Area players named WAC softball all-stars

Mayfield’s Jillian Botch throws to the plate during a Section II Class C first-round game against Rensselaer at Gloversville High School on May 23. Botch recently was named a Western Athletic Conference Section II all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Several area players were among those named to the Western Athletic Conference softball all-star team.

Fort Plain (Oppenheim-Ephratah’s Michaela Stockwell was named the Mohawk Division Most Valuable Player. Stockwell and FP-OESJ’s Fontana LaCoppola were named WAC Section II all-stars, along with Mayfield’s Jillian Botch.

Northville’s Brytney Moore, FP-OESJ’s Jenna Reese and Northville’s Jessica Miller were named first-team WAC Mohawk Division all-stars, while Northville’s Emily Shepard, FP-OESJ’s Abby Johnson and Northville’s Hailee Riggi were named to the second team.

In the Hudson Division, Galway’s Emma Smith and Hannah Hoffman were named to the first team, along with Fonda-Fultonville’s Brianna Egelston and Sierra Rose.

Mayfield’s Taryn LaFontaine and Lindsey Hampton were named to the first team, while Canajoharie’s Mollie Krug and Kylee Rickard also earned first-team honors.

Mayfield also had Brianna Hubiak and Emily Senese named to the second team.

Galway’s Jess Pakatar, Fonda-Fultonville’s Shelby Crahan and Canajoharie’s Mackenzie Bowerman also earned second-team honors.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Jillian Wilder and Emma Crahan were named honorable mention in the Hudson Division.

Other area players earning honorable-mention status were Canajoharie’s Sam Keaney and Caitlyn Baker; Galway’s Kaylee Bagdan and Mikayla Neahr; and Mayfield’s Kelsey Meca.

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Jailene Santiago was named the WAC overall MVP, the Hudson Division MVP and a WAC Section II all-star.

Middleburgh had Morgan Schafroth and Ashley Ciafardo named to the first team in the Mohawk Division, while Duanesburg’s Maddie Kenney and Annabelle Rieseler also earned first-team honors. Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Zoey Lounsbury, Caitlyn Bianchi and Kayleigh Reynolds-Flynn rounded out the first-team selections in the Mohawk Division.

Earning second-team honors in the Mohawk Division were Duanesburg’s Victoria Silva, Caitlin Menzies and Tori Passonno; Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Reagan Smith; and Middleburgh’s Alyssa Wayman.

Bishop Gibbons’ Hope Hiscock and Ryenne Relyea were named first-team Hudson Division all-stars.

The Golden Knights also had Taylor Van Auken and Marissa Correra named to the second team.

Rounding out the second-team selections in the Hudson Division were Schoharie’s McKenzie Liddle, Amanda Stalker and Ally Gallagher.

Earning honorable-mention selections were Schoharie’s Maddy Bland and Bishop Gibbons’ Emery Sawitzki.

2019 Western Athletic Conference Softball


Overall MVP: Jailene Santiago (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

Mohawk Division

MVP: Michaela Stockwell (Fort Plain-Oppenheim (Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

Section II All-Stars: Michaela Stockwell (Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Fontana LaCoppola (Fort Plain-Oppenheim (Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

First Team

Morgan Schafroth (Middleburgh), Maddie Kenney (Duanesburg), Ashley Ciafardo (Middleburgh), Zoey Lounsbury (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Annabelle Rieseler (Duanesburg), Brytney Moore (Northville), Caitlyn Bianchi (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Jenna Reese (Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Kayleigh Reynolds-Flynn (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Jessica Miller (Northville)

Second Team

Emily Shepard (Northville), Abby Johnson (Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Alyssa Wayman (Middleburgh), Tori Passonno (Duanesburg), Reagan Smith (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Caitlin Menzies (Duanesburg), Victoria Silva (Duanesburg), Hailee Riggi (Northville)

Hudson Division

MVP: Jailene Santiago (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

Section II All-Stars: Jailene Santiago (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Jillian Botch (Mayfield)

First Team

Hope Hiscock (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Emma Smith (Galway), Brianne Egelston (Fonda-Fultonville), Mollie Krug (Canajoharie), Taryn LaFontaine (Mayfield), Sierra Rose (Fonda-Fultonville), Lindsey Hampton (Mayfield), Kylee Rickard (Canajoharie), Ryenne Relyea (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Hannah Hoffman (Galway)

Second Team

Jess Pakatar (Galway), McKenzie Liddle (Schoharie), Shelby Crahan (Fonda-Fultonville), Mackenzie Bowerman (Canajoharie), Marissa Correra (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Brianna Hubiak (Mayfield), Amanda Stalker (Schoharie), Taylor Van Auken (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Emily Senese (Mayfield), Ally Gallagher (Schoharie)

Honorable Mention

Sam Keaney (Canajoharie), Maddy Bland (Schoharie), Emery Sawitzki (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Kelsey Meca (Mayfield), Kaylee Bagdan (Galway), Mikayla Neahr (Galway), Caitlyn Baker (Canajoharie), Jillian Wilder (Fonda-Fultonville), Emma Crahan (Fonda-Fultonville)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply