Varin, Friesen claim modified wins at Fonda

Stewart Friesen poses in victory lane after winning the second modified feature Saturday at Fonda Speedway. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

FONDA — After being beat by inches by Bobby Varin in the held-over modified feature, Stewart Friesen rallied to pick up his first feature win of the season in the regularly scheduled modified main event Saturday night at Fonda Speedway.

Friesen made the most of a late race restart to get past Craig Hanson with five laps to go and record his 55th career modified feature win at the Track of Champions.

Brian Calabrese picked up the $1,000-to-win 602 sportsman feature over Andrew Buff, while Luke Horning topped the pro stock feature and Steve Wagoner picked up his first win of the season in the limited sportsman main.

Wayne Russell recorded the victory in the 4-cylinder division main event, while Steve Young won the street stock main event and Frank Blanchard and Ron Sanford picked up the feature wins in the “Mystique Rush” for the Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series.

Varin came from midpack to record his first win of the season and 64th of his career at Fonda. Friesen came home second .110 behind Varin, while Brian Gleason was third, Jessica Friesen fourth and Michael Maresca fifth. Rocky Warner, Josh Hohenforst, Korey Wilder, Cody Bleau and Matt DeLorenzo round of the top 10 of the held-over 30-lap modified feature.

In the regularly scheduled main event, Ryan Odasz set the early pace before relinquishing the lead to Hanson on a lap nine restart.

Hanson distanced himself from the pack as Warner and Dave Schilling battled with Friesen for the second spot.

A caution on lap 19 brought Hanson back to the field however, he had enough momentum in the high line to hold off Friesen’s charge on the bottom until the caution flew with five laps remaining.

Friesen slipped past Hanson on the backstretch and had to withstand a pair of restarts in the closing laps to get the win.

Warner was second, followed by Schilling, Hanson and Varin. Cody Bleau, Danny Varin, DeLorenzo, Jessica Friesen and Dave Constantino round out the top 10.

Calabrese got past early-race leader Joe Orlando on lap four and won out over Buff in a race-long battle that had both drivers turning laps on the lead before Calabrese got past for the lead with 10 laps remaining to get the win.

Buff was second with Tim Hartman Jr. third, Chad Edwards fourth and JaMike Sowle fifth.

Horning used a three-wide power move around the top on a lap eight restart to get past Justin Knight and Cassidy Wilson to post his third win of the season. Knight was second, while Chuckie Dumblewski came on late in the race to get third over Josh Coonradt and Wilson.

The modifieds and 602 sportsmen will go double next Saturday.

The modifieds will run Twin 20s with $1,500 going to the winner of each race, while the sportsmen will run the held-over 25-lap event from May 25 plus their regularly scheduled main event along with a regular night of racing for the pro stock, limited sportsman, and 4 cylinders on NYSSCA night.



June 1 Results

SUNOCO MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH – RAIN DELAYED FROM 5/25/2019 – 30-LAPS – BOBBY VARIN, Stewart Friesen, Brian Gleason, Jessica Friesen, Michael Maresca, Rocky Warner, Josh Hohenforst, Korey Wilder, Cody Bleau, Matt DeLorenzo, Craig Hanson, Steve Akers, Dave Constantino, Darwin Greene, Scott Huber, Vinny Sanganetti, David Schilling, Demetrious Drellos, Danny Varin, Pep Corradi, Willy Decker, Dylan Scribner, Aaron Jacobs, Ryan Odasz, Elmo Reckner, Jimmy Horton (DNS), Mike Gular (DNS), Rusty Smith (DNS)

SUNOCO MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH – REGULAR FEATURE FROM 6/1/2019 – 30-LAPS – STEWART FRIESEN, Rocky Warner, David Schilling, Craig Hanson, Bobby Varin, Cody Bleau, Danny Varin, Matt DeLorenzo, Jessica Friesen, Dave Constantino, Korey Wilder, Steve Akers, Scott Huber, Brian Gleason, Vinny Sanganetti, Michael Maresca, Ryan Odasz, Pep Corradi, Elmo Reckner, Darwin Greene, Dylan Scribner, Aaron Jacobs, Josh Hohenforst, Willy Decker (DNS), Demetrious Drellos (DNS)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Ryan Odasz, Craig Hanson, Danny Varin

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH ($1,000 TO WIN THANKS TO ERIC OROZCO RACING) – 25-LAPS – BRIAN CALABRESE, Andrew Buff, Tim Hartman Jr., Chad Edwards, JaMike Sowle, Adam McAuliffe, Mark Mortensen, Nick Scavia, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Aaron Burton, Cody Clark, Kale Groff, Tony Farone, Dan Santabarbara, Corey Cormier, Joe Orlando, Kathy Bellen, Thomas VanVorst, Harry Shaffer, Tim Dwyer, Brian Pessolano, Mike Jackson, Brian Borst, Griffen Mansmith (DNS), Josh DeMagistris (DNS)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: JaMike Sowle, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Tim Dwyer

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – 20-LAPS – STEVE WAGONER, Dylan Eldred, Brett Mortensen, EJ McAuliffe, Rich Christman, John Young, Bill Port, Brendan Gibbons, Spencer Rapp, Alan Hanson, William August

HEAT RACE WINNERS: No Heat Races Were Run

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH – 20-LAPS – LUKE HORNING, Justin Knight, Chuck Dumblewski, Josh Coonradt, Cassidy Wilson, Jason Morrison, Jim Normoyle, Devon Camenga, Randy Cosselman, Kenny Gates, Jamie Warner, Andy Graves, Alicia Hughes, Nick Stone, John Roese, Buck Gasner, Ivan Joslin, Bill Knapp (DNS)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Nick Stone, Cassidy Wilson

TRACKSIDE BODY WORKS STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH – 15-LAPS – STEPHEN YOUNG, Jason Samrov, Cliff Haslun, Michael Arnold, Zach Sorrentino, Robert Wilmont, Justin Taylor, Dave Horning Sr.

FOUR CYLINDER CRUISER FEATURE – 12-LAPS – COLE LAWTON, Ken Hollenbeck, Wayne Russell, Riley Pedrick, John Napoli, Zach McSpirit, TJ Marlitt. DQ — Josh Samrov


MOHAWK VALLEY VINTAGE REPLICA FEATURE FINISH – ROB SANFORD, Bryon Seyfried, John Flach, Dan Wood, Jay Lais, Stanley Wetmore, Mike Francisco, John Constantino, Dan Karl, Malcum Warner, Marv Blackwell, Bill Liese, George Palmer, Carl Cram, Scott Gathier, Tex Gorden (DNS)

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply