Area golfers advance in sectional play

WILTON — Broadalbin-Perth finished second in the team standings at the Section II Class B Tournament on Tuesday at McGregor Links Country Club.

Ichabod Crane won the team title with a total of 348. The Patriots were second with a total of 361, South Glens Falls (373) was third and Scotia-Glenville (413) was fourth.

Schuylerville’s Ben Follos had the low round of the day with a 76.

Ichabod Crane’s Trevor Wolfe and Tismark Boham tied for second with rounds of 78. Johnstown’s Ethan Wager was fourth with an 80, while Broadalbin-Perth’s Stuart Bond and Connor Canale tied for sixth with rounds of 87. Wager, Bond and Canale all advanced to next week’s Section II Class ABCD Tournament at Orchard Creek.

Mike Piska carded an 88 to place 10th for the Patriots, while Matt Danise finished with a 99 to finish 22nd.

Colin Kowalski posted a 91 to finish 11th for the Sir Bills and Tyler Kortz carded a 96 to place 18th.

Class C-D Tournament

WILTON — Canajoharie’s Derek Countryman and Galway’s Ryan Lovelass advanced to next week’s Section II Class ABCD Tournament with their efforts at the Section II Class C-D Tournament at McGregor Links Country Club on Tuesday.

Countryman tied for sixth with a round of 86, while Lovelass was eighth with an 87.

Fort Plain’s Tyler Gifford carded a 99 to finish 18th.

Hoosick Falls’ Ryan Bloomer was the top individual finisher, carding a round of 75, while Hoosick Falls’ Matt Smith was second with a 76.

Duanesburg won the Class C-D team title.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply