Several area runners named WAC all-stars

Several area runners were among those named to the 2018 Western Athletic Conference cross country all-star team.

Mayfield’s Madison Relyea and Fianna Halloran were named to the girls all-star team, along with Fonda-Fultonville’s Madison Nichols and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Sherry Huang. Galway’s Emma Jordan and Natalie Zembsch also were named all-stars.

Fonda-Fultonville, which won the boys team title at the WAC Championships, had Shane Viscosi, Christian Pierce, Trevor Cline, Myles Anderson and Liam Viscosi named boys all-stars.

Galway’s Holden Decker and Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Ty Perue and Trevor Howard also were named WAC all-stars.

Duanesburg had five runners named to the girls all-star team.

Elaine Atanasova, Jen Skeeter, Alice Cole, Hannah Avery and Jessica Archambeault all were named all-stars for the Eagles.

Rounding out the WAC girls all-star team were Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Michelle Puzulis and Caroline Mundell, Schoharie’s Abigail Kosier and Mekeel Christian Academy’s Madison Lilienthal.

Duanesburg had three runners named to the WAC boys all-star team. The Eagles’ Andrew Drescher, Paul Munson and Sal Gallo all were honored.

Rounding out the WAC boys all-stars were Schoharie’s Austin Lints, Andrew Hahn; Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Ben Verbicky, and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’ Brandon Bungay.

2018 Western Athletic Conference Cross Country All-Stars


Duanesburg: Elaine Atanasova, Jen Skeeter, Alice Cole, Hannah Avery, Jessica Archambeault

Mayfield: Madison Relyea, Fianna Halloran

Berne-Knox-Westerlo: Michelle Puzulis, Caroline Mundell

Galway: Emma Jordan, Natalie Zembsch

Fonda-Fultonville: Madison Nichols

Canajoharie-Fort Plain: Sherry Huang

Schoharie: Abigail Kosier

Mekeel Christian: Madison Lilienthal


Fonda-Fultonville: Shane Viscosi, Christian Pierce, Trevor Cline, Myles Anderson, Liam Viscosi

Duanesburg: Andrew Drescher, Paul Munson, Sal Gallo

Schoharie: Austin Lints, Andrew Hahn

Canajoharie-Fort Plain: Ty Perue, Trevor Howard

Galway: Holden Decker

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons: Ben Verbicky

Berne-Knox-Westerlo: Brandon Bungay

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply