H.S. Wrestling Roundup: Dolgeville loses to Vernon-Verona-Sherrill

VERNON — Vernon-Verona-Sherrill won 10 of 15 weight classes on its way 56-25 victory over Dolgeville-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville in a Center State Conference wrestling match Thursday.

Alex Hyman (126), Jaden Confer (145), Colin Forbes (170), Trai Collins (195) and Andrew Seelman (220) all won by pin for Vernon-Verona-Sherrill, while Peter Makarchuk won by technical fall.

Zachary Audette (182) won by decision for the Red Devils, while Aaron Moir (106), Aiden Muniz (113) and Kyle Burback (132) won by forfeit.

Mike Krasko (285) won by pin for the Blue Devils, while Jacob Null (160) won by major decision. John Talbot (152) wob by decision for Dolgeville (1-3 overall), and Nathen Randall (99) and Treay Jaquay (120) won by forfeit

Vernon-Verona-Sherrill 56, Dolgeville-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville 25

138: Peter Makarchuk (VVS) tech. fall Cameron Jackson, 2:09 (15-0)

145: Jaden Confer (VVS) pinned Philip Keeler, 3:21

152: John Talbot (D) dec. Brendan McFadden, 5-2

160: Jacob Null (D) major dec. Travis Decker, 18-6

170: Colin Forbes (VVS) pinned Ethan Randall, 3:15

182: Zachary Audette (VVS) dec. Kyle Getman, 6-4

195: Trai Collins (VVS) pinned Dylan Randall, 3:39

220: Andrew Seelman (VVS) pinned John Monk, 1:51

285: Mike Krasko (D) pinned Manuel Lavesa-Cesana, 5:20

99: Nathen Randall (D) won by forfeit

106: Aaron Moir (VVS) won by forfeit

113: Aiden Munz (VVS) won by forfeit

120: Treay Jaquay (D) won by forfeit

126: Alex Hyman (VVS) pinned Andrew Doolittle, 2:47

132: Kyle Burback (VVS) won by forfeit


Amsterdam 51, Chenango Valley 24

AMSTERDAM — Amsterdam won nine of 14 weight classes on its way to a victory over Chenango Valley.

Nick Rodecker (145), Brody Fallas (195) and Robert Boyer (220) all won by pin for the Rams, while Daniel Montalvo (132) won by technical fall. Carlos Montalvo (106) won by major decision for Amsterdam (8-1 overall), and Renso Montalvo (113), Brennen Rivas (126), Jose Merced (170) and Nehemiah Acevedo (285) all won by forfeit.

Nathan Lehr (138) and Nathan Aylward (182) won by pin for Chenango Valley, while Colsten Volpe (152) and Brady Hope (160) won by decision. Trevor Cortright (99) added a forfeit win for Chenango Valley.

There was a double forfeit at 120 pounds.

Amsterdam 51, Chenango Valley 24

170: Jose Merced (A) won by forfeit

182: Nathan Aylward (CV) pinned Damian Montalvo, 0:26

195: Brody Fallas (A) pinned Anthony Holt, 1:26

220: Robert Boyer (A) pinned Elton Richards-Follette, 1:22

285: Nehemiah Acevedo (A) won by forfeit

99: Trevor Cortright (CV) won by forfeit

106: Carlos Montalvo (A) major dec. Dominic Napoli, 8-0

113: Renso Montalvo (A) won by forfeit

120: Double forfeit

126: Brennen Rivas (A) won by forfeit

132: Daniel Montalvo (A) tech. fall Joshua Champion, 17-2

138: Nathan Lehr (CV) pinned Branden Garcia, 1:25

145: Nick Rodecker (A) pinned Richard Champion, 0:20

152: Colsten Volpe (CV) dec. Eladio Montalvo, 3-1

160: Brady Hope (CV) dec. Jacob Garcia, 6-1


C-FP 39, Galway 36

CANAJOHARIE — Canajoharie won seven of 13 weight classes on its way to a Western Athletic Conference victory over Galway.

Cody Haig (106 pounds) and Lucas Sunderland (132) won by pin for C-FP (3-0 overall, 1-0 WAC), while Derek Countryman (138) recorded a 5-2 decision over Galway’s Collin Wieland.

Orion Burke (152), Reed Douglas (160), Evan Smida (182) and Hayden Casler (195) won by forfeit for Canajoharie-Fort Plain.

Joey Scheeren (120), Brandon Grupe (126), Dylan Collins (145), Riccardo Dery (170) and Russell Cook (285) won by pin for Galway (1-2 overall, 0-2 WAC), while Sam D’Alessandro (220) won by forfeit.

There were double forfeits at 99 and 113 pounds.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain 39, Galway 36

145: Dylan Collins (G) pinned Seth Richardson, 3:54

152: Orion Burke (C-FP) won by forfeit

160: Reed Douglas (C-FP) won by forfeit

170: Riccardo Dery (G) pinned Fallon Wells, 1:31

182: Evan Smida (C-FP) won by forfeit

195: Hayden Casler (C-FP) won by forfeit

220: Sam D’Alessandro (G) won by forfeit

285: Russell Cook (G) pinned Matt Lambert, 1:29

99: Double forfeit

106: Cody Haig (C-FP) pinned Adam Henderson, 4:30

113: Double forfeit

120: Joseph Scheeren (G) pinned Adam Oertel, 5:23

126: Brandon Grupe (G) pinned Jared Bentz, 0:58

132: Lucas Sunderland (C-FP) pinned Hunter Jenison, 2:49

138: Derek Countryman (C-FP) dec. Collin Wieland, 5-2

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply