Brundage, LaFontaine earn honors

Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber of Commerce Athletes of the Year Taryn LaFontaine of Mayfield and Jack Brundage of Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville display their plaques after being honored at the 32nd Annual Sports Award Banquet Wednesday night at the Holiday Inn in Johnstown. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

JOHNSTOWN – Being accomplished, all-around athletes was a trademark of the 2018-19 Fulton County male and female athletes of the year.

Taryn LaFontaine, a four-sport athlete from Mayfield and Jack Brundage, a three-sport star from Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville were name the female and male athletes of the year in front of a capacity crowd at the 32nd annual Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber of Commerce Sports Award Banquet Wednesday at the Holiday Inn.

“I was in shock honestly. I wasn’t expecting it, but I was excited” Lafontaine said. “It is something I wanted to accomplish ever since I found out what the award was; it is something I have worked for. It is just really nice to finish my high school career with this award.”

During her senior year, LaFontaine was named the team MVP in soccer, was a first team Western Athletic Conference all-star as well as a Section II all-star and was named a New York State fifth team all-star. As a member of the Lady Panthers’ basketball team she received the team’s defensive MVP award for the third-straight year.

LaFontaine was a member of the Mayfield softball and the Mayfield/Northville track and field teams.

“The rain this year made it very difficult to fit both sports in,” she said. “But thanks to my coaches and our athletic director we made it work and I did not miss a single game or meet. I have to thank them all, a lot.”

LaFontaine was named a captain on both squads and was WAC champion in the 400-meter dash along with being a member of two league championship relay teams. In softball she was named to the WAC all-star first team.

“I have to thank my family,” LaFontaine said. “They have been there every game and my coaches have been huge role models in my life. I wouldn’t be here without all of them.”

Brundage was a key member of the OESJ soccer, basketball and baseball teams throughout his high school career.

As a senior, he led the OESJ soccer team in scoring with 32 goals to help the Wolves play for the Section II Class D championship. The versatile point guard led the Wolfpack to the Section II Class D championship and into the championship for the New York State Public High School Class D title, while earning all-star status for OESJ on the baseball diamond.

“There are a lot of great athletes in Fulton County,” Brundage said. “There are kids from schools a lot bigger than where I am from. I knew it was going to be close with a lot of people it could have been. I knew when they said I led the section in goals scored.”

In his senior year, Brundage won WAC MVP honors for both boys’ soccer and basketball. In basketball he was named to the Section II All-Tournament team, the New York State Class D All-Tournament team and the Class D third team all-state and was an all-star selection on the Wolfpack’s baseball team as a pitcher and infielder.

Brundage is the second member of his family to receive the award. His sister, Adelina, was named the 2017 Female Athlete of the Year.

“My sister won it two years ago and if I hadn’t won, I probably wouldn’t have heard the end of it,” the Seton Hall-bound Brundage said.

The Fulton Montgomery Regional Chamber of Commerce also honored the Broadalbin-Perth volleyball, indoor and outdoor track and field teams; the OESJ boys and girls soccer teams and boys basketball team for their league and sectional championship seasons; the Gloversville bowling team and doubles tennis team, Mayfield volleyball, boys soccer and girls track and field teams; the Johnstown boys and girls lacrosse teams and the field hockey team as well as championship athletes in cross-country, and track and field; and the OESJ/Fort Plain softball team.

Fulton County Athletes of the Year


2019: Jack Brundage, Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville

2018: John Fancher, Mayfield

2017: Benjamin Wager, Johnstown

2016: Dylan Klock, Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville

2015: Jake Coveney, Broadalbin-Perth

2014: Andre Taylor, Broadalbin-Perth

2013: Joe Nellis, Johnstown

2012: Mitch Vdoviak, Johnstown

2011: Jon Briggs, Northville

2010: Mike VanNostrand, Northville; D.J. Hoagboon, Mayfield

2009: Gabe Wells, Gloversville

2008: Dan Schulz, Broadalbin-Perth

2007: Kevin Kucel, Gloversville

2006: Tom Montano, Gloversville

2005: Kyle Canary, Mayfield; Stephen Tychostup, Mayfield

2004: L.B. McCloskey, Gloversville

2003: Noah Flint, Gloversville

2002: Ben McGuire, Gloversville

2001: John Davenport, Broadalbin-Perth

2000: Dan Cornell, Broadalbin-Perth

1999: Justin DeMagistris, Gloversville

1998: Colin Hughes, Broadalbin-Perth

1997: Jason Doviak, Broadalbin-Perth

1996: Steve Lawrence, Northville

1995: Adam Barnhart, Johnstown

1994: Matt Hemstreet, Broadalbin-Perth

1993: David Clarke, Mayfield

1992: Shawn Flynn, Gloversville

1991: Brian Clawson, Johnstown

1990: Matt Swedick, Johnstown; Chris Ciaccio, Gloversville

1989: Matt Goodemote, Gloversville

1988: Tom Ciaccio, Gloversville


2019: Taryn LaFontaine, Mayfield

2018: Hannah Coupas, Northville

2017: Adelina Brundage, Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville

2016: Kaylee Bumpus, Mayfield

2015: Chelsea LeBlanc, Broadalbin-Perth

2014: Chanel Thomas, Gloversville

2013: Alexis Capasso, Gloversville

2012: Brynn Hlozansky, Johnstown

2011: Jade Woodend, Mayfield

2010: Rebecca Graudons, Mayfield

2009: Chelsea Paul, Northville

2008: Chelsea Gruet, Broadalbin-Perth

2007: Kristen Bouchard, Oppenheim-Ephratah

2006: Kayla May, Johnstown; Kristin Mraz, Johnstown

2005: Katie Lowerre, Northville

2004: Carla Cosselman, Mayfield

2003: Melanie Hamm, Johnstown

2002: Megan Olds, Gloversville

2001: Mary Ellis, Gloversville

2000: Missy Krempa, Johnstown

1999: Kate Underwood, Johnstown

1998: Angie Gray, Oppenheim-Ephratah

1997: Heidi Gifford, Northville; Jill Gifford, Northville

1996: Amber Smith, Johnstown

1995: Cynthia Oppenheimer, Oppenheim-Ephratah

1994: Jocelyn Naple, Broadalbin-Perth; Nicolle Flood, Mayfield

1993: Stephanie Hart, Johnstown

1992: Joanne Einemann, Mayfield; Jenn Groff, Northville

1991: Jeanne Dupree, Gloversville

1990: Stacie Hime, Mayfield

1989: Amy Jane Lilie, Johnstown

1988: Katrina Springer, Broadalbin-Perth

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply