Area girls lacrosse players earn Foothills honors

Johnstown’s Taryn Ringer (1) cuts between Amsterdam’s Nicole Tepan (7) and Lydia Iorio to scoop up a ground ball during Foothills Council action April 12 at Knox Field in Johnstown. Closing in on the play are Amsterdam’s Elena Fedullo (19) and Johnstown’s Emily Fleming (9) and Amber Tesi (6). Ringer recently was named a first-team Foothills Council all-star, while Fleming and Tesi were named to the second team. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area girls lacrosse players were among those named to the recently announced Foothills Council girls lacrosse all-star team.

Johnstown had sophomore midfielder Taryn Ringer, senior attacker Madison Etherton and junior defender Madison Delgado named to the first team, while Amsterdam junior midfielder Kayli Hoefs also earned first-team honors.

Earning second-team honors were Johnstown junior midfielders Alexandra Queeney and Amber Tesi, Johnstown sophomore midfielder Emily Fleming, and Amsterdam freshman midfielder Sydney Hoefs.

Johnstown junior attacker Abbey Hollister, Johnstown senior defender Grace Fitzgerald, Amsterdam sophomore attacker Kare Troche and Amsterdam senior goalie Kelly Kilgallen were named honorable mention.

League champion Queensbury had Maddie Montgomery, Brigid Duffy, Erin Lant and Jordan Bentley named to the first-team.

Rounding out the first-team selections were Scotia-Glenville’s Cristiania Bianchi and Julia Carroll; Glens Falls’ Phoebe Fox; Schuylerville’s Eliza Barton; South Glens Falls’ Alyson Fish; and Greenwich’s Sophia Manera.

In addition to its first-team honorees, Queensbury also had Claudia Pollaro, Brittany Barton, Mara Cunningham and Meghan Chance named to the second team.

Scotia-Glenville’s Olivia Geniti and Morgan Nichter also were named to the second team, along with Glens Falls’ Kayla Quirk.

Rounding out the second-team selections were Schuylerville’s Katie Claps, South Glens Falls’ Maddison Walter and Greenwich’s Marley Smith.

Queensbury’s Molly Gannon and Katie Maceachron were named honorable mention, along with Scotia-Glenville’s Caroline Rooney and Abby Esperti.

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections were Schuylerville’s Lainey Koval and Brooke Thomas; South Glens Falls’ Emma Bovair and Lauren Willis; Glens Falls’ Emily Lunt and Lindsay Mauer; and Greenwich’s Ashley Gwin and Summer Wilbur.

Greenwich earned the league sportsmanship award.

2019 Foothills Council Girls Lacrosse All-Stars

First Team

Maddie Montgomery (Queensbury), Brigid Duffy (Queensbury), Erin Lant (Queensbury), Jordan Bentley (Queensbury), Taryn Ringer (Johnstown), Madison Etherton (Johnstown), Madison Delgado (Johnstown), Cristiania Bianchi (Scotia-Glenville), Julia Carroll (Scotia-Glenville), Phoebe Fox (Glens Falls), Eliza Barton (Schuylerville), Alyson Fish (South Glens Falls), Kayli Hoefs (Amsterdam), Sophia Manera (Greenwich)

Sportsmanship Award: Greenwich

Second Team

Claudia Pollaro (Queensbury), Brittany Barton (Queensbury), Mara Cunningham (Queensbury), Meghan Chance (Queensbury), Alexandra Queeney (Johnstown), Amber Tesi (Johnstown), Emily Fleming (Johnstown), Olivia Geniti (Scotia-Glenville), Morgan Nichter (Scotia-Glenville), Kayla Quirk (Glens Falls), Katie Claps (Schuylerville), Maddison Walter (South Glens Falls), Sydney Hoefs (Amsterdam), Marley Smith (Greenwich)

Honorable Mention

Molly Gannon (Queensbury), Katie Maceachron (Queensbury), Lainey Koval (Schuylerville), Brooke Thomas (Schuylerville), Caroline Rooney (Scotia-Glenville), Abby Esperti (Scotia-Glenville), Abbey Hollister (Johnstown), Grace Fitzgerald (Johnstown), Emma Bovair (South Glens Falls), Lauren Willis (South Glens Falls), Emily Lunt (Glens Falls), Lindsay Maurer (Glens Falls), Ashley Gwin (Greenwich), Summer Wilbur (Greenwich), Karen Troche (Amsterdam), Kelly Kilgallen (Amsterdam)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply