Queensbury gets past Amsterdam, 43-20

Amsterdam’s Nick Rodecker, right, uses an ankle pick to takedown Queensbury’s John Brady during their 145-pound bout Wednesday at Lynch Literacy Academy in Amsterdam. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

AMSTERDAM — After defeating Queensbury to claim the Foothills title last season, the Amsterdam wrestling team looked to keep its crown Wednesday at Lynch Literacy Academy.

However, the Spartans took back the title, winning seven of 11 contested weight classes on their way to a 43-20 victory over the Rams. It marks the fourth Foothills Council crown in four seasons for Queensbury.

“It’s nice to win the Foothills back, especially having to come back here and wrestle them,” Queensbury coach Bob Winchip said. “We knew coming in that they’re always tough in this gym.”

Queensbury got pins from Dan Brady (132 pounds), Will Fraser (170) and Shawn Stimpson (182), while Dylan Sleezer (120) and Will Bell (285) won by forfeit. Seth Guay won by major decision for Queensbury (12-5 overall, 6-0 Foothills), while Ryan Sleezer (113), Trevor Robbins (126) and Kyle Miller (138) won by decision.

“I thought we wrestled pretty well tonight,” Winchip said.

Carlos Montalvo (99) won by major decision for Amsterdam (15-12 overall, 5-1 Foothills), while Nick Rodecker (145), Eladio Montalvo (152) and Jacob Garcia (160) won by decision. Brody Fallas (220) added a forfeit win for the Rams.

“Even with [the forfeits], I still thought we were competitive,” Amsterdam coach John Paris said. “I thought we did pretty well tonight.”

There was a double forfeit at 106 pounds.

Both teams will compete in the Section II Class B Tournament on Saturday at Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School. The top six finishers in each weight class will advance to the Section II Division I Tournament on Feb. 9 at the Cool Insuring Arena in Glens Falls.

“We’ve only really got two days to prep, so we’ll focus on a lot more technical practice,” Paris said. “The guys have had to hold their weight down for two days, which I wasn’t a big fan of going into the weekend. We’ll give them a little bit of a day off, but not really a day off since we’ll work on all the technical things, then get a good workout in Friday to get our weight down again and get ready for the weekend.”

Queensbury 43, Amsterdam 20

138: Kyle Miller (Q) dec. Chris Lent, 3-1.

145: Nick Rodecker (A) dec. John Brady, 12-4.

152: Eladio Montalvo (A) dec. Luke Little, 9-5.

160: Jacob Garcia (A) dec. Dylan Tucker, 9-6.

170: Will Fraser (Q) pinned Jose Merced, 1:42.

182: Shawn Stimpson (Q) pinned Mike Swank, 2:08.

195: Seth Guay (Q) major dec. Robert Boyer, 10-2.

220: Brody Fallas (A) won by forfeit.

285: Will Bell (Q) won by forfeit.

99: Carlos Montalvo (A) major dec. Brayden Shattuck, 24-10.

106: Double forfeit.

113: Ryan Sleezer (Q) dec. Renso Montalvo, 7-3.

120: Dylan Sleezer (Q) won by forfeit.

126: Trevor Robbins (Q) dec. Daniel Montalvo, 3-1.

132: Dan Brady (Q) pinned Zack Gillis, 1:13.


Duanesburg 52, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 18

CANAJOHARIE — Duanesburg won 10 of 13 weight classes on its way to a Western Athletic Conference victory over Canajoharie-Fort Plain on Wednesday.

Shayne Chiofalo (145 pounds), Zach Lawrence (152), Charlie Grygas (160) and Cadan Landauer (195) all won by pin for the Eagles, while David Nicolella (132) won by major decision.

Joe Boni (182) posted a 5-2 decision over C-FP’s Hayden Casler, while Lucas Welch (285) won 6-3 over Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Matt Lambert.

Daniel Stealey (99), Francis Milos (170) and Sean Rickert (220) all won by forfeit for Duanesburg.

Adam Oertel (120), Jared Bentz (126) and Seth Richardson (138) all won by pin for Canajoharie-Fort Plain.

There were double forfeits at 106 and 113 pounds.

Duanesburg 52, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 18

113: Double forfeit

120: Adam Oertel (C-FP) pinned Logan Krouse, 0:10

126: Jared Bentz (C-FP) pinned Taylor Lawrence, 0:55

132: David Nicolella (D) major dec. Derek Countryman, 14-4

138: Seth Richardson (C-FP) pinned Jack Holmes, 4:15

145: Shayne Chiofalo (D) pinned Patrick Meunier, 0:55

152: Zach Lawrence (D) pinned Orion Burke, 0:43

160: Charlie Grygas (D) pinned Reed Douglas, 3:52

170: Francis Milos (D) won by forfeit

182: Joe Boni (D) dec. Hayden Casler, 5-2

195: Cadan Landauer (D) pinned Luke Adams, 1:00

220: Sean Rickert (D) won by forfeit

285: Lucas Welch (D) dec. Matt Lambert, 6-3

99: Daniel Stealey (D) won by forfeit

106: Double forfeit


South Glens Falls 52, Galway 34

SOUTH GLENS FALLS — South Glens Falls won nine of 15 weight classes on its way to a non-league victory over Galway on Wednesday.

Ethan Weller (138 pounds) and Andrew King (145) won by pin for the Bulldogs, while Vincent Santilli (132) won by major decision.

Noah Hogan (120), Keenan Washburn (152), Isaah Cuva (160), Joshua Ahrens (170), Brian Hockford (182) and Elijah Melvin (195) all won by forfeit for South Glens Falls.

Sam D’Alessandro (220) and Russell Cook (285) won by pin for Galway, while Joey Scheeren (113) won by major decision.

Sarah Ernst (99), Adam Henderson (106) and Brandon Grupe (126) won by forfeit for the Golden Eagles.

South Glens Falls 52, Galway 34

99: Sarah Ernst (G) won by forfeit

106: Adam Henderson (G) won by forfeit

113: Joseph Scheeren (G) major dec. Tim Stephenson, 11-2

120: Noah Hogan (SGF) won by forfeit

126: Brandon Grupe (G) won by forfeit

132: Vincent Santilli (SGF) major dec. Hunter Jenison, 13-5

138: Ethan Weller (SGF) pinned Dylan Collins, 0:20

145: Andrew King (SGF) pinned Shane Henderson, 4:41

152: Keenan Washburn (SGF) won by forfeit

160: Isaah Cuva (SGF) won by forfeit

170: Joshua Ahrens (SGF) won by forfeit

182: Brian Hockford (SGF) won by forfeit

195: Elijah Melvin (SGF) won by forfeit

220: Samuel D’Alessandro (G) pinned Aiden Mickel, 2:51

285: Russell Cook (G) pinned Christopher Rich, 1:29


Galway 36, Schoharie 23

GALWAY— Galway won six of 10 weight classes on its way to a 36-23 victory over Schoharie in a Western Athletic Conference match Monday.

Sam D’Alessandro (285) won by pin for the Golden Eagles, while Sarah Ernst (99), Adam Henderson (113), Joey Scheeren (120), Dylan Collins (145) and Shane Henderson (152) all won by forfeit.

Jeremy Rehberg (132) won by pin for Schoharie, while Austin Lints (126) won by technical fall. Andrew Hahn (138) and Mohammad Elkadi (170) added forfeit wins for the Indians.

Galway 36, Schoharie 23

99: Sarah Ernst (G) won by forfeit

106: Double forfeit

113: Adam Henderson (G) won by forfeit

120: Joey Scheeren (G) won by forfeit

126: Austin Lints (S) tech. fall Brandon Grupe, 4:00 (18-2)

132: Jeremy Rehberg (S) pinned Hunter Jenison, 2:45

138: Andrew Hahn (S) won by forfeit

145: Dylan Collins (G) won by forfeit

152: Shane Henderson (G) won by forfeit

160: Double forfeit

170: Mohammad Elkadi (S) won by forfeit

182: Double forfeit

195: Double forfeit

220: Double forfeit

285: Sam D’Alessandro (G) pinned Dominick Snyder, 1:42

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply