Canajoharie-Fort Plain wrestlers edge Fonda-Johnstown, 43-42

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Lucas Sunderland, top, put the finishing touches on his pin in his 126-pound bout with Fonda-Johnstown’s Jonathan Cranker during Thursday’s Western Athletic Conference match at Fonda-Fultonville High School. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

JOHNSTOWN — In a match that came down to the final weight class, Canajoharie-Fort Plain eked out a 43-42 victory over Fonda-Johnstown on Thursday.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain claimed wins in eight of 15 weight classes to claim the Western Athletic Conference win at Fonda-Fultonville High School.

“This was a blood pumper,” Canajoharie-Fort Plain coach Bob Van Slyke said. “I’m very pleased with the way we wrestled tonight. It was a good, close match.”

During the course of the match there were 11 lead changes or ties, including six in the final six weight classes as the lead changed hands after each.

“It was an exciting night. That was a great match,” Fonda-Johnstown coach Jim Rodecker said. “It would have been nice to get the win, but it was a fun match either way.”

Fonda-Johnstown got back-to-back forfeit wins from Chris Estep and Kyle Salamack at 132 and 138 pounds, respectively, to open the match with a 12-0 lead.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain answered with back-to-back pins by Orion Burke (145 pounds) and Andrew Towse (152) to tie the match at 12-12.

Burke pinned Nasire Sanchez in 1:23, while Towse ended a back-and-forth match with Fonda-Johnstown’s Zack Maxson by pin in 4:52.

Fo-Jo grabbed the lead back at 18-12 after a forfeit win by Kyle Gray at 160 pounds.

C-FP responded with three straight wins to surge to a 30-18 lead.

Dillon Kessler pinned Fonda-Johnstown’s Jackson Haverly, and Hunter Congdon (182) and Hayden Casler (195) collected forfeit wins.

Luke Ahrens earned a forfeit for Fonda-Johnstown at 220 pounds and Na’Jon Subik pulled Fo-Jo even at 30-30 by pinning C-FP’s Matt Lambert at 285 pounds.

Cody Haig earned major decision for Canajoharie-Fort Plain at 99 pounds, notching a 19-10 victory over Owen Hicks.

With C-FP leading 34-30, Fonda-Johnstown’s Loretta Newcomer earned a forfeit win at 106 pounds to give her team a 36-34 advantage.

At 113 pounds, Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jared Bentz posted a 4-3 decision over Justin Kearns to put C-FP in front 37-36 with two weight classes remaining.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Marquise Johnson pinned C-FP’s Adam Oertel in 2:28 to give Fo-Jo a 42-37 lead heading into the final bout.

Needing a pin to earn the victory, Lucas Sunderland delivered for Canajoharie-Fort Plain by pinning Fo-Jo’s Jonathan Cranker to make the final score 43-42.

“We want these kind of matches to get ready for sectionals,” Van Slyke said.

It was the final home match for Fonda-Johnstown seniors Johnson, Maxson, Gray, Subik and Chris Hernigle.

“The kids wrestled tough tonight,” Rodecker said. “I’m proud of them. We’re starting to peak for sectionals.”

Both Canajoharie-Fort Plain and Fonda-Johnstown are scheduled to compete in the Schoharie Duals on Saturday.

“We’ll run into them again,” VanSlyke said. “It will be another tough match for sure.”

Canajoharie-Fort Plain 43, Fonda-Johnstown 42

132: Chris Estep (F-J) won by forfeit

138: Kyle Salamack (F-J) won by forfeit

145: Orion Burke (C-FP), pinned Nasire Sanchez, 1:23

152: Andrew Towse (C-FP) pinned Zach Maxson, 4:52

160: Kyle Gray (F-J) won by forfeit

170: Dillon Kessler (C-FP) pinned Jackson Haverly, 0:17

182: Hunter Congdon (C-FP) won by forfeit

195: Hayden Casler (C-FP) won by forfeit

220: Luke Ahrens (F-J) won by forfeit

285: Na’Jon Subik (F-J) pinned Matt Lambert, 0:50

99: Cody Haig (C-FP) major dec. Owen Hicks, 19-10

106: Loretta Newcomer (F-J) won by forfeit

113: Jared Bentz (C-FP) dec. Justin Kearns, 4-3

120: Marquise Johnson (F-J) pinned Adam Oertel, 2:28

126: Lucas Sunderland (C-FP) pinned Jonathan Cranker, 0:41


Galway 45,

Duanesburg 18

GALWAY— Galway claimed wins in nine of 13 weight classes on its way to a Western Athletic Conference victory over Duanesburg.

Joey Scheeren (113 pounds), Collin Bayer (126), Jonathan Hoyt (138), Dillan Palaszewski (182 and Sam D’Alessandro (195) won by pin for Galway.

Brandon Grupe (120), Bily Ous (132) and Russell Cook (285) all won by decison for Galway, while Adam Henderson (106) won by forfeit

Zach Lawrence (160) won by pin for Duanesburg, while Shayne Chiofalo (145) and Jacob Suits (220) won by decision. Charlie Grygas (170) added a forfeit win for Duanesburg.

There were double forfeits at 99 and 152 pounds.

Galway 45, Duanesburg 18

195: Sam D‘Alessandro (G) pinned Sean Rickert, 0:30

220: Jacob Suits (D) dec. Ddraig Bouchard, 7-0

285: Russell Cook (G) dec. Lucas Welch (DSH) (Dec 8-6)

99: Double forfeit

106: Adam Henderson (G) won by forfeit

113: Joey Scheeren (G) pinned Taylor Lawrence, 3:00

120: Brandon Grupe (G) dec. David Nicolella, 9-5

126: Collin Bayer (G) pinned Christopher Vogt, 0:30

132: Billy Ous (G) dec. Ige Gooding, 6-4

138: Jonathan Hoyt (G) pinned Spencer Whitney, 1:50

145: Shayne Chiofalo (D) dec. Shane Henderson, 4-3

152: Double forfeit

160: Zach Lawrence (D) pinned Riccardo Dery, 1:30

170: Charlie Grygas (D) won by forfeit

182: Dillan Palaszewski (G) pinned Cadan Landauer, 2:40

Center State Conference

Dolgeville 54, Little Falls 21

DOLGEVILLE — Dolgeville-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville won nine of 13 weight classes on its way to a Center State Conference victory over Little Falls.

Andrew Doolittle (113), Treay Jaquay (120), Oscar Lozada (126) and Seth Richardson (132) all won by pin for Dolgeville.

David Pierce (145), Jacob Null (160), John Monk (195), Riley Beaulieu (220) and Mike Krasko (285) all won by forfeit for the Blue Devils.

Lorenzo Scarano (138) and Richard Baylor (182) won by pin for Little Falls, while Ian Rando (152) won by forfeit.

In the only match of the night to go the distance, Little Falls’ Anthony Servidone posted a 6-2 victory over Kyle Getman at 190 pounds.

There were double forfeits at 99 and 106 pounds.

Dolgeville-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville 54,

Little Falls 21

182: Richard Baylor (LF) pinned Dylan Randall, 0:48

195: John Monk (D) won by forfeit

220: Riley Beaulieu (D) won by forfeit

285: Mike Krasko (D) won by forfeit

99: Double forfeit

106: Double forfeit

113: Andrew Doolittle (D) pinned Connor Wilks, 0:11

120: Treay Jaquay (D) pinned Lucas Miller, 0:33

126: Oscar Lozada (D) pinned Travis Miller, 0:51

132: Seth Richardson (D) pinned Patrick Borquez, 1:23

138: Lorenzo Scarano (LF) pinned Andrew Brado, 3:56

145: David Pierce (D) won by forfeit

152: Ian Rando (LF) won by forfeit

160: Jacob Null (D) won by forfeit

170: Anthony Servidone (LF) dec. Kyle Getman, 6-2

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply