Dolgeville’s Bilinski honored

Dolgeville’s Emma Bilinski was among those named to the All-Section III winter volleyball all-star team in Class C.

Bilinski, a junior outside hitter, was the lone Blue Devil player to earn Section III honors.

Mount Markham, which won the Section III Class C title, had Stephanie Burke named Class C Player of the Year and Terry McKane named Coach of the Year. Burke and McKane also were named the All-Central New York Small School (Class C, Class D) Player and Coach of the Year.

The Mustangs also had Michala Jones and Kaylee Barrett named to the Class C all-star team.

Sandy Creek had Carly Lyndaker and Sarah Balcomb named Class C all-stars, while Onondaga’s Danielle Field and Samantha Geis also were named all-stars.

Rounding out the Class C all-stars team were Sauquoit Valley’s Maryann Lewandrowski, South Lewis’ Brooklyn Sullivan, Little Falls’ Kylie Miles, Beaver River’s Chelsea Greenwood and Cooperstown’s Kaitlin Curtis.

In Class AA/A, New Hartford’s Chloe Elsenbeck (Player of the Year) and Bill Gardinier (Coach of the Year) earned top honors after leading the Spartans to the Section III Class A title.

Elsenbeck, Madison Desmarais and Shaye Gardinier were named Class AA/A all-stars for New Hartford.

Carthage’s Rebekka Fifield and Mikenzie Martens were named Class AA/A all-stars, while Whitesboro’s Cameron Boehlert and Erin Herrman also were honored.

Rounding out the Class AA/A all-stars were East Syracuse-Minoa’s Riley Abbott and Olivia Fortuno, Cortland’s Kayci Olson, Watertown’s Sarah Kilburn and Rome Free Academy’s Casey Hunziker.

Chittenango’s Tyla Cutrie was named the Class B Player of the Year, while Chittenango’s Amy Simmons was named Class B Coach of the Year after the Bears claimed the Section III Class B crown. Both Tyla Cutrie and Simmons also were named the All-Central New York Large School (Class AA, Class A, Class B) Player and Coach of the Year. Sydney Pellman, Bayla Cutrie and Shelby Maring were named Class B all-stars for Chittenango.

Canastota’s Taylor Kutzuba, Loryn Wilcox and Grace Morris were named Class B all-stars, while Oneida’s Zoey Fox and Jamie Jones also were honored.

Rounding out the Class B all-stars were South Jefferson’s Kaylee Clark and Abigail Sullivan, CBA’s Kristen DeLorenzo and Lowville’s Ashton Houppert.

In Class D, Morrisville-Eaton’s Will Curtis was named Coach of the Year after leading the Warriors to the Section III Class D title. Old Forge’s Dayna DeAngelo was named Class D Player of the Year.

Morrisville-Eaton also had Kendra Waltz, Julia Patrick and Chesney Hawk named to the Class D all-star team.

DeRuyter’s Molly Lawrence and Kali Liddle were named to the Class D all-star team, along with Stockbridge Valley’s Maddie Cross and Haylee Eaton.

Rounding out the Class D all-star selections were Remsen’s Madelyn McCormack, Owen D. Young’s Evonne Mower, Fabius Pompey’s Madi Reidl, Manlius Pebble Hill’s Ren Brown and Old Forge’s Caitlin Russell.

2018-19 All-Section III Winter Volleyball All-Stars

Class AA/A

Class A Champion: New Hartford

Player of the Year: Chloe Elsenbeck (New Hartford)

Coach of the Year: Bill Gardinier (New Hartford)


Chloe Elsenbeck (New Hartford), Rebekka Fifield (Carthage), Cameron Boehlert (Whitesboro), Madison Desmarais (New Hartford), Mikenzie Martens (Carthage), Erin Herrmann (Whitesboro), Riley Abbott (East Syracuse-Minoa), Kayci Olson (Cortland), Shaye Gardinier (New Hartford), Sarah Kilburn (Watertown), Olivia Fortuno (East Syracuse-Minoa), Casey Hunziker (Rome Free Academy)

Class B

Class B Champion: Chittenango

Player of the Year: Tyla Cutrie (Chittenango)

Coach of the Year: Amy Simmons (Chittenango)


Sydney Pellman (Chittenango), Bayla Cutrie (Chittenango), Taylor Kutzuba (Canastota), Loryn Wilcox (Canastota), Zoey Fox (Oneida), Abigail Sullivan (South Jefferson), Jamie Jones (Oneida), Kristen DeLorenzo (CBA), Ashton Houppert (Lowville), Kaylee Clark (South Jefferson), Shelby Maring (Chittenango), Grace Morris (Canastota)

Class C

Class C Champion: Mount Markham

Coach of the Year: Terry McKane (Mount Markham)

Player of the Year: Stephanie Burke (Mount Markham)


Michala Jones (Mount Markham), Kaylee Barrett (Mount Markham), Carly Lyndaker (Sandy Creek), Maryann Lewandrowski (Sauquoit Valley), Danielle Field (Onondaga), Brooklyn Sullivan (South Lewis), Kylie Miles (Little Falls), Chelsea Greenwood (Beaver River), Samantha Geis (Onondaga), Sarah Balcom (Sandy Creek), Emma Bilinski (Dolgeville) Kaitlin Curtis (Cooperstown)

Class D

Class D Champion: Morrisville-Eaton

Coach of the Year: Will Curtis (Morrisville-Eaton)

Player of the Year: Dayna DeAngelo (Old Forge)


Madelyn McCormack (Remsen), Kendra Waltz (Morrisville-Eaton), Julia Patrick (Morrisville-Eaton), Molly Lawrence (DeRuyter), Chesney Hawk (Morrisville-Eaton), Evonne Mower (Owen D. Young), Haylee Eaton (Stockbridge Valley), Kali Lidell (DeRuyter), Madi Riedl (Fabius Pompey), Ren Brown (Manlius Pebble Hill), Caitlin Russell (Old Forge), Maddie Cross (Stockbridge Valley)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply