McCoy claims first career win at Glen Ridge

Scott McCoy poses in Victory Lane after picking up his first career 602 Crate Modified feature win Saturday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

FULTONVILLE — On a night when Glen Ridge Motorsports Park honored its Hall of Fame inductees, three drivers picked up their first career feature wins.

Second-generation driver Scott McCoy survived a late-race restart to put his first career 602 Crate Modified feature win in the books, while Garrett Poland collected his first feature win in the limited sportsman division and Sloan Cherko powered her way to her first Northeast Paving & Sealcoating junior slingshot feature win.

Andy Graves picked up his second-straight feature win in the Yurkewecz Auto Crusher pro stock main event, while Cliff Haslun took home the street stock feature win and Mike Hill won the All-Star senior slingshot main event. Josh Kane took home the feature win in the mini stock dual cam feature and Tim Billington won the single cam feature.

Ryan Heath and McCoy brought the field of 14 crate modifieds to the green, with Heath grabbing the early lead over McCoy. A tough battle for the third spot heated up between Brendan Gibbons, Joe Orlando, Andrew Buff, Jim Introne Jr. and Rocky Warner.

Warner began to move up in the field but slid high in turns one and two on lap 10 and slid back in the pack.

Meanwhile, Heath was running strong on the front end with McCoy keeping pace as they began making their way through lapped traffic.

With 10 laps to go Heath’s tires began to fade and he slid up the track allowing McCoy to put a nose alongside the leader as they exited turn two. Heath regained control and held onto his lead.

McCoy kept the pressure on and got a break when Heath could not hold his car on the bottom of the speedway and spun in turn two, putting McCoy in the lead with four laps remaining.

The caution moved division hot shoes Andrew Buff and Warner up to his back bumper for a shoot out over the final mile.

Buff stuck a nose under McCoy on the restart but the Rensselaerville driver held the point off turn two and pulled away for his first feature win at The Ridge. Buff finished second, followed by Warner, Orlando and Gibbons. Tucker O’Connor, Mike Ketchum, William August, Justin Buff and heath round out the top 10.

Poland, who started the season in the All-Star Senior Slingshot division, got to the front early in the Limited Sportsman feature and took the field from green to checkers for his inaugural sportsman feature win. Harold Robitaille was second followed by Travis Witbeck, David Boisclair and Jerry Cohn.

Steve Cosselman led the opening lap of the 20-lap pro stock feature before Buck Gasner took over on the second circuit, bringing Graves to the front with him.

The lone caution of the race came on lap five when division points leader Luke Horning spun.

Graves used the restart to his advantage to get past Gasner into the lead with Steve Cosselman and Randy Cosselman battling for third.

Horning battled his way back to the front but came up short as the checkers dropped over Graves’ hood for the second-straight week and for his second career Pro Stock feature win at The Ridge. Horning was second, followed by Gasner, Steve Cosselman, Jim Normoyle Sr., Jim Burton, Randy Cosselman, Jim Gronki and Malcum Warner.

Haslun led the street stock feature from the drop of the green to the checkers with Damon Anderson, Ken Allen and Rob VanAernam rounding out the finish.

Cherko set the pace for the entire 12-lap junior slingshot feature and survived a late-race restart that put division leader Brock Pickerous and Lucas Duncan within striking distance. Connor Hill placed fourth and Corky Warner completed to top five.

Brett Putnam led the majority of the All-Star Senior slingshot feature before Hill moved to the front as the front-running duo exited turn four coming to the white flag.

Hill held off Putnam for the victory, while, Danny Ballard finished third, Tyler Vadney was fourth and Spencer Cherko completed the top five.

During intermission, Glen Ridge Motorsports Park inducted driver Butchie Irwin, team owner Bill Nelson, former promoter Bob Niemietz, Denny Tilison and the VanAernam Family into its Hall of Fame.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply