Cross Country Roundup: Scotia-Glenville gets past Johnstown

Katie Romano was Johnstown’s top girls finisher Tuesday’s Foothills Council meet with Scotia-Glenville at Johnstown High School. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

JOHNSTOWN — The Scotia-Glenville boys cross country team posted a 15-53 win over Johnstown in a Foothills Council meet at Johnstown High School.

Both girls teams were incomplete.

Alex Tabano won the boys race for Scotia-Glenville with a time of 18:34. Kyle Ostrander (18:34.4), Noah Greski (18:34.9), Mike Pino (19:37) and Tyler Greene (19:38) were second, third, fourth and fifth, respectively, for the Tartans.

Alex Cwiakala was Johnstown’s top finisher, placing sixth with a time of 20:08.

Jake Wesley (seventh, 20:24) and Josh Peck (eighth, 20:25) also posted top-10 finishes.

Rounding out the top 10 were Scotia-Glenville’s Ethan Hodge (ninth, 20:47) and Tyler Hanhurst (10th, 20:48.5).

Garrett Bobowski (22:15) was 14th for Johnstown, Nate Cotton (22;27) was 16th, Justin Ferrara (22:31) was 18th and Cody Draper (22:32) was 19th.

In the girls race, Scotia-Glenville’s Stephanie James won with a time of 21;02.

Scotia-Glenville’s Olivia Wheeler (24:19.9) was second, Johnstown’s Kate Romano (24;20) was third, Scotia-Glenville’s Maddie Durant (24:23) was fourth and Scotia-Glenville’s Mackenzie Schray (25:22) was fifth.

Maddie King (28:55) was sixth for Johnstown and Megan Sitterly (30:36) was seventh.

Broadalbin-Perth sweeps Gloversville

BROADALBIN — The Broadalbin-Perth boys and girls cross country teams posted wins over Gloversville in a Foothills Council meet at Broadalbin-Perth High School.

Both Gloversville teams were incomplete.

In the 3.1-mile boys race, Gloversville’s Dylan Phillips won with a time of 18:33.60.

B-P claimed the next seven spots as Micah Smith (18:35.70) was second, Connor Couperus (18:48.60) was third, Danny Dylong (19:18.50) was fourth, Jon Simmons (21:13.40) was fifth, Jordan Perna (21:20.40) was sixth, Aiden Snyder (22:16.40) was seventh and Nick Musillo (22:48.80) was eighth.

Andrew Ryder (23:53.70) was ninth for Gloversville, while Tyler Rando (24:16.20) was 10th.

Rounding out the Broadalbin-Perth finishers were Thomas Holland (24:18.00) in 11th and Antonio Zevola (25:12.30) in 12th.

In the girls race, Broadalbin-Perth’s Sarah Smith won with a time of 22:08.40 on the 3.1-mile course.

B-P’s Emma Frasier (22:52.40) was second, B-P’s Haley Tomlinson (22:56.80) was third, Gloversville’s Rhea Winter (22:56.80) was fourth and B-P’s Lauren Phillips (22:57.10) was fifth.

Also competing for the Lady Patriots were Caroline Iannotti (sixth, 24:17.00), Ava Tyler (seventh, 25:49.30), Erica Lin (eighth, 26:06.60), Grace Smith (ninth, 29:49.90), Bianca Ropeter (10th, 33:47.20) and Emily Mickan (11th, 33:49.60).


C-FP boys, girls post two wins

SCHENECTADY — The Canajoharie-Fort Plain boys and girls cross country teams posted wins over Galway and Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons in a Western Athletic Conference meet Tuesday.

Both C-FP teams were the only complete teams in the meet.

In the boys race, Galway’s Holden Decker won with a time of 16:32 on the 2.9-mile course.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Eric Elliott (18:49) was second, Bishop Gibbons’ Ben Verbicky (19:34) was third, C-FP’s Seth Wintermute (19:46) was fourth and Galway’s James Hilton (19:59) was fifth.

Also posting top-10 finishes for Canajoharie-Fort Plain were Michael Harris (sixth, 20:13), Martin Kretser (seventh, 20:51), Fallon Wells (eighth, 21:25), Michael Barlow (ninth, 21:32) and Kurt Sunderland (10th, 21:38).

In the girls race, Bishop Gibbons’ Sophia Verbicky won with a time of 21:56.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain claimed the next three spots as Emma Karker (22:47) was second, Ella Robinson (22:48) was third and Samantha Barlow (22:54) was fourth.

Galway’s Morgan Drouin (23:12) was fifth.

Galway’s Vanessa Colangelo (seventh, 25:28), C-FP’s Natalie Thibodeau (26:07) and C-FP’s Natalia Downs (10th, 28:14) also posted top-10 finishes.

Mayfield boys earn split

DUANESBURG — The Mayfield boys cross country team split its WAC meet with Schoharie and Duanesburg.

The Panthers posted a win over an incomplete Schoharie squad and lost 23-35 to host Duanesburg.

In the girls meet, Duanesburg topped Schoharie 25-30 and both the Eagles and Indians defeated an incomplete Mayfield team.

In the boys race, Duanesburg’s Andrew Drescher won with a time of 16:52 on the 3.1-mile course.

Duanesburg’s Matt Coons (18:11) was second, Schoharie’s Austin Lints (18:33) was third, Mayfield’s Cameron Abdella (19:02) was fourth and Mayfield’s Trevor Ruberti (19:03) was fifth.

In the girls race, Duanesburg’s Jessica Archambault won with a time of 22:46 on the 3.1-mile course.

Schoharie’s Aimee Rhodes (23:02) was second, Mayfield’s Tatjana Bjelica (24:08) was third, Duanesburg’s Alison Bates (24:16) was fourth and Duanesburg’s Alanna Mitchell (24:19) was fifth.

By Paul Wager

Leave a Reply