Area players named to Foothills Council baseball all-star team

Broadalbin-Perth’s Brodryk Benton swings at a pitch during a Section II Class B first-round game on May 24 at Broadalbin-Perth High School. Benton was named a first-team Foothills Council all-star as a utility player. He also was named to the second team as a pitcher. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Several area players were among those named to the 2019 Foothills Council baseball all-star team.

Amsterdam, which won the Foothills Council championship, had Carson Cotugno (pitcher), Michael Rocas (Catcher), Matt Murphy (first base), Peyton Ausfeld (second base), Jeffrey Brennan (shortstop) and Jake Greco (outfield) named first-team all-stars.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Brodryk Benton was named to the first team as a utility player. Benton also was named to the second team as a pitcher.

Jack Marsden (first base), Mike Magliocca (second base) and Sam Vainauskas (designated hitter) also were named second-team all-stars for the Patriots. Vainauskas also was named honorable mention as a pitcher.

Also named to the second team were Amsterdam’s Andrew Bracchi (pitcher), Nic Carbone (pitcher) and Francisco Rodriguez-Santana (third base), as well as Gloversville’s Dane Dillenback (outfield) and Johnstown’s Charlie Brown (outfield).

Johnstown’s Mick Winton was named honorable mention as a utility player.

Queensbury had Jack Sylvia (pitcher/designated hitter), Matt Chase (pitcher) and James Ward (third base) named first-team all-stars, while Scotia-Glenville’s Tyler Cannoe (first base) and Cole Holstein (outfield) also earned first-team honors. Chase also was named honorable mention at first base.

Rounding out the first-team selections were South Glens Falls’ Connor Bovair (pitcher) and Dylan Schrammel (outfield).

Paul Harshbarger (catcher), Ryan Yandow (outfield) and Alex Vallee (pitcher) were named to the second team for Schuylerville, which won the Section II Class B title.

Rounding out the second team were Scotia-Glenville’s Nick Marola (shortstop) and Justin O’Neil (utility). O’Neil also was named honorable mention as a pitcher.

Queensbury’s Nathan Johnson (outfield) was named honorable mention, along with South Glens Falls’ Justin Nesbitt (catcher), Dan Cohen (second base) and Trevor Corlew (pitcher).

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections were Glens Falls’ Rece McClements (shortstop), Kyle Vachon (outfield) and Griffin Woodell (outfield); Schuylerville’s Matt McCarthy (pitcher), Nate Preston (pitcher) and Charles Luzadis (designated hitter) and Scotia-Glenville’s Ryan Rockwell (third base).

2019 Foothills Council Baseball All-Stars

First Team

Catcher: Michael Rocas (Amsterdam)

First Base: Tyler Cannoe (Scotia-Glenville), Matt Murphy (Amsterdam)

Second Base: Peyton Ausfeld (Amsterdam)

Shortstop: Jeffrey Brennan (Amsterdam)

Third Base: James Ward (Queensbury)

Utility; Brodryk Benton (Broadalbin-Perth)

Designated Hitter: Jack Sylvia (Queensbury)

Outfielders: Dylan Schrammel (South Glens Falls) Cole Holstein (Scotia-Glenville), Jake Greco (Amsterdam)

Pitchers: Connor Bovair (South Glens Falls), Jack Sylvia (Queensbury), Carson Cotugno (Amsterdam), Matt Chase (Queensbury)

Second Team

Catcher: Paul Harshbarger (Schuylerville)

First Base: Jack Marsden (Broadalbin-Perth)

Second Base: Mike Magliocca (Broadalbin-Perth)

Shortstop: Nick Marola (Scotia-Glenville)

Third Base: Francisco Rodriguez-Santana (Amsterdam)

Utility: Justin O’Neil (Scotia-Glenville)

Designated Hitter: Sam Vainauskas (Broadalbin-Perth)

Outfielders: Charlie Brown (Johnstown), Dane Dillenback (Gloversville), Ryan Yandow (Schuylerville)

Pitchers: Andrew Bracchi (Amsterdam), Alex Vallee (Schuylerville), Brodryk Benton (Broadalbin-Perth), Nic Carbone (Amsterdam)

Honorable Mention

Catcher: Justin Nesbitt (South Glens Falls)

First Base: Matt Chase (Queensbury)

Second Base: Dan Cohen (South Glens Falls)

Shortstop: Rece McClements (Glens Falls)

Third Base: Ryan Rockwell (Scotia-Glenville)

Utility: Mick Winton (Johnstown)

Designated Hitter: Charles Luzadis (Schuylerville)

Outfielders: Kyle Vachon (Glens Falls), Griffin Woodell (Glens Falls), Nathan Johnson (Queensbury)

Pitchers: Justin O’Neil (Scotia-Glenville), Trevor Corlew (South Glens Falls), Nate Preston (Schuylerville), Sam Vainauskas (Broadalbin-Perth), Matt McCarthy (Schuylerville)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply