mohawk Division.

Mekeel Christian’s Mackenzie Islip was named Hudson DIvision MVP and a first-team all-star.

Mekeel Christian also had Paula Armstrong and Clare Nelson named first-team all-stars, while Sophia Armao and Sydney Ekstein were named to the second team.

Armstrong also was named the Hudson Division’s MVP Defensive Player.

Rounding out the Hudson Division second-team all-stars were Bishop Gibbons’ Maria Dobkowski and Schoharie’s Victoria Bloodgood. Dobkowski also was named honorable mention MVP Defensive Player.

In the Mohawk Division, Middleburgh’s Camryn Leggett and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Amber Skinner were named first-team all-stars.

Skinner also was named honorable mention MVP Setter, while Leggett was honorable mention MVP Defensive Player.

Rounding out the second-team all-stars in the Mohawk Division were Middleburgh’s Saige Burton, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Laura Grippin and Duanesburg’s Annabelle Rieseler.

Grippin also was the Mohawk Division co-MVP Defensive Player, while Rieseler was named honorable mention MVP Setter. Burton was named honorable mention MVP Hitter.

2017 Western Athletic Conference

Volleyball All-Stars

Overall MVP: Olivia Dykstra (Duanesburg)

Hudson Division

MVP: Mackenzie Islip (Mekeel Christian)

MVP Defensive Player: Paula Armstrong (Mekeel Christian). Honorable Mention: Maria Dobkowski (Bishop Gibbons), Jillian Wilder (Fonda-Fultonville)

Co-MVP Setter: Hanna Moore (Fonda-Fultonville), Emily Mormando (Mayfield)

Co-MVP Hitter: Clare Nelson (Mekeel Christian), Mikayla Myers (Mayfield). Honorable Mention: Kayla Mastin (Canajoharie)

First Team

Paula Armstrong (Mekeel Christian), Mackenzie Islip (Mekeel Christian), Kayla Mastin (Canajoharie), Mikayla Myers (Mayfield), Hanna Moore (Fonda-Fultonville), Clare Nelson (Mekeel Christian)

Second Team

Sophia Armao (Mekeel Christian), Victoria Bloodgood (Schoharie), Maria Dobkowski (Bishop Gibbons), Sydney Ekstein (Mekeel Christian), Emily Mormando (Mayfield), Jillian Wilder (Fonda-Fultonville)

Mohawk Division

MVP: Olivia Dykstra (Duanesburg)

Co-MVP Defensive Player: Laura Grippin (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Abbie Pritchard (Galway). Honorable Mention: Camryn Leggett (Middleburgh), Emma Smith (Galway)

MVP Setter: Hannah Bramer (Galway). Honorable Mention: Annabelle Rieseler (Duanesburg), Amber Skinner (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

MVP Hitter: Olivia Dykstra (Duanesburg). Honorable Mention: Saige Burton (Middleburgh), Lindsey Zawisa (Galway)

First Team

Olivia Dykstra (Duanesburg), Carlie Horstmann (Galway), Camryn Leggett (Middleburgh), Amber Skinner (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Emma Smith (Galway), Lindsey Zawisa (Galway)

Second Team

Hannah Bramer (Galway), Saige Burton (Middleburgh), Shaina Golloday (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Laura Grippin (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Annabelle Rieseler (Duanesburg), Lauren Weinberger (Fort Plain)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply