Baseball Hall of Fame to host induction weekend

COOPERSTOWN — The legends of the game are coming to Cooperstown. And when they return to the home of baseball, they’ll have six new members of the club waiting for them.

Hall of Fame Weekend is scheduled for July 27 to 30. 

More than 50 Hall of Famers are scheduled to be in Cooperstown to honor the Class of 2018 at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, honoring Vladimir Guerrero, Trevor Hoffman, Chipper Jones, Jack Morris, Jim Thome and Alan Trammell will be held Sunday, July 29, at 1:30 p.m. at the Clark Sports Center — located one mile south of the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown.

Guerrero, Hoffman, Jones and Thome were elected to the Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America in January. They’ll be joined on the Induction Stage by Modern Baseball Era electees Jack Morris and Alan Trammell.

Guerrero, who earned votes on 92.9 percent of all BBWAA ballots cast, played 16 seasons for the Expos, Angels, Rangers and Orioles, earning nine All-Star Game selections and winning the 2004 American League Most Valuable Player Award.

An eight-time Silver Slugger Award winner for his work in right field and at designated hitter, Guerrero hit .300-or-better 13 times, drove in 100-or-more runs 10 times and topped the 30-home run mark in eight seasons.

Hoffman, who appeared on 79.9 percent of all BBWAA ballots cast, pitched 18 seasons for the Marlins, Padres and Brewers, spending 16 seasons in San Diego.

The first pitcher to reach both the 500-save and 600-save milestones, Hoffman ranks second in MLB history with 601 saves and second with 856 games finished.

Jones played 19 seasons, all for the Atlanta Braves, including 12 years in which the Braves made the postseason.

The first overall pick in the 1990 MLB Draft, Jones — who appeared on 97.2 of all BBWAA ballots cast — becomes the second No. 1-overall selection to earn Hall of Fame election, following Ken Griffey Jr. in 2016.

An eight-time All-Star and the 1999 NL Most Valuable Player, Jones topped the 100-RBI mark nine times and had eight seasons with at least 100 runs scored.

Morris pitched 18 seasons for the Tigers, Twins, Blue Jays and Indians, earning 14 Opening Day starts and four World Series rings. A five-time All-Star, Morris finished in the Top 5 of his league’s Cy Young Award voting five times.

He led all pitchers in the 1980s with 2,444.2 innings pitched and 162 wins and topped all American League pitchers in strikeouts with 1,629. Among pitchers whose careers began after 1976, Morris recorded the most complete games with 175.

Thome, who received votes on 89.8 percent of all BBWAA ballots cast,  played 22 seasons for the Indians, Phillies, White Sox, Dodgers, Twins and Orioles.

One of nine members of the 600-home run club, Thome’s 612 long balls rank eighth on the all-time list, and his 1,747 walks rank seventh all-time. Thome recorded 100-or-more RBI nine times and scored 100-or-more runs in eight seasons.

Thome, who ranks fifth all-time in at-bats per home run with a mark of 13.76, began his career as a third baseman before moving to first base.

Trammell played 20 seasons — all for the Tigers — and earned six All-Star Game selections, four Gold Glove Awards and three Silver Slugger Awards at shortstop.

A seven-time .300 hitter, Trammell scored 100-or-more runs three times, topped the 30-double mark six times and stole 20-or-more bases three times. His 2,139 games at shortstop rank 11th on the all-time list, and his .977 fielding percentage ranks sixth among shortstops with at least 2,000 games played.

The induction ceremony will be shown live on MLB Network, which has televised the event every year since its launch in 2009. The Induction Ceremony will also be shown via webcast at

The Hall of Fame Awards Presentation will be held at 4:30 p.m. on July 28 at Doubleday Field and will feature the presentation of the Ford C. Frick Award for broadcasters to Bob Costas and the J.G. Taylor Spink award for writers to Sheldon Ocker.

The awards presentation is free and open to the public.

Also on Saturday, July 28, the Hall of Fame Parade of Legends returns for the eighth year to provide fans with more thrills. Hall of Famers will ride down Main Street in trucks provided by Ford Motor Company en route to a private reception at the Museum during the 6 p.m. parade.

The Sunday, July 29 Induction Ceremony will take place on the grounds outside of the Clark Sports Center, which is located on lower Susquehanna Avenue, unless severe weather cancels the event. Follow the Hall of Fame on Twitter @baseballhall for the latest updates.

The site of the induction ceremony is located just one mile south of the Hall of Fame, and the short walk provides a picturesque view of the homes of Cooperstown.

Professional interpreters will be provided for the hearing impaired.

The event will be held outdoors rain or shine, unless severe weather forces the cancellation of the ceremony.

The ceremony is expected to last approximately three hours.

Lawn seating for the event is unlimited and free of charge.

Reserved seating options are available at the Museum’s Contributor, President’s Circle and Benefactor Membership levels — call (607) 547-0397 for more information.

A blanket or lawn chair is recommended for comfortable viewing. As the weather in Cooperstown can be warm in July, it is recommended that visitors bring a cap and sunscreen.

The Commemorative Hall of Fame Weekend Program, ball caps, Yearbooks and Museum memberships are available for purchase at the induction site, which features two retail locations open from 9 a.m. until the end of the Ceremony.

Refreshments are sold at the site and water is provided complimentary to visitors.

Family activities scheduled throughout Hall of Fame Weekend 2018 include the following special events: 

∫ PLAY Ball with Ozzie Smith — with special guests including Tim Raines:  Ozzie Smith returns in a fundraiser to support the Hall of Fame’s educational mission with a unique opportunity for fans, featuring fellow Hall of Famer Tim Raines and two additional Hall of Famers to be announced. This two-hour event features non-stop interaction at each station with a living legend and includes special mementos.

Space is limited. The donation is $1,000 per person, with Hall of Fame Members admitted for $750. To reserve your spot, please call 607-547-0310. 8 a.m., Friday.


∫ Hall of Fame Parade of Legends: Join the pageantry and excitement as the Hall of Famers ride in trucks provided by Ford Motor Company down Main Street on their way to a private reception at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Fans are encouraged to attend the Awards Presentation prior to making their way to the Parade. Main Street, 6 p.m., Saturday. 


∫ Legends of the Game Roundtable: The Hall of Fame’s newest members, Vladimir Guerrero, Trevor Hoffman, Chipper Jones, Jack Morris, Jim Thome and Alan Trammell, participate in the Legends of the Game Roundtable event at historic Doubleday Field in Cooperstown.

This event is for members only and costs $10 for adults and $5 for juniors (under 12 years old). Tickets are available to members now by calling (607) 547-0397. Doubleday Field, 10:30 a.m., Monday.


Museum Members are afforded special opportunities throughout the weekend. As a nonprofit institution, membership support advances the Museum’s commitment to preserve the National Pastime and aids in the preservation of artifacts and archival materials that document the rich history of America’s game.

Additionally, membership packages are wonderful and unique gifts for friends and family.

Members enjoy many privileges, including free admission to the Hall of Fame year-round. To learn more about the program and its many benefits, visit 

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply