Area players named to all-state team

Gloversville’s Harmony Philo (10) drives to the hoop against Kingston at the Amsterdam Holiday College Showcase at Amsterdam High School on Dec. 27. Philo recently was named to the all-state team in Class A. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area girls basketball players were among those named to the recently announced New York State Sportswriters Association all-state team.

Gloversville’s Harmony Philo and Kendra Lavery; Amsterdam’s Jackie Stanavich and Andie Gannon; Fonda-Fultonville’s Abby Lombardoni; Broadalbin-Perth’s Makenzie Smith; and Dolgeville’s Hannah Stack all earned all-state honors.

Philo, a senior, was named to the eighth team in Class A, while Lavery, a senior, was named honorable mention. Stanavich, a sophomore, was named to the 14th team in Class A and Gannon, a sophomore, was named honorable mention.

Lombardoni, a junior, was named to the 13th team in Class B, while Smith, a freshman, was named honorable mention.

Stack, a junior, was named honorable mention in Class C.

Also earning all-state honors in Class A from Section II were Averill Park’s Kelsey Wood (second team), Queensbury’s Hope Sullivan (fifth team), Holy Names’ Grace Field (seventh team), Averill Park’s Amelia Wood (11th team) and Queensbury’s Hailey Ballard (12th team).

Binghamton Seton Catholic’s Julia Hauer and Pittsford Mendon’s Alana Fursman were named co-Players of the Year in Class A. Hauer, a senior, averaged 16.9 points and 10.2 rebounds to finish with career totals of 1,371 and 1,243, respectively, while Fursman, also a senior, averaged 16.8 points per game.

In Class B, Section II champion Mechanicville had Charli Goverski (seventh team) and Amy DiSiena (15th team) earn all-state honors.

Also earning all-state honors in Class B were Voorheesville’s Olivia Barringer (fourth team), Tamarac’s Emily Erickson (fifth team), Schalmont’s Payton Graber (seventh team), Hudson Falls’ Brinley Inglee (ninth team), Mekeel Christian Academy’s Avery Mills (11th team) and Hudson’s Deja Beauford (15th team).

Olean’s Sara Pfeiffer was named Class B Player of the Year.

In Class C, Lake George’s Graceann Bennett and Cambridge’s Sophie Phillips were named to the first team.

Several other Section II players earned all-state honors in Class C. Hoosick Falls’ Logan Thayne (second team), Cambridge’s Lilly Phillips), Hoosic Valley’s Alex Rifenburg (fifth team), Taylor Meacham (fifth team), Molly Brophy (sixth team), Cambridge’s Fiona Mooney (eighth team), Warrensburg’s Megan Hughes (honorable mention) and Warrensburg’s Hope Boland (honorable mention).

Millbrook’s Erin Fox and Sauquoit Valley’s Allison Moreau were the co-Players of the Year in Class C.

Fox, a junior, averaged 21 points, 11 rebounds and 2.5 blocks per contest, while Moreau, a senior, averaged 25.9 points and 10.1 rebounds on the court, and Haskell chimed in at 28 points, 6 rebounds and 5 assists per game.

In Class AA, Saratoga Springs’ Dolly Cairns (second team) and Kerry Flaherty (fifth team) earned all-state honors, along with Shenendehowa’s Cat Almeida (fifth team) and Meghan Huerter (10th team)

Rounding out the Section II all-state selections were Albany’s Ahniysha Jackson (11th team), Guilderland’s Valencia Fontenelle-Posson (13th team), Colonie’s Aliyah Wright (13th team) and Niskayuna’s Olivia Olsen (honorable mention).

Ossining’s Aubrey Griffin was named the Class AA Player of the Year. Griffin, a senior, averaged 28.2 points, 10.4 rebounds and 4.3 assists per game.

In Class D, North Warren’s Sydney Gagnon and Fort Edward’s Mady Thomas were named to the first team, while Fort Ann’s Amanda Godfrey (fourth team) and Hartford’s Karlee Nims (fifth team) also earned all-state honors.

Frankinville’s Danielle Haskell was named the Class D Player of the Year. It was the second straight year that Haskell, who averaged 28 points, 6 rebounds and five assists per game, earned the honor.

2018-19 New York State Sportswriters Association Girls Basketball All-State Team

Section II and Area Selections

Class AA

Player of the Year: Aubrey Griffin (Ossining-I)

Second Team

Dolly Cairns (Saratoga Springs)

Fifth Team

Cat Almeida (Shenendehowa), Kerry Flaherty (Saratoga Springs)

10th Team

Meghan Huerter (Shenendehowa)

11th Team

Ahniysha Jackson (Albany)

13th Team

Valencia Fontenelle-Posson (Guilderland), Aliyah Wright (Colonie)

Honorable Mention

Olivia Olsen (Niskayuna)

Class A

Co-Players of the Year: Julia Hauer (Binghamton Seton Catholic-IV), Alana Fursman (Pittsford Mendon-V)

Second Team

Kelsey Wood (Averill Park)

Fifth Team

Hope Sullivan (Queensbury)

Seventh Team

Grace Field (Holy Names)

Eighth Team

Harmony Philo (Gloversville)

11th Team

Amelia Wood (Averill Park)

12th Team

Hailey Ballard (Queensbury)

14th Team

Jackie Stanavich (Amsterdam)

Honorable Mention

Andie Gannon (Amsterdam), Kendra Lavery (Gloversville)

Class B

Player of the Year: Sara Pfeiffer (Olean-VI)

Fourth Team

Olivia Barringer (Voorheesville)

Fifth Team

Emily Erickson (Tamarac)

Seventh Team

Payton Graber (Schalmont), Charli Goverski (Mechanicville)

Ninth Team

Brinley Inglee (Hudson Falls)

11th Team

Avery Mills (Mekeel Christian Academy)

13th Team

Abby Lombardoni (Fonda-Fultonville)

15th Team

Amy DiSiena (Mechanicville), Deja Beauford (Hudson)

Honorable Mention

Makenzie Smith (Broadalbin-Perth)

Class C

Co-Players of the Year: Erin Fox (Millbrook-IX), Allison Moreau (Sauquoit Valley-III)

First Team

Graceann Bennett (Lake George), Sophie Phillips (Cambridge)

Second Team

Logan Thayne (Hoosick Falls)

Third Team

Lilly Phillips (Cambridge)

Fifth Team

Alex Rifenburg (Hoosic Valley), Taylor Meacham (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

Sixth Team

Molly Brophy (Greenwich)

Eighth Team

Fiona Mooney (Cambridge)

Honorable Mention

Megan Hughes (Warrensburg), Hope Boland (Warrensburg), Hannah Stack (Dolgeville)

Class D

Player of the Year: Danielle Haskell (Franklinville-VI)

First Team

Sydney Gagnon (North Warren), Mady Thomas (Fort Edward)

Fourth Team

Amanda Godfrey (Fort Ann)

Fifth Team

Karlee Nims (Hartford)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply